Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

World Cup 2008-A few ideas?

dubby

Guys, sorry to sound so ignorant, but can you please advise if the 08 WC is played in Australia? If it is, I have a few ideas, please give feedback and your
thoughts.

1. Play as many games as possible in the bush. Ok, smaller crowds, but more interest. I know that towns like Griffith, NSW, pop.about 35k has a large Italian and Tongan population. In fact, this town is very multi cultutural, and you would easily attract 5-8k to a game like Tonga v Italy, or Aust. Aboriginal. Would the players like to play at the SFS or Parra stadium with 8k, or in a small ground that would be packed with atmosphere and interest with 8k?
Put the games into areas where there is a huge cultura influence. Campbelltown area or certain areas of Sydney, play the Lebenese games there (BElmore?).
SUnshine Coast QLD has a large German and South African population(not large, but more of these cultures than island or aboriginal). Townsville would support Fijian and PNG easily and any Pacific team.

I think with a bit of demographic homework and research, you could get very admirable crowds into certain areas. Of course, you don't want it to appear as tho the weaker nations are banished to the bush, but I really beleive that country NSW and QLD would get behind an international event in their own backyard. The people out there would make these players feel like stars and treat them with respect.

Areas I would consider would be in QLD) Cairns, Townsville, Nambour, Rockhampton, Gold Coast new stadium.
NSW towns; Gosford, Wagga Wagga, Griffith, Bathurst, Port Macquarie, Newcastle, Queenbeyan(sp?), Albury, Parkes.
If you are real bold, include Perth and Adelaide.

If the event was promoted to death, really promoted as an international event, i think it would work.

What happens now, affects the smaller countries chances. We need Holland, Russia, France, USA,Wales etc to be competitive and prepared now! Lets get some games for them to play, and send some credible coaches to help them. I remember Tonga played against the Raiders this year, and they are involved with developement in some aspect I think.

I would also like to see the Emerging Nations held at the same time. Run a Cook Islands V Ireland before PNG v France for example. How much would a town like Parkes love that?

Man i hope this tournament is promoted, planned and all the help given where possible. The RU WC showed us that it is possible.(remember Uraguay and Namibia played in Tasmania, and how people supported teams determined by their DOB?) People loved it!

What do you think?

Definately in Australia, I think a lot of minor nations now are playing as many internationals as they can which I think is really good cause we need heaps more before the 2008 WC, also I think having the 2007 Tri Series in Australia is a great idea, just hope they promote it well enough to get crowds. Then we can wait for a successful WC in 2008.

Its just over 2 years till the WC so hopefully's there's a lot more done before the kick off. They've put a lot of money into Melbourne so thats a start, I also heard theyre gonna play a test match down there, hopefully the numbers will increase.

More games in Perth and Adelaide so we can spread the WC into the emerging states. As well as Darwin and Tasmania, I heard Darwin got a decent crowd of 2,000 ppl for a match between PNG and Junior Kangaroos, I reckon you'd get the same amount of ppl in Sydney.

This is the start to something big, we've got the Tri Nations which was successful last year. GB and NZL are getting more tougher, France is getting back to its feet and with the inclusion of a SL team it'll improve the game even more. PNG have done the same with the Rugby League competition which was shown on the Footy Show, and knocking off the Junior Kangaroos is an even bigger boost. We've had Australia play the USA in Philadelphia, and almost get beaten, good news for League over there. And minor nations like Greece, Malta, Italy, Lebanon, Tonga and Samoa playing more and more internationals not just in Australia, but other parts of the world. It's important that these countries play a certain number of internationals to keep the game alive.

If this all goes well to plan, we're gonna have the most successful International Rugby League comp ever.

roopy

I think we will see games played in Melbourne, Townsville, Newcastle, Auckland Wellington and possibly Canberra and Gold Coast as well as Sydney (probably three venues) and Brisbane (probably two venues). That is twelve venues that will probably all get 20,000 or over for games if the marketing is done right.
I don't think they will be looking for bush venues.
PNG will probably play most games in Townsville.
One or more of the Islander teams will play out of Western Sydney - and others in Auckland.
Australia will play at least one lead up game in Melbourne.
Newcastle will host teams that have little local following like France or Ireland - and will get good crowds for those games.
NZ will play all games possible at home, possibly even a semi-final.

dubby

I agree Roopy, the bush will be overlooked unfortunately, but do you expect crowds big enough to create an atmosphere at places like SFS, or Homebush?

I would hope the bush to get some, even if gosford is "bush"...

Sun_Down

I disagree, I think all games should be put on the big stage, I dont think many players will be impressed that they are travelling by bus to small town to play in a crap stadium in the WORLD CUP.

Its rather depressing.

Samoa/Tonga last friday got around 10K, with zero promotion. So I think things will be fine.

roopy

The Sydney Olympics showed us how to sell tickets - and the Union WC and Melbourne Com games have taken up the idea with huge success as well.

You put the tickets up for ballot ages before the event - making people think they have to get in early or miss out, and an 'auction' mentality takes over. People snap up tickets for games like Japan v USA playing Union at Gosford, thinking they have got a bargain - and if you just sold those tickets at the gate you would get five Gosford locals - but only if they let them in for free.

Calixte

My suggestion would be a 12 team competition including the following (subject to qualifying games*):-

Australia
England
Ireland (united side)
Wales
New Zealand
France
Papua New Guinea
Samoa
Tonga
USA
Russia
Fiji

* only real conjecture would be with South Africa and Lebanon missing out

Venues should, in my view, be restricted to Australia:-

Sydney
Brisbane
Townsville
Gosford
Newcastle
Canberra
Adelaide
Perth
Darwin
Melbourne

If games are to be played in NZ, consideration should be given to:-

Auckland
Wellington
Christchurch
Rotorua
Hamilton

The 1995 World Cup in England was a fantastic event (10 teams) and provides the blueprint for the 2008 tournament.

I do think, however, we have advanced the game worldwide to the extent that an additional two teams can be catered for.

Sun_Down

Calixte, that is pretty much perfect!

One problem, Lebanon must be in! They will be very important to the Lebanese RL community and imo deserve to be there. I think they will win their qualifer anyway, butI would possibly substitute a PI Nation or arhhh I just dont know...perhaps USA/Russia? But I also think they add that extra interest being there....man I would hate to be the one to chose this...so qualifiers will do!

Calixte

Thanks for the wrap, sd.

Re- Lebanon. I tend to agree. Refer to my post in the other current World Cup thread re- justification of each team chosen by me.

hgfds

A 10 teamwc is a small tournament , the 10 team 1995wc took 3 weeks to complete it included 12 qualifying matches 2 semis and a final,out of the 12 3 matches will probably be held in nz,3 the 3 oz qualifying matches in the capital cities,so there will only be 6 minor matches for the regionals,1 melb,1newcastle,1gosford,1gold coast,1townsville,1 canberra.This is a minor tournament unless the rlif increases the number of teams.

joshreading

I think each NRL side or in some cases a couple NRL sides should host each international side. They should encourage their supporters to go to the games etc.

For instance - Newcastle - USA (if they made it)
Brisbane - Fiji (or another Pac island team)

Mr_Ugly

Sun_Down said:
I disagree, I think all games should be put on the big stage, I dont think many players will be impressed that they are travelling by bus to small town to play in a crap stadium in the WORLD CUP.

Its rather depressing.

Samoa/Tonga last friday got around 10K, with zero promotion. So I think things will be fine.

I thought they only got about 2500, and from the couple of pictures I saw, I though that might have been an optimistic estimate!

Sun_Down

Mr_Ugly said:
I thought they only got about 2500, and from the couple of pictures I saw, I though that might have been an optimistic estimate!

Oh really? :? Well thats what I heard...