Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worst case scenario?

legend

What will happen to Elliott if the Panthers touch us up in a similar fashion to the Knights and Roosters?

Will he resign or will he keep up the charade and will management continue to stick by Elliott knowing full well we are at historic lows results wise and that in his spare time, Elliott is working for another organisation?

He won't resign. I don't think they'll boot him either (unfortunately). If we hire a new coach and he drops 6 in a row or something like that... then maybe.

he will have to drop a record number of games by a record number of floggings before he resigns or gets the sack
sad but true

Boing Boing

One thing the club has mentioned, which I think is true, is that sacking a coach mid-season is a bad move because it will distabilise the players and the club. It will make the club look disjointed and unharmonious to prospective players.

As much as I think he should go, I think sacking him at this time would be a bad move overall.

FullySick

I agree reluctantly. I think were gonna be stuck with Elliot till his contract is up at the end of the year.
The bonus, is that we can continue to laugh at his attempts to select a team.

Boing Boing

FullySick said:
I agree reluctantly. I think were gonna be stuck with Elliot till his contract is up at the end of the year.
The bonus, is that we can continue to laugh at his attempts to select a team.

I don't see how this is constructive at all. No matter who he selects, I go into every game optimistically and supporting all the players because in the end, they're playing for the club I follow.

Selection bashing, player bashing, coach bashing and management bashing are all a waste of time in my eyes. I'd much rather just go out and watch my team play.

Boing Boing said:
I don't see how this is constructive at all. No matter who he selects, I go into every game optimistically and supporting all the players because in the end, they're playing for the club I follow.

Selection bashing, player bashing, coach bashing and management bashing are all a waste of time in my eyes. I'd much rather just go out and watch my team play.

Id rather sit hear and bag selections and management than go watch my beloved team get 126 points put on them in 2 games of footy. Just a personal preference

Boing Boing said:
One thing the club has mentioned, which I think is true, is that sacking a coach mid-season is a bad move because it will distabilise the players and the club. It will make the club look disjointed and unharmonious to prospective players.

As much as I think he should go, I think sacking him at this time would be a bad move overall.

on the whole i agree
as much as i want him to go, sacking the coach mid season unless its for the incomming coach for 2007 would only project a disjointed image to potential targets

FullySick

Boing Boing said:

Fair call boing boing.
I want to watch my team play too and i enjoy going to the games etc......the point is id rather watch my team play well, with the best players available. Case in point, Thommo to the bench this week LOL, come on, you gotta see a funny side to that.

Boing Boing

FullySick said:
Fair call boing boing.
I want to watch my team play too and i enjoy going to the games etc......the point is id rather watch my team play well, with the best players available. Case in point, Thommo to the bench this week LOL, come on, you gotta see a funny side to that.

Of course mate, it was by no means a personal shot! :)

Boing Boing

waltzing Meninga said:
Id rather sit hear and bag selections and management than go watch my beloved team get 126 points put on them in 2 games of footy. Just a personal preference

That's your preference, so I won't bag it, but I must say that I disagree.

I love watching my team no matter what the circumstances. I look forward to it every week. It's a whole day of being with your mates and watching your favourite footy players running round the park. Some blokes will back me up here, but i reckon I would be up there for most attended Raiders fan last year, home and away. I'm not downplaying your passion or support here mate, just my two cents.

thickos

FullySick said:
no offence taken boing boing, deep down......i just want the raiders to win a premeirship again!

Well said, that's what we're all hoping for.

As Boing said, there's nothing like a day at the football with mates, and I can cop a loss - as long as there is heart and commitment there. For example, the Roosters @ SFS and Warriors @ SFS losses in 2003 are two of my proudest moments as fans, not because of the result (devastating), but the boys laid everything on the line those nights and that's all you can ask for as you leave the ground.

The past two weeks have been unacceptable and I'm sure the players know that too.

Stuart

Boing Boing said:

Im coming round to that point of view, i dont think an aimless sacking would achieve much at this point in time. I think Elliot has been stupid with some of his comments to the raiders and i cant help but doubt he is putting his all into winning games for us, but in the end at this juncture sacking him would do more harm than good.

The only scenario i can see in which i would possibly support a sacking is if we sign a coach who is immediately available, eg C.anderson or possibly Henry if he can get away from the cowboys, i think if that happens and our form is still bad a good case can be made for sacking Elliot and gving our new coach half a season and an off season to get his side into shape and to identify weaknesses we need to strengthen, possibly players to release etc so we can start 2007 as strong as possible.

While im ranting, one thing that i do think we are wasting in our current positon and esp with the selections in this weeks side is a chance to see if our junior superstars are really going to live up to the hype. Now is the perfect chance to give Carney a go starting in FG, to give him 10 or 15 rounds straight and settle once and for all whether he can live up to his potential, if he isnt showing promising signs, chase a halfback for next season. As i see it and if current selections continue we will may possibly go into season 2007 with 2 untested halves (Withers is a HOOKER!!!! IMO), a situation i would like to avoid. Instead we continue the trend of smacking young players confidence from pillar to post and IMO putting their development back somewhat, ie im sick of the "easing in policy".

Boing Boing

You're spot on Thickos. For those who were on the bus home on Sunday, was there anyone who didn't have an awesome time? Didn't think so. Even when you lose by 4 hundred tries, if you're in good company, you'll have a good time.

Mal Meninga

Their is no worst case scenario. We're losing, and with Elliot he's brought a losing culture. The damage has been done, the sooner he's removed the quicker the club will move forward.
Their is no positives in Elliot staying, even though he's been choosing rookies hes chosen the ones who have no right playing first grade. Carney, Raston, Chalk, Milne and Ale have all been dropped despite showing promise while Purtell who looks seriously underdone and Jones a workhorse, but not an effective one have kept their spots. His team selections are a disgrace and the game plan he comes up with must've been drawn up on the way to the ground.

Boing Boing said:
That's your preference, so I won't bag it, but I must say that I disagree.

I love watching my team no matter what the circumstances. I look forward to it every week. It's a whole day of being with your mates and watching your favourite footy players running round the park. Some blokes will back me up here, but i reckon I would be up there for most attended Raiders fan last year, home and away. I'm not downplaying your passion or support here mate, just my two cents.

I love your passion Boing, but I become depressed after seeing such a heartless display, and it puts me in a bad mood for the rest of the week. Id rather not watch or hear about those games for the sake of my own happiness. Ive never felt this way about the raiders in my 22 years following them

Roy Rover

Boing Boing said:

At the end of the day wouldn't prospective players be more interested as to who was going to be the coach in 2007?

Sitting around doing nothing makes the admin/club look weak if anything.

How harmonious can a club be when it's getting flogged every week anyway?

Edwahu

FFS, ELLIOT IS NOT UP TO FIRST GRADE COACHING STANDARD.

Do you think a company would ever keep a manager on the books if his department was sending them down the toilet just because they didnt want to "destabilize" things or upset some staff?

You cant change and remain stable. The two are at opposite ends of the spectrum. I know which one I think we need.

There are plenty of portential caretakers out there who may well not do a great job. The difference is we know Elliot isnt doing one.
This may come as a shock but maybe the players would like to have someone else at the helm.

Boing Boing

The last Club to sack a coach mid-season was Souths. That is exactly the quality of a club which I would expect to perform such an action.