Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

worst decision in the world

how can Darius Boyd get away with that play the ball, gifting us two points from the penalty that should of been.

well done to the boys I am so proud of their efforts this year. they hung in their tonight for the amount of posession we had.

bring on 2011.

Yes indeed very proud of the 2010 Tigers.

Bring on 2011 for sure, starting team for 2011 will be/should be how they finished this year with Payten in for Fitzhenry.

10 very good forwards to choose from in;
Heighno, Gibbs, Murdoch, Fifita, Galloway, Fulton, Dwyer, Ellis, Farah and Payten.

Add Moltzen, McKinnon, Daniella and big TT to the mix with the backs from the past few weeks and it hopefully will be another good year.

That's not counting any kid from the U20's who may just step up in the off season and surprise all next year.

Happy silly season everyone.

sovereign

You can't whinge about that decision if you're not going to whinge about the penalty on morris or the laughable forward pass call on boyd.

But good game, my nails are bitten off clean :p

Jubileeboy

Oh...there has only been 2 comments so far...

Y'all go and f@#k yourselves after the week of smartarse sh*t u have provided.
Suck my left you spasos........lol

:lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

dreaming 09

All that "secret" work benjina has been doing counts for f all.
He's not the problem, his ego is and the teams only as strong as their weakest players. Tigers don't have the right to complain about being badly done by with penalties, this is how you's got this far, bad luck.
Justice was done tonight, come join the rest of us losers on the bench.
I don't care who wins the gf.

Orochi

To be fair there was a play the ball earlier in the game from the Tigers that was similar. For the life of me I can't remember who it was, but he simply planted the ball and walked over it when the Tigers needed a quick play the ball.

Like sovereign said, the Dragons were also penalised harshly so it all balances out in the end. For all the whining about the horrible penalties that are blown all year, it seems strange to me that people are quick to shout "we should have got a penalty, therefore we were robbed!!!" when their side loses. No, your side lost because they weren't good enough to go on with it. A Tigers v Roosters GF would be have been much more entertaining, but alas...

aussie7798

how can Darius Boyd get away with that play the ball, gifting us two points from the penalty that should of been.

well done to the boys I am so proud of their efforts this year. they hung in their tonight for the amount of posession we had.

bring on 2011.

bit silly to single that out of the game
some very ordinary reffing tonight but it went both ways

2 laughable penalties down the ground for you second try
boyd forward pass
lui tackle on fien just as bad as the one against us not penalised

but hats off to you guys you played out of your skins
Gould was talking after the game and said the 2 best defensive efforts of the weekend went into the GF but i thought your def tongiht was heaps better than the rorters on fri

RufusRex

i thought the worst decision of the night was from the dickhead who kicked the ball forward with 30 seconds left on the clock ... take the tackle, pass left, and Benji is shooting for field goal.

Swamp

i thought the worst decision of the night was from the dickhead who kicked the ball forward with 30 seconds left on the clock ... take the tackle, pass left, and Benji is shooting for field goal.
Absolutely! I couldn't believe he kicked. Saying that surely the ref should stop the clock to force a drop out?

Micistm

Gutted for you guys, was really cheering you on after Warriors got knocked out.

Was disappointed field goal opportunities were not taken, but hindsight is 20/20, and congrats to you guys for a good year and playing a fun brand of footy to watch.
Dunno who I'll cheer on in GF, I just hope for a good exciting game I guess, tbh neither team really do it for me! ;-)

Perth Tiger

I don't think you can blame the refs for the loss. Sure they were fairly average but they were average for both teams and the dud calls evened out in the end.

That was a game played by two great teams and 1 was just good enough to get the job done in the end.

The tigers had their chances when Benji kicked out on the full and then in the last seconds if Ryan had just taken the tackle and had Benji running at an offside and retreating defence I think we would of scored but it was not meant to be.

The Rosco

Can't blame the ref for the loss, can blame that spastic sleau Ryan though

While we don't want to be remembered for whining about the refs . . . .
The No decision on the blatant and aimed knees into Lote's back is astounding.
The replay shows that red dog re-aligning himself to make sure the knees hit their mark.
A borderline send-off, albeit not in a finals game.
Absolute minimum a penalty and kneeing on report.
Absolute absolute minimum a penalty.
Apparently, Lote is having x-rays on broken ribs today. Gee, I wonder how he broke his ribs ?
We either take the shot for 2 points, or run the ball towards the posts for our own FG.

Critical turning point of the game, as the milkman kicks his own FG about one minute later.

We lost unlucky last night. If WE would have kicked the FG, I don't think we would be carrying on like dickheads as if we won by 12.
They won by a point. So be it. No real disgrace.
Listening and watching the illawarra fans carrying on last night out of the stadium was an eye-opener. You'd think that they dominated the game , lead by 20 all night, and won by 48.
But winers are grinners, I suppose.

blacklock

While we don't want to be remembered for whining about the refs . . . .
The No decision on the blatant and aimed knees into Lote's back is astounding.
The replay shows that red dog re-aligning himself to make sure the knees hit their mark.
A borderline send-off, albeit not in a finals game.
Absolute minimum a penalty and kneeing on report.
Absolute absolute minimum a penalty.
Apparently, Lote is having x-rays on broken ribs today. Gee, I wonder how he broke his ribs ?
We either take the shot for 2 points, or run the ball towards the posts for our own FG.

Critical turning point of the game, as the milkman kicks his own FG about one minute later.

We lost unlucky last night. If WE would have kicked the FG, I don't think we would be carrying on like dickheads as if we won by 12.
They won by a point. So be it. No real disgrace.
Listening and watching the illawarra fans carrying on last night out of the stadium was an eye-opener. You'd think that they dominated the game , lead by 20 all night, and won by 48.
But winers are grinners, I suppose.

come on now...he was falling just before he reached smith. accidents happen in rugby league. we dont judge an incident by the nature of the resulting injury. just as johns suffered a fractured back as a result of accidently being knee'd by timmins years back. it happens. we dont need the game decided by the refs/penalties. we want the teams to decide it. benji marshall kicked it over the side line, jamie soward kicked it between the posts. end of story.

btw speaking about carrying on....beau ryan will need to towel up his tears instead :)

The Rosco

come on now...he was falling just before he reached smith. accidents happen in rugby league. we dont judge an incident by the nature of the resulting injury. just as johns suffered a fractured back as a result of accidently being knee'd by timmins years back. it happens. we dont need the game decided by the refs/penalties. we want the teams to decide it. benji marshall kicked it over the side line, jamie soward kicked it between the posts. end of story.

btw speaking about carrying on....beau ryan will need to towel up his tears instead :)

The replay shows re-adjusting the angle his knees will be making contact. And not in a way to soften any accidental contact.
He makes no attempt whatsoever to lessen the impact.
He makes no apology whatsoever for any "accidental" impact, even after watching it on replay. When he's watching the replay, he is standing there with a dum-arse look on his face. If it was accidental, and with no malice, you would pat Lote on the head and say " sorry mate, it was an accident"

We all have opinions. If he didn't lead with his knees as he's coming in, I might have agreed it was just a game incident.
In most other games, that would go on report. . . IMHO.

D

Deleted member 10972

To be fair, I think the referee's discretion was taken into account here.

If Dragons had benefited from his poor play-the-ball (e.g. he had quickly tunnelballed it through and earned his team a quick play-the-ball) then maybe the referee would have called it back. But really, his gumby effort took so long, that in a sense, it probably benefited the Tigers defensive line.

I am pretty sure the referees this year have only seemed to call the penalty when the attacking team benefits from a fast but suss play-the-ball. If the attacking team doesn't benefit in any substantial way, the ref tends to let it slide.

blacklock

The replay shows re-adjusting the angle his knees will be making contact. And not in a way to soften any accidental contact.
He makes no attempt whatsoever to lessen the impact.
He makes no apology whatsoever for any "accidental" impact, even after watching it on replay. When he's watching the replay, he is standing there with a dum-arse look on his face. If it was accidental, and with no malice, you would pat Lote on the head and say " sorry mate, it was an accident"

We all have opinions. If he didn't lead with his knees as he's coming in, I might have agreed it was just a game incident.
In most other games, that would go on report. . . IMHO.

hes a tall player.... to make a tackle you bend a little. let alone that loti was falling, so naturally smiths body was just readjusting to go lower for the tackle. he HAS to bend his knees to get lower.

If we are going to be so pedantic about the refs calls, the tigers scored all their tries on the back of penalties. For example the dragons markers not being "square" 5 metres out from the tigers line. Seriously... its like the refs dont like dummy halves making a tackle. Theyre meant to let the marker just run 7 metres before taking them down.

Or...the so called forward pass from boyd to morris.

OR... robert lui gaining a penalty for the late hit, yet a later incident where a dragons player was hit late wasnt called up.

So yes... we can all lay on the ground and hope the refs win the game for us when we cant win it ourselves. OR we can accept it was a tight hard fought game and the team that played best all year won.

I know im biased, but i feel thats justice. One thing we need to cut out of the game is this notion that players can stop playing and try to game the refs.

We dont want the footy to become a spectator sport of the refs. Waiting to see if we get a penalty or not.

Firey_Dragon

Absolutely! I couldn't believe he kicked. Saying that surely the ref should stop the clock to force a drop out?

Teams can take up to 40 seconds to take a line dropout. By the letter of the law the clock cannot be stopped up until that point.