Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Would an NRL owned stadium work in Sydney?

Green Machine

So no then. An NRL owned satdium in Syndney would be a waste of money. :)

a bit of upgrading here or there, sorted.
Exactly. Cronulla are the only Sydney club that own their own ground and that has not been a raging financial success for them as a stadium. Why would Sydney NRL club outlay $ for stadiums when the State and Federal governments are willing to provide the cash to upgrade their grounds.

Lets keep our fingers crossed then that a few hundred million can be found to upgarde these outdated suburban grounds. Somehow I think one state of teh art stadium would be an easier funding option.

Probably looking at $5oomill+ to get all the Sydney suburban grounds up to 25,000 decent 4 stand stadiums with decent corporate facilities and covered stands for fans. Will be a very long time before we have 7 modern RL suburban stadia in Sydney.

hutch

teams are paid $80000 upwards per game to play their home games at anz stadium, would they make that much more from a stadium they owned/

20,000 @ $20 a head = $400,000
Presuming it costs $100k to put on a game and cover investments, maintainence etc and the stadium get to keep all the food and drink $'s plus ground advertising then it isn't impossible for clubs to make $300k a game if they can get the fans in.

If there are 4 or 5 teams playing out of it then it is $4.8-6mill a year to the stadium management plus advertising + food and drink sales etc

If all the other non club owned stadiums can make money then I see no reason why the NRL owned stadium couldn't also make money++ and the clubs could make a heck of alot more than $80k a game.

1 Eyed TEZZA

20,000 @ $20 a head = $400,000
Presuming it costs $100k to put on a game and cover investments, maintainence etc and the stadium get to keep all the food and drink $'s plus ground advertising then it isn't impossible for clubs to make $300k a game if they can get the fans in.

If there are 4 or 5 teams playing out of it then it is $4.8-6mill a year to the stadium management plus advertising + food and drink sales etc

If all the other non club owned stadiums can make money then I see no reason why the NRL owned stadium couldn't also make money++ and the clubs could make a heck of alot more than $80k a game.

Clubs also get a percentage of gate takings at ANZ Stadium aswell as the $80 - $100 K per match. Actually a good deal. Stadium Management have been known to be very accomodating too and open to negotiating.

Unfortunatly, I doubt we will get 20000 consistantly to games for a few years. Our clubs are poorly run in many aspects, especially with club memberships and franchise marketing.

Other costs include alcohol licencing, security licencing, the basic utility bills like electricity and general maintenance. Let alone council payments, etc etc. And dont forget TAX, good ole TAX.

It is a good prospect which perhaps in 10 years it could be viable (assuming we have club membership numbers grow), but we Sydney Siders are a fickle bunch. We like our suburban grounds and if thats the reason why the rest of the country hates us, so be it.

dgsfan

You say we like suburban grounds. What is that based on? Crowds are low. That doesn't really indicate that we like them. The highest drawing Sydney team plays out of ANZ. NRL supporters need to get with the times. Stop living in the past. Look at QLD as the example.

1 Eyed TEZZA

You say we like suburban grounds. What is that based on? Crowds are low. That doesn't really indicate that we like them. The highest drawing Sydney team plays out of ANZ. NRL supporters need to get with the times. Stop living in the past. Look at QLD as the example.

So you would rather play at ANZ then Belmore? (of course Belmore would need to be upgraded)

TeamSatan

I'm sorry mate i couldn't care less about "Home ground advantage"... I'd much prefer a crowd that is 50/50 and more then 12K. You got the typical NSWRL Short sighted view. Better yet let's all play out of Henson Park or Lidcombe Oval, let's go back to the glory days:roll:. NRL needs to grow there crowds NOT be happy with most Sydney teams averaging under 15K (Some lucky to get near 15K).

Did you ever go to Lidcombe oval ?.......Bro, it was Awesome.

On another note in your signature about the syrians ....I was heading to Baalbeck and those bastards tried to shoot me, so will you go back and fix the problem. Cause i was told by a local that the TRUE lebonese will return to lebanon.The others that stay away are cowards and traitors.
Off you go then.

Hass

I don't think one or two centralised stadiums would work in Sydney, but there is room for some ground sharing.

Take the Bulldogs and the Wests Tigers. At the moment the Dogs are playing in a soulless stadium and the Tigers are immitating a nomadic tribe.

The two clubs would benefit from sharing a newly built stadium in Liverpool, while playing one heritage match a year at Campbelltown, Leichhardt and Belmore each season.

I don't know what it would take to get such a stadium built, but the Dogs were well on their way to doing it themselves before Oasis blew up in their face.

bobmar28

The AFL want to build an AFL stadium in Blacktown I believe and have an AFL team there. The NRL should beat them to the punch and build a proper Rugby League stadium in the same district and it should be owned by the NRL. We already have 2 major stadiums, one in the Eastern Suburbs (SFS) and of course at Olympic Park (ANZ), but if the NRL are serious about protecting their future, they have to fight fire with fire in this case and build a professional rugby league stadium in Western Sydney.
The NRL should revive the plan the Bulldogs had for a 40,000 seater right here in Liverpool. It would be perfect, right on the M5/M7 and near the station.

Danish

ANZ are offering memberships for under $2000. I hope you didn’t get ripped off

http://www.anzstadium.com.au/Members/10thBirthdayGoldMembershipOffer.aspx

We picked up 4 for $5K for the company from some members who onsold their rights to us, so no we didn't :D

ANZ also offer members the ability to buy a guest NRL season pass for $49 which entitles them to bring one person along to every NRL game held at ANZ, with further discounts if you buy more passes.

So really for $2K upfront, you'll be able to pay $685 each year ($600 annual subscription plus $85 for 3 x NRL passes) to take you and 3 people- wife and 2 kids, say- to every NRL sporting event that is on at ANZ.

Thats why shared stadiums work, and why the NRL should push for more clubs to do so.

bobmar28

So who do we keep?

Bulldogs, Wests and Dragons have to stay as they clearly have the biggest supporter bases in Sydney and around Australia for TV ratings.
Then two out of Parra, Manly, Easts, Penrith, Souffs and Sharks.

So you plan on cutting 4 clubs and alienating all those supporters?[/QUOTE]

Something needs to be done

Slackboy72

We have a centrally located stadium, ANZ.

ANZ isn't central. It's homebush.
To get there by train someone has to live on the same line or get on the train to central and then change trains.
To get there by car you have to get on the M5 and then crawl along King georges road for half an hour. Then you're gouged for parking.

Have a look at how AFL has boosted their attendances with the docklands stadium. It's not by chance that just about every train in melbourne (and victoria) goes through Spencer St station.
And the MCG? Just as every train goes through Spencer St they also go through Flinders St. And just about every tram goes through the Flinders/ Spencer interchange where the 5min rides to the 'G' leaves from every 6-7min.
That's central because it's cheap and easy to get to.

ouwet

Did you ever go to Lidcombe oval ?.......Bro, it was Awesome.

On another note in your signature about the syrians ....I was heading to Baalbeck and those bastards tried to shoot me, so will you go back and fix the problem. Cause i was told by a local that the TRUE lebonese will return to lebanon.The others that stay away are cowards and traitors.
Off you go then.

Surburban grounds, all of them are dumps... People don't like them (As shown by crowd figures i posted)...

Mate on Lebanon (I don't know why you'd bring this up here and not PM me) but there are more Lebanese people outside of Lebanon then in Lebanon... Why do you reckon that is? Traitors and cowards? why so? Obviously you got no idea what your talking about, neither does your so called Lebanese friend. Who would i fight for? Lebanon is divided... My Christian community is divided... Should i go kill other Lebanese people? Will that make me a hero and not a "Coward"? Should i go start a one man war against Syria, Israel, Hezbollah and anyone else i don't follow? Seriously, if you got no idea what your talking about, shut up!

Sparky 74

SFS sould be used by souths & easts & manly

ANZ by wests tigers & bulldogs

WIN by dragons & Sharks

Parra by Eels

CUA by Panthers

But if the nrl were for real they would merge teams should of been

Souths Sharks

Northern Eagles - Based at Brookie

Penrith - Parramatta Panthers

Wests Bulldogs based at Homebush

Sydney Tigers - basaed at SFS

St.George Illawwarra Dragons - Based at the Gong

Slackboy72

SFS sould be used by souths & easts & manly

ANZ by wests tigers & bulldogs

WIN by dragons & Sharks

Parra by Eels

CUA by Panthers

But if the nrl were for real they would merge teams should of been

Souths Sharks

Northern Eagles - Based at Brookie

Penrith - Parramatta Panthers

Wests Bulldogs based at Homebush

Sydney Tigers - basaed at SFS

St.George Illawwarra Dragons - Based at the Gong

Woah! We've got a live one here!

Firey_Dragon

SFS is the best rl stadium in Sydney but it is too far from leagues heartland western suburbs.
The only one it's far from is Penrith. The rest are are only a 20 minute train or bus trip away. Parramatta, Canterbury, Leichardt all aren't exactly far away, obviously campbelltown is...

The problem with the SFS in relation to it's location is the nightmare it is to get to on a friday night for the footy. Finishing work, competing with peak hour traffic, then dealing with the poor traffic infrastructure around the ground to get parking is terrible.