Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Would you be a big supporter of...

TooheysNew

LMAO. Play an NRL game in Orange or Bathurst? Wade Park and Carrington park, capacity of about 400. :lol:

Deadset, just stop making threads J T. They just get stupider.

fair comments raider......but just because you support a new club that represents all the country areas does not mean that you have to stop supporting the Old Bar Pirates or the Taree City Bulls or any other club that you support at the moment

and as for merchandise, mate i am living at Taree and can buy all the Manly Merchandise that i can lay my hands on as well as gear from the local teams, so just because you do not live near your team does not mean that you cannot get merchandise

as for sponsors.....well up here at Taree mate it is a fairly big regional centre with some multi million dollar companys we have Mid Coast Ford wich is one of the Biggest Ford Dealers between Newcastle and Coffs, behind Andrew Mediecke at Port....and that is only one regional area
i am not having a go at you it is all cool........but try to think outside of the square, there is a fair chance that this will not happen i know that, but if the NRL/ARL pulled their fingers out i think this would be a brilliant idea and a goer

......now to dilmah, take your blinkers off and get down off your high horse, at least JT is putting up discussion ideas rather than dribbling crap

yosh64

Dilmah, stupid questions or not it makes people think about stuff. Plus its a discussion thread and if he wants to talk about something he should.

The idea of teams playing one match in the sticks cant happen. Teams rely on gate revenue heavily so they would lose out taking a game to the bush, especially if they couldnt get alot of merchandise sold. Its a good idea though. I reckon it would be good if teams went to a regional town for a few days of training and promotion work and had a deal for people to come to the game (so have all the travel and game tickets organised). Its not much but its something, and it shows that teams do care bout the game in the bush.

I prefer the other idea of a team to be based in the bush. But its not financially viable. Im sure that you could get sponsorship (maybe elders or john deer, stuff to do with regional towns). But i cant see them being able to afford large sponsorships for a team that at best will be only in NSW. Need to have revenue of at least $10m to survive in the NRL and that might not be enough to 1) make a profit and 2) win a premiership.

Being positive i can see a large fan base if it plays a few games in different areas (as long as it has a large enough stadium), but it needs to be based in the biggest town for the majority of the time. People will travel a bit to see the games. Im sure they wont have problems with junior numbers and it will help the game in the bush heaps.

Good ideas but its really risky and we need a study done to see if its viable (remember souths would have folded if it wasnt for court/crowe), and union arent even sure if the brumbies can survive in Canberra in the long run).

badav

Dilmah said:
LMAO. Play an NRL game in Orange or Bathurst? Wade Park and Carrington park, capacity of about 400. :lol:

Deadset, just stop making threads J T. They just get stupider.

I find them much more interesting than the majority of useless sh*t thats posted on here.

And to answer the question.

No. A country team could not work

TooheysNew

......now to dilmah, take your blinkers off and get down off your high horse, at least JT is putting up discussion ideas rather than dribbling crap
:lol: I'm loved.

You missed the point. I agree that discussion is great, and that the threads are more entertaining that half of the sh*t in here. But at the same time, its one post and then he moves on and creates another. No discussion, no input - just flooding the page with topics. I'd prefer to hear his opinion too.

yosh64

Dilmah said:
:lol: I'm loved.

You missed the point. I agree that discussion is great, and that the threads are more entertaining that half of the sh*t in here. But at the same time, its one post and then he moves on and creates another. No discussion, no input - just flooding the page with topics. I'd prefer to hear his opinion too.

Fair enough.

lol, He does come up with alot. I liked this one as i hadnt really thought bout it and thats whats so good bout the forum. I get to hear other (sometimes better) ideas.

fair enough Dilmah......but i have no problem with JT at least he is throwing up discussion topics rather than sensationalist crap about mason, or who is the ugliest player in the NRL

bobmar28

I can't see the addition of a country team working. There are other priorities, Queenslands Sunshine Coast, Wellington NZ, WA, SA, NT, Central Coast etc, etc.

Walt Flanigan

hillbillyjazzer1954 said:
fair enough Dilmah......but i have no problem with JT at least he is throwing up discussion topics rather than sensationalist crap about mason, or who is the ugliest player in the NRL

Agreed.

boonboon

Personally I would prefer to see a state league like comp such as the QLD cup in NSW, with the intro of the u20 comp next year a combined comp with the premier league teams and teams in major country areas such as those mentioned - would provide more exposure to these country areas and perhaps those sydney teams who dont want to field a PL team could support one of the country teams with funding and promotion - You would get a lot of promotion especially with NRL players returning from injury though the Cup - Look how well the QLD version has gone - this means it isnt as costly financially but still gives much more of apresence to these areas

My only concern is the effect it would have on the local comps - Someone from QLD can probably give more of an idea on how these things effected thier local comps

imasharkie

now to dilmah, take your blinkers off and get down off your high horse, at least JT is putting up discussion ideas rather than dribbling crap

Now thats the best comment to come out of this thread.

simon says

I think having a country team is a great idea and would be the boost that country footy needs.

I dont think Canberra fans would be too happy,as they poach a lot of country boys,but I like the concept of a team that plays all over the country.

I see some say crowds are a problem, but they were getting over 10k for trials,surely they would better this in premiership games.And the help this would give to the communities and business would be huge.

I would also be a fan of every team playing one of their home games at a country venue as an alternative......but Id love to have country kids playing for the country.The tribalism of it would be unique.....big city teams up against battling country,has a real fibro v silvertails feel to it IMO.

Cheers.

Walt Flanigan

simon says said:
I dont think Canberra fans would be too happy,as they poach a lot of country boys,but I like the concept of a team that plays all over the country.

Who exactly do we poach these players from? Does Goulburn or Young have an NRL team that we are ripping off? Yes we sign alot of country boys but "poach"? Come on mate.

TooheysNew

surely they would better this in premiership games
They'd better it in trials too. The point is there are no country stadiums big enough. Carrington and Wade Park both had to have temporary (dangerous) seating erected, and both grounds only have a few hundred seat grandstand.

yosh64

boonboon said:
Personally I would prefer to see a state league like comp such as the QLD cup in NSW, with the intro of the u20 comp next year a combined comp with the premier league teams and teams in major country areas such as those mentioned - would provide more exposure to these country areas and perhaps those sydney teams who dont want to field a PL team could support one of the country teams with funding and promotion - You would get a lot of promotion especially with NRL players returning from injury though the Cup - Look how well the QLD version has gone - this means it isnt as costly financially but still gives much more of apresence to these areas

I agree. Dont know what the new PL will look like next year it would be really good if they got a country team into 2nd tier comp. Cost wise it wouldnt be so much but it would get regular games out in the bush with probably more loyal fans then teams in the city.

Just wish they had a strong 2nd tier comp with league. One that got some airtime on fox. Cause although this idea still would struggle a bit at the moment, if we had a strong 2nd division (like in english soccer) this country team would have no problems being a success. Still need to see what happens to PL next year.