Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Would you ?

Surely

Betting on NRL ... it should be banned .. if it was racing there would have been a few stewards inquiries this year.

pogo

interesting thread beekershark.

i will tell you a funny story regarding footy betting, i was having a drink some years ago with a very very large footy bookie, before the tab bet on sport.

a chap walked in and sat down and asked the bookie what price canterbury to win the comp, mind you this was after the last comp round when the semi finalists were known.

he was offered 20/1 and promptly slapped 10 large on the table, 200,000 to 10,000 was the bet.

i thought this bloke is a spendthrift with a sense of humour, as canterbury i believe were the last placed qualifier......needless to say they went on to win the comp, beating manly.

i cant remember the year, but i m pretty sure canterbury were the last in to the semis....... the moral of this story is twofold.

it is mathematically impossible to set accurate odds on a sporting event, opinions and favouritisms often blur the facts.
and always look for value when betting.

during the season the best time to back a team to win the comp is after a loss as the bookies/tab react and ease their price often erroneously.

with regard to cronulla, i have backed them heavily to make the 8 at various prices and moderately to win the comp.
had bk not been out their price would be much shorter than it now is..(80/1 available on nz tab if u have a kiwi mate)

hopefully they can beat melbourne which would allow me to have a largish bet on the cowboys in the last game to ensure an overall win.

i reckon 80/1 is a fair price...it wouldnt shock to see the team get on a roll IF they can win their last two games.

with a fit brett kimmorley anything is possible......as long as he brings his kicking game and his tackling improves ..hey backflip??

if this doesnt happen then the underpriviliged will prosper with an upgrade in the street lighting and garbage collection services and no one could complain about that!!

newman

Ive never bet on sport. Ever. I get this paranoid delsusion that Ill give whoever im betting on the kiss of death.

Thats remarkably self indulgent and reeks of a misfounded self importance doesnt it?

But, I mean, HONESTLY, winning the comp? Its two weeks out from the semis and we aint even in the 8. I admire your positive outlook, but geeeeeeeeezzzzz were a long way off from being the best team in the comp.

DJDL

This is true Newman. But 2 weeks out from the semis in '99 did you think the Storm would win it?

You just never know.

bubs

Look at our results this year.
Beaten by the Dogs twice... JUST.
Beaten by the Queens....Twice (1 was a little unlucky).
Beaten by the Panthers...
Beaten by the Tigers...
We have beaten Goosters, Ponies, and Storm away from home this year.
Beaten the Cowboys at home and should away.
If we were really on our game, there would be an outside shot at some great results.
However it will all come to nought if we get done this weekend.
Every game from this weekend IS our Grand Final.
One more loss and we are GONESKIS.

beekershark

Great post POGO and you speak alot of sense.

I too am lapping up the $70 plus at the moment and i know that will shortern hugely after a win or two.

If they lose this week or next, so be it, I will be far more upset that the sharkies are out of the race than the $1000 bet thats for sure.

Jimbo

beekershark said:
I'd be inteested on peoples views, if the finals were tomorrow, what price would you want on the boys to win the thing ? 10/1, 12/1, 20/1 etc etc ?

If the finals were tomorrow, I wouldn't be backing us. We're currently 9th...

;-)

I had $80 on the Sharks at 31/1 at the start of the season. So if the Sharks should by some amazing turn of events win the premiership I'll be laughing to the tune of $2400.

But money is only secondary, i just want to see the Sharks win the comp.

imasharkie

I had $ 50 at $51 at the beginning of the season but I wouldn't say that was unusual as I put fifty bucks on them every year..................still waiting

Mako

Pogo wrote:
if this doesnt happen then the underpriviliged will prosper with an upgrade in the street lighting and garbage collection services and no one could complain about that!!

The underprivileged have street lighting and garbage collection that is need of an unpgrade? Mate, what planet are you on???

pogo

ask backflip for an explanation mako......he will be able to enlighten you on the distribution of the gamblers dollar.

Mako

When I need an explanation of how the states finance system works I won't be asking you or reefy.

If what you wrote was meant to be a joke then you seriously need to get yourself a writer because, like much of what you write, it is a confused mess!

steveshark

----
I had some bucks on the Sharks making the final 8 at the start of the season - for $1 paying $2.20 - What odds would you give me now - more or less than $2.20 ??????

pogo

mate you can get 4.00 curently on tab ltd....

however it may be more sensible to take the 2.30 to beat melbourne then re assess your options before the cowboys game.