Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WTF WT / Dane Laurie

This weeks omission from Fgrade is a horses for courses thing, Sheens thinks the cowboys will target him and run their little men at him all day. As for his form this year no better or worse than any other players in the team.Sheens expects big things from him in 2010 after a full offseason and I would be suprised if theiris anything going on behind the scenes that have caused him to be dropped.

He apparently has a virus/flu which explains why hes not playing for the Magpies also

you got to be a f**kwit. the game would be better and more marketable if mundine was still playing the game, just look what he has done to australian boxing.

Mundine is a prick who is a poor influence on young Rugby League players. He is poison to the game. He uses the game to help himself, then f**ks it over every chance he gets. And its all ego-driven because he reckons he didn't get the respect he deserved when he played

The f**kwits are thick turds like you who pay to watch him fight blokes who have Steve Price's boxing ability.

If Mundine got hit by a bus tomorrow, I'd only shed a tear if Khoder Nasser wasn't under the bus with him.

boonboon

Daine isn't playing this week because he is sick and hasn't been able to train and thats it god some people must get bored/drunk to make up this stuff

Engine

Who remembers Mundine, Khoder, Haumono and mates stroll down that street on their way to a meeting about SBW? Them strolling reminded me of that Michael Jackson clip ("Thriller")

yappy

Daine played today and Tim Sheens was there to watch how he went. He was pretty heavily marked so we were mainly using him as a decoy, but he made some strong runs in the first half.

macnaz

Daine isn't playing this week because he is sick and hasn't been able to train and thats it god some people must get bored/drunk to make up this stuff

So why did he play for wests yesterday? Farah has been sick but he is still in the side.

nyx

He apparently has a virus/flu which explains why hes not playing for the Magpies also
Yeah I have my doubts about this flu story as I saw him out at a pub on Sat night. It was quite late and he looked pretty healthy to me.

youngun

Ok I am going to buy into this argument but I have some inside knowledge that is somewhat interesting...but first let me say that I am a big fan of The Great Daine and hope above all that he stays at the TIgers and develops into a menace that we can all see in him...
Firstly - Daine has always been told that against certain teams (ie Cowboys due to small fast players) he will not be playing and nobody here can honestly tell me that Daine has good positional play and reads what is happening...please he would have found himself out of position and Bowen and Thurston would have been sniffing around him all game.
Secondly - He is still very raw and has not had a full season to get match fit, anyone that watches him can see that the big fella does struggle a bit for oxygen quite a lot and needs a full off season to get that right, would have had an off season just gone but family issues meant that he was not at training for the full pre-season sessions.
Thirdly - Daine has now decided that he doesn't want a contract upgrade at this stage from the Tigers because they didn't want to offer him a decent contract in the first place and now that he has a "reputation" he believes that he is going to be able to test himself on the open market and get a much better contract from elsewhere, and most likely he will, this is probably one of the things that has upset management the most because they gave the guy an opportunity when there wasn't going to be one, Im sure everyone here knows about Daines past, and although the Tigers were willing to take a chance on him he may not be so forthcoming to repay the favour.

N.C.

Pfft. Repay the favour? If they don't want to pay the man what he is worth then they don't deserve him in the roster. If true this is just another fine example of the club's attitude to "loyalty"... You tow the line and you'll be fine. You start to ask questions and you'll go the way of Scott Longmuir.

macnaz

Ok I am going to buy into this argument but I have some inside knowledge that is somewhat interesting...but first let me say that I am a big fan of The Great Daine and hope above all that he stays at the TIgers and develops into a menace that we can all see in him...
Firstly - Daine has always been told that against certain teams (ie Cowboys due to small fast players) he will not be playing and nobody here can honestly tell me that Daine has good positional play and reads what is happening...please he would have found himself out of position and Bowen and Thurston would have been sniffing around him all game.
Secondly - He is still very raw and has not had a full season to get match fit, anyone that watches him can see that the big fella does struggle a bit for oxygen quite a lot and needs a full off season to get that right, would have had an off season just gone but family issues meant that he was not at training for the full pre-season sessions.
Thirdly - Daine has now decided that he doesn't want a contract upgrade at this stage from the Tigers because they didn't want to offer him a decent contract in the first place and now that he has a "reputation" he believes that he is going to be able to test himself on the open market and get a much better contract from elsewhere, and most likely he will, this is probably one of the things that has upset management the most because they gave the guy an opportunity when there wasn't going to be one, Im sure everyone here knows about Daines past, and although the Tigers were willing to take a chance on him he may not be so forthcoming to repay the favour.

So do u think Mundane the wanker has had an influence into his decision to look elsewhere? Also does it mean he may just feel the market and come back to WT and say I can earn about X dollars can u get near that figure, or do u think he just wants to go to play at South’s ?
If Mundane has anything to do with it he can tell his sob story walking to Kuzz town right now!. Once mundine infected he will always be trouble and a liability. He may well be a great player oneday and when that ONEDAY comes then he can get his big paycheck until then settle for what i reckon would be a far amount from a club that pulled him outa struggle street . I bet he is getting a sh*tload more than Gallants 25K.

macnaz

Pfft. Repay the favour? If they don't want to pay the man what he is worth then they don't deserve him in the roster. If true this is just another fine example of the club's attitude to "loyalty"... You tow the line and you'll be fine. You start to ask questions and you'll go the way of Scott Longmuir.

Come on! there always has to be a certain amount of loyalty and payback when clubs and players are concerned. In this case for once i will back the club, Daines turn now to try repay the favour.

N.C.

It's got to work both ways though, doesn't it? When we signed him we were decimated in the forwards and desperate for a cheap front rower. It was win/win at the time. Now he struggles to get more than 20 minutes a game and is constantly undervalued as "raw" and unpredictable. So now who owes what to who?

super_coach

For those old enough to remember him, big Dane is like TV Ted Ellery, the media has turned him into a cult hero and yes he has appeal but long term will he offer more than the young 17 we saw on the weekend, I have my doubt.

You cant blame him wanting to test the market, but he also taking a big risk. I see parallels with the Ben Teo thing. Anyway at this stage of his career I would not be paying overs for him

youngun

So do u think Mundane the wanker has had an influence into his decision to look elsewhere? Also does it mean he may just feel the market and come back to WT and say I can earn about X dollars can u get near that figure, or do u think he just wants to go to play at South’s ?
If Mundane has anything to do with it he can tell his sob story walking to Kuzz town right now!. Once mundine infected he will always be trouble and a liability. He may well be a great player oneday and when that ONEDAY comes then he can get his big paycheck until then settle for what i reckon would be a far amount from a club that pulled him outa struggle street . I bet he is getting a sh*tload more than Gallants 25K.

I dont know whether Mundine has anything to do with this and as far as Im concerned I couldnt care less, all I know is that Daine is a good "prospect" but hasn't really earnt the right to dictate terms. If he feels that there is more opportunity elsewhere then I wish him luck but in this situation I would back WT management in te fact that he hasn't really proven anything yet apart from being a big hitter, last time I checked there is a lot more to playing footy than that.

youngun

Please don't try and compare what is happening in Daines situation with Scott's, completly different!!

N.C.

How so? It's all about Sheens setting the terms. You are either one of his boys or you're in his way. I doubt Laurie will get what he's hoping for on the open market but if he can squeeze a better deal for himself by testing it out then why wouldn't he? It is about taking control and not allowing Sheens to dictate to him what he is capable of and what he is worth.

That said, the Tigers are the ones holding the cards as I am pretty sure he is already contracted to us for next year. The club has the option of keeping him or letting him go for the 2010 season. If we don't let him go he'll have to walk, and he aint no Sonny Bill. Any club wanting him on their books will have to pay overs for him in order to buy out his contract or pay damages to the Tigers for enticing him to break a contract.

As I see it, any fluttering on the open market is a simple matter of determining his true value, in the hope of securing a decent upgrade to his contract with the Tigers...