Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your side for for the Sharks game

Karmawave

Smithy = tactically pretty good

talent spotting, I reckon he rates himself too much.

/end rant.

I reckon he has that big an ego, that he tries intentionally to find rejects and discards from other teams and turn them into WORLD BEATERS just so everyone can compliment what a great job he did when no one else could.

In my eyes - he fails. Has failed to do it successfully with any longevity over the years.

Sure he might make Jason Taylor look great for a few months, hell even Brad Drew - but their careers are myths in the end aren't they. They are eventually found out.

Smith's ' genius ' at nurturing and discovering rare talent is a complete myth as well.

He couldn't talent spot a footballer if was right under his nose.

If Smith's ego and his need to always be perceived as more clever than the next bloke was reduced a bit, he might be a bit better liked across the board.

He tries to be too clever for his own good just to be different - and in the end its only in his own mind that he thinks he outsmarts his peers.

Serc

If Karma was coach he would bring Steve Turner to the club in an instant because he is a REPRESENTATIVE player ;-)

Joker's Wild

The point is mate, he was an INTERNATIONAL...

Wicks, Houston and all the other nuffies Smith bought to the club aren't even close to International.

Joynt may have been lucky to make a World Cup squad, but he made it all the same.

Ok Karma, if we're gonna run with the theory that INTERNATIONALs can never be nuffys:

1. Cooper Vuna - Brought to the club by Smith and now a current INTERNATIONAL.

2. Wes Naiquama - Brought to the club by Smith and now a current INTERNATIONAL.

3. Richie Fa'aoso - Brought to the club by Smith and now a current INTERNATIONAL.

Pretty good strike rate if you ask me

Frederick

Perry was going nowhere here, and you know it. The blame for that lays squarely at Hagans feet.

Yosh

Well isn't Uate a superstar? 4 tries in 5 matches thats a pretty good strike rate. I love Uate... Hahaha I'll stop now.

We do have Kidley is who is quite the superstar dont we agree? Players who can be classified as a superstarish player I think are:

Kidley
Uate
Patto
Mullen

I think those 4 players are the ones who can be classifed as superstars to be class. Sure they are not really now, however I dont see why any of the names there cannot

one day be the best player in their positions. We also have De Gois who I think is boarderline superstar player and I think so far its been a pretty good job by Smith in

making a team that can be considered good. Like if we dont make top 6 I'll be screaming for his head at the end of the season don't you worry Karma... HOWEVER

he is still in the middle of doing his thing let us wait a little bit longer before we judge him. I mean look at the club 2 and a half years ago. Hages basically destroyed a club.

Parra learnt from their mistakes and somehow managed to fire Hagan before it was too late. Lets give BSmith a little more time Karma, I have faith he'll come good!!!

Pika

josh perry = punted by smith and now an INTERNATIONAL...

You know that Perry was never going to kick on her under any Coach. Stop being a tool.

Ellis has had a good game. I am not going to run around claimimg he is something great just yet.

He was average in the world cup.

macavity

You know that Perry was never going to kick on her under any Coach. Stop being a tool.

Ellis has had a good game. I am not going to run around claimimg he is something great just yet.

He was average in the world cup.

quiet you.

dont make me tell chop chop.

Bring it home Knights

Because I think Houston is a boofhead who is more of a hindrance overall than a help on the footy field.

Sure he can do some really good things, but he has stupid errors in his game - whether that be giving away dumb penalties, or something else thats just sh*t.

He is also nowhere near the class of someone like Feleti Mateo.

And that alone annoys me that our signings are blokes like Houston, and not a game changing footballer.

No big names ever want to come to Newcastle, and our current coach is one of the main reasons for that.

Because blokes like Smith want to spot a diamond in the rough - Taia, Wicks, Houston - but he can't see a diamond when its right under his freaking nose - Hayne, Mateo.

As you said. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.......

Bring it home Knights

Ok Smith didnt give Mata'utia a go in 1st grade last year, so obviously he doesn't rate him. Wayne Bennett obviously didnt rate Ben Hunt, Freddy didn't rate Ryan Williamson. Like I've mentioned numerous times, Hayne was still eligible for SG Ball in Smith's final year at Parra, all the players mentioned above were eligible for SG Ball last year but never got a run in 1st grade, does that mean that the respective coached didn't rate them? Karma you're clutching at straws in regards to Hayne.

In Karmas world...... yes!

Karmawave

In Karmas world...... yes!

Well hang on a second all you Smith lovers and Knights sympathists.

This is the same coach who didn't rate Matt White and Jesse Royal enough to bring back for 2009.

Everyone on here has been having one big massive cry about that...

Why the sympathy for his views now?

Apey

No it's just that they can acknowledge when he does something good and/or bad, rather than only of those options. Maybe bitterness just doesn't effect them as much.. :sarcasm:

Serc

along with Bronson Harrison and Greg Eastwood...

Though to be honest I wouldn't be toooooo unhappy with either of them came here :p

I've had my rage about White and Royal, no point in dragging it up every week though Karma my good man ;-) You get over it and move on.

Bring it home Knights

Well hang on a second all you Smith lovers and Knights sympathists.

This is the same coach who didn't rate Matt White and Jesse Royal enough to bring back for 2009.

Everyone on here has been having one big massive cry about that...

Why the sympathy for his views now?

People on here should start calling you 'Zebra'. Everything is black and white when it comes to you, there is never a grey area, hence why I cant be bothered answering your question........

otori

Jess was good today.

Dropped a few balls though but then again the Warriors were throwing the ball away left, right and centre. Lol felt sorry for that Ukuma Tai kid who dropped the ball twice from two touches on debut.

Because I think Houston is a boofhead who is more of a hindrance overall than a help on the footy field.

Sure he can do some really good things, but he has stupid errors in his game - whether that be giving away dumb penalties, or something else thats just sh*t.

He is also nowhere near the class of someone like Feleti Mateo.

And that alone annoys me that our signings are blokes like Houston, and not a game changing footballer.

No big names ever want to come to Newcastle, and our current coach is one of the main reasons for that.

Because blokes like Smith want to spot a diamond in the rough - Taia, Wicks, Houston - but he can't see a diamond when its right under his freaking nose - Hayne, Mateo.
House has plenty of people who rate him. Mateo is about as overated a footballer as I have seen in 10 years. He hasn't got Houston's ticker. He is a glory chaser mateo and another goose who believes his own press. Much like Hayne. Hayne is average at best. Last season showed him up for what his game really is. ME ME ME. Why else do you think these so called superstars keep choking in big games? The eels are spoon contenders in 2009. The bubble will burst.