Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your sporting stories

Godz Illa

Nice. Yeah, I'm posting an F7's story of mine too....

Kids playing mini-footy has long been a staple of halftime entertainment - the simplest and often the most universal option. More egalitarian than scantily clad dancing cheergirls; the cuteness factor giving it the edge over sprint races; and, well, the less said about the notorious drum squad the better. But one of the wonderful elements of 'mini-footy-as-entertainment' is the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for those league-loving children to play on the same field as their heroes. Every single one of those kids will leave with a memory to keep, and a story to tell. This is mine.

Nowadays the entertainment is usually served in two doses - one game at each end. The beauty of this is more spectators have access to the fun, and it doubles the amount of starry-eyed kids. For my big moment, it was a little different. Firstly, as we were in under 11's, we were playing Mod League (a step up from mini, including a bigger field and rules more closely resembling the major version of the game), therefore we had the full field and the full audience to ourselves. Secondly, rather than the halftime fixture, we were the curtain-raiser, for... not a meagre afternoon match between cellar-dwellers, not even a prime-time Friday night top-of-the-table blockbuster... but the major semi-final between Penrith and Canberra, on a sunny afternoon in September 1990, inside a jam-packed Sydney Football Stadium. Finally, and most importantly (in our minds), our game was more than a mere exhibition, hastily cobbled together for cheap entertainment purposes. It was a showdown between the two best under 11's teams in NSW.

My team, Maroubra Lions, were pursuing our third consecutive undefeated premiership. That season we'd won all our games by an average margin of 50 points. Our closest rivals once bravely held us to 30, while twice against our weakest opponents we hit triple figures. In the years to come, none of us would reach great heights within the game - one player did spend time in the NRL with a few clubs; another switched codes and played a bit of Super 14. So, for most, this was to be our only encounter with the rugby league pantheon.

Our opponents were from Walgett in rural NSW. Being a blissfully ignorant child at the time, I don't recall their full story or exactly how the game came about - we were along for the ride, thrilled beyond our wildest dreams to be playing on such a grand stage. What I do remember is they were basically our equivalent, and league officialdom conspired to bring these two mini-giants of the mod code together, for no other reason than to witness what was bound to be an interesting clash.

Most of the day's preamble leading up to our big moment has vanished from memory. All I remember is my teammates and I sitting in the stadium, all dressed in our predominantly green uniforms, all trembling with excitement. As zero hour approached, we received word that the Walgett team were lost in transit - their bus had taken a wrong turn and would not arrive in time for the showdown. The utter devastation of not gracing that sacred turf was upgraded to slight disappointment, when we were permitted on the field to play a game of touch amongst ourselves.

Total sensory pleasure ensued. The feel of that spongy grass beneath my boots, that colossal pristine paddock flanked at all sides by an ocean of people, colour and best of all: SOUND. The noise was mostly idle chatter, but it was immense. And all for us. Until, suddenly, a mountainous explosion of noise enveloped the arena, rendering us all mute and completely frozen. The crowd had erupted and we all turned our heads to see why. At the vehicle entrance in the south-eastern corner, the Walgett team sheepishly shuffled into the stadium, their dark skin tone (all Aboriginal kids) juxtaposed by their bright yellow uniforms. We noticed, as did the 35,000 people attending, that they were all barefoot. Feeling immediately upstaged, our 11 year old egos bruised... it was 'game on'.

Unfortunately, they were near untouchable. Quicker, stronger, and far more skilful than any team we had met, they conquered us, four tries to one. However, I did create my own immortal moment on that immortal soil. A try-saving textbook covering tackle around the ankles of a lanky high-stepping winger. The crowd groaned (it would have been another brilliant try by these bush magicians), then applauded.

18 years later, I'm still telling that story.

gUt

Cool story. My brother got to play on Lang Park a couple of times but I never did.

Got a story to tell? Sign up for F7s dudes.

thorson1987

That's not a bad record Kungl.

Mine record is

Won U/17's and Reserve Grade

Lost U/13's U/14's U/18's and Reserve Grade twice.

On the topic of mini footy at half time I got to referee the kids at the Parra v Broncos prelim final in 01

They had an absolute ball in front of a large crowd. With those games you generally let the little things go aswell. It's all about the experience for them.

I also got to play in the U/6's at half time at the old campbelltown sportsground (when it still had the athletics markings and the portable grandstands on the northern side.

Red Bear

In winter sports I think I played about four finals matches since finals started in u/10's - thats 6 seasons of soccer, 3 of rugby league. Three of those finals matches were 11's and 12's league though (won one of them, was a 43-0 victory as well, that was a great game of footy). My one soccer finals match I came off the bench when we were up by a goal (i think), conceded so it went to extra time where we conceded two more and I got my only yellow card ever. That was a bit shit.

We made the finals in soccer last year, but the day of our elimination final I had a wedding in Melbourne, and we lost. Shit way to end a season.

Good junior cricket career though, from 11's to 16's made finals five out of seven seasons (had two seasons of 12's). Won 11's Grand Final and the 16a's combined grand final (two comps were combined from 14a's onwards). Won our half of the comps grand final in 14's (because the two sides from our comp were knocked out in the semi's). Lost under 12's grand final and lost a semi in first year of 16a's. Have played one grade finals match since then.

So basically in four seasons of cricket and six of soccer since under 16's age I've played two finals matches :(

redvscotty

Scored possibly the best try ever in a lunch game of tackle footy at school. We never played touch until the teacher came out to get us in trouble, but I threw the biggest dummy anyone had ever seen after taking the ball from the play the ball and dove in between 2 defenders. I was a hero that day.

Once when I was a lot younger, like under 7s in soccer or something we won 14 - 0 but I didnt score at all and I wasnt the goalie. Everyone else got at least one goal, except me.

Also at soccer, we ended an undefeated streak of something like 30 games across 3 seasons. Stupid Palm Beach teams were full of the next Messi's and we beat them and Maccas tasted that much better that day.

Also at school, we were playing cricket and a guy got out and then started trying to hit people with the bat. We later found out he's some sort of psycho.

redvscotty

I also played a game of AFL about 2 years ago and almost kicked a goal. My mate who was also called up for this pub team got into a fight with a bloke because he kept tackling my mate, and my mate got the shits.

Also was water boy for one of their games and wore high socks and a headband all in white and basically just took the piss (was pretty wasted) and some AFL androtop yelled out 'go back to rugby league' so I went into the clubhouse and won 120 bucks on the pokies and spent it buying some cartons for the trip home.

Another good one I have was in a school game of cricket (10 overs a side), we were fielding first and after 6 overs they were 0/60 odd (the 6th over went for about 20). The captain for the day wasn't taking it too seriously so he gave everyone one over each. I bowled the 7th over, and as I am not a cricketer I was bowling something 3 yards short of medium pace with a scrambled seam and no movement at all. First ball, the opener's eyes lit up, he takes a huge swing that had car park written all over it, but misses it completely and gets bowled. Their number 3 was apparently a gun batsman as well, and he did the exact same thing. The rest of their team was garbage, my over ended up going 2/5, we ran out the other opener in the next over, and they ended up making something like 7/75 off their 10.

thorson1987

That U/18's grand final was just a shit day from kick off.

As I have a big kick I took the kick offs. Ref blows his whistle, start my run up and slip over. Bloody campbelltown stadium grass.

Then their first scrum on there 10m line was lined up against Chris Lawrence. He gets the ball and next thing I know he is passed me. Luckily our other centre was quicker as he tackled him 2m short of the try line.

Dani

My knee cap ended up on the side of my leg in my first game of football when i was 14. Never forget it.

***MH***

My 1st ever game of league, playing u/18s on the wing, we were up by a couple points deep into the 2nd half when their 5/8 took an intercept in the middle of the field on his own 30.

I took off after him, ran him down and made the tackle 10m out from the line. Basically no one from either team had even thought to chase, so me and him had to wait a few seconds for a dummy half to come and one marker got onside with me. I launched left at the play the ball and luckily picked the right way, tackled him and he dropped the ball :cool:

It was our only win of the season. Revesby Heights circa 2002.... Horrible side :lol:

My worst moment came later that season. Pissing down rain, in defence and a pass goes to ground. I scooped it up with one hand and took off with their fullback hot on my heels. Had a horrible grip on the ball but couldn't adjust as was too focused on getting away from the chaser. Got to the line, dived..... And dropped the f**king ball over the line :lol:

You know your team sucks when Woodbridge is one of your best players.

AlwaysGreen

Speaking of injuries, in my 2nd last game of league I went into a tackle the wrong way against a guy and copped his knee in the chest, fracturing my sternum. The pain was unbelievable, every time I breathed was agony. It took six months in pain to heal and another 6 to get confident enough to play again. In my last game of league I copped a knock in the same place and heard a click and pain again. It wasn't refractured but it something in my head was. I never played again, I just lost all confidence.

Thus ended a great :sarcasm: career :sarcasm:

my second most memorable sporting incident ever:

Playing cricket, our team rocked up with just 9 players (two guys were injured the morning of the game and had no time to replace them).

We batted first, bundled out for 86.

I opened the bowling as usual, took 7 for 14 off 8 overs. Opposition got all out for 83.

Take a f**king bow me :)

The most memorable story is the one about how I got my username. I've told it once or twice before in here. I won't bother retelling it unless prompted.

last game of league i broke my right ankle and did the ACL in my right knee, all in the same tackle. Took nearly 10 months to recover.

I was 17 at the time, playing reggies in group 9. I was always playing at centre or five-eighth. The dumb f**k coach thought I'd be good at lock against the biggest pack in the comp.

merkin.

Pugzley

Rugby League - Got smashed by a Petero lookalike in my sides 6 tries to two loss in school footy. Back in 1997.

European Handball - Was a brick-wall goalie in school handball. Never really let the ball through.

Soccer - Landed on the side of my foot while dribbling with the ball. Swollen ankle. Out of school for a week.

Swimming - Slowest time in the school swimming carnival.

AlwaysGreen

I used to love school swimming carnivals. There was always at least one kid in each year who turned up shaved down and in speedos thinking they were the next Ian Thorpe. Same with sports carnivals, I knew a guy who'd show up in his singlet and spikes and blocks and spend half an hour warming up. Too bad he was as slow as a sedated sloth.