Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Bachelor 'How To' Thread

Pasta is the best bachelor food. Never goes off, can be used so many different ways, filling and cheap. You can get some decent sauces in jars, or just keep some tomato puree in the cupboard and make a sauce with that and whatever you have. Salami, chilli flakes, spinach, mushrooms....bacon, onion, basil....tinned tuna, spinach, mushrooms....anything you like or have lying around.

Rice is good too but not as versatile and can be a pain to cook without a rice cooker.

Stroganoff is great bachelor food. Basic recipe is chicken or beef, garlic, onion, paprika, mushrooms, sour cream. That's it. Cheap and easy, serve it with rice or pasta or potato.

Ummm...I have heaps of cheap stuff since having a long time baching it up. Will put some more up when I remember

Apey

The absolute most important thing to buy is a decent chefs knife and to keep it sharp. Doesn't have to cost a fortune but a good sharp knife will make things so much easier.

Are we still talking about cooking?

God-King Dean

I live off rice.

I have rice for breaky.

Mix it with canned foods like tuna, sardines, chicken, beans etc. & you have yourself a cheap & fairly healthy diet.

Also, on booze...check out, or even ask the local bottlo if they have any close to code stock marked down. Can pick up half price cartons of beer if they do, and beer use by dates are a bit of a joke.

see, as much as i'd like to agree with your advice, i'm still scarred by an experience I had at uni as an undergrad..

we were at the bottleshop, and they had a big stack of these beers marked down to 50c a bottle.. so $12 per case..

this was a kiwi beer, brewed with burbon.

they had 3 and a half cases left..

now..

the post uni, rational minded me thinks:

"this beer is incredibly cheap, but there is still a fair bit left here. based on the laws of supply and demand, therefore even though this product is at a cheap price, there is still a decent quantity left, therefore the quality of this beer must be such that the supply/demand curve has not been impacted even at the ridiculously low price of 50c, which means this is simply a shit quality beer and should be avoided at all costs"

however, the me in the moment, being at uni and on a budget thought:

"f**k yeah! cheap beer! lets buy the whole f**king lot of it!"

which I did.

and that stuff took me so f**king long to get through.

that stuff was so awful, I pretty much could only drink it when I was too pissed to be able to taste anything...

ever since then, I've looked at booze markdowns with the same sort of evil glint that Sherlock Holmes gave Dr Moriarty..

see, as much as i'd like to agree with your advice, i'm still scarred by an experience I had at uni as an undergrad..

we were at the bottleshop, and they had a big stack of these beers marked down to 50c a bottle.. so $12 per case..

this was a kiwi beer, brewed with burbon.

they had 3 and a half cases left..

now..

the post uni, rational minded me thinks:

"this beer is incredibly cheap, but there is still a fair bit left here. based on the laws of supply and demand, therefore even though this product is at a cheap price, there is still a decent quantity left, therefore the quality of this beer must be such that the supply/demand curve has not been impacted even at the ridiculously low price of 50c, which means this is simply a shit quality beer and should be avoided at all costs"

however, the me in the moment, being at uni and on a budget thought:

"f**k yeah! cheap beer! lets buy the whole f**king lot of it!"

which I did.

and that stuff took me so f**king long to get through.

that stuff was so awful, I pretty much could only drink it when I was too pissed to be able to taste anything...

ever since then, I've looked at booze markdowns with the same sort of evil glint that Sherlock Holmes gave Dr Moriarty..

Dude....beer brewed with bourbon should have been your first and only required clue....

dude.. It was 50c a bottle, involved two different types of booze in that bottle and i was a student..

Misanthrope

I live off rice.

I have rice for breaky.

Mix it with canned foods like tuna, sardines, chicken, beans etc. & you have yourself a cheap & fairly healthy diet.

That doesn't sound like the most flavourful of diets. Are you adding anything for taste?

Are they obliged to answer me truthfully? :crazy:

Well no, but given they have their business manager on their arse about wastage, I don't see why they wouldn't. After all, better for them to sell it off at a reduced price than write it off and incur the loss as wastage.

You should always shop at Woolies or Coles self service checkouts if you know what I mean. It's quite easy for a leg of lamb to be mistaken for a bag of spuds

Pete Cash

Soy sauce would match the rice and tuna meal quite well. Maybe a drizzle of olive oil. I eat chickpeas, tuna and random veg for lunch a lot of the time because its so quick. Obviously the more time I have the more flavour I put into it. If I have time to actually cook then I'll just make a quick daal and then just chuck a can of tuna in. If not I just dump it into a bowl.

Pete Cash

This is area dependent but I save a fair bit of cash shopping at farmers markets for veg. Like meat is way cheaper at the supermarket but veg its worth checking out what options are available.

Misanthrope

Well no, but given they have their business manager on their arse about wastage, I don't see why they wouldn't. After all, better for them to sell it off at a reduced price than write it off and incur the loss as wastage.

Good to know. One of the ex-residents works there and I befriended one of their storepeople yesterday at the pub, so I'll hopefully be in their good books soon enough :lol:

You should always shop at Woolies or Coles self service checkouts if you know what I mean. It's quite easy for a leg of lamb to be mistaken for a bag of spuds

Haha, times aren't quite that hard yet. Waiting on a few paid posts to hit my bank account is torture though.

Well the other thing with meat is (and I don't know what Coffs market options are like), I know in Canberra if you rock into Belconnen or Fyshwick markets at about 330 on a Sunday arvo, all the meats are marked to clear because they won't keep til the next weekend. So you can get some great bargains that way

Good to know. One of the ex-residents works there and I befriended one of their storepeople yesterday at the pub, so I'll hopefully be in their good books soon enough :lol:

Haha, times aren't quite that hard yet. Waiting on a few paid posts to hit my bank account is torture though.

Can be some good stuff in the clearance items at times. I got a carton of Miller Draught for $25 from Dans before Xmas and a carton of Pilsner Urquell for $35 the other week. Only had about a weeks date on them but A) it's meaningless with beer and B) I defy any student to keep a case for longer than a week :p