Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Five fastest players in the NRL

magpie4ever

It depends dude.
Sometimes people are coached really well - in regard to sprinting - and they can pretty much crack their top speed within 10 or so metres.
Particularly the shorter guys seem to get their quicker but have slightly higher times at the end of the 100m.
The ability to propel from the standing start has a fair bit to do with it.
I'm a bit over 6ft and I used to crack the 100m sprint in 10.43 at best, but I didn't accelerate that well - I also could not use it to great effect in football either.
A bloke I used to go to school with was close to cracking 9 seconds for the 100m but he was a freak who probably should have devoted himself to it and went to the Olympics, he instead played some footy in the Newcastle League and is now obese.

Now that I can't believe, running quicker than Bolte when at school - a monstrous porkie pie.

And if you was running 10.43 off a slow start you was probably the best sprinter in Australian - did you compete?

It depends dude.
Sometimes people are coached really well - in regard to sprinting - and they can pretty much crack their top speed within 10 or so metres.
Particularly the shorter guys seem to get their quicker but have slightly higher times at the end of the 100m.
The ability to propel from the standing start has a fair bit to do with it.
I'm a bit over 6ft and I used to crack the 100m sprint in 10.43 at best, but I didn't accelerate that well - I also could not use it to great effect in football either.
A bloke I used to go to school with was close to cracking 9 seconds for the 100m but he was a freak who probably should have devoted himself to it and went to the Olympics, he instead played some footy in the Newcastle League and is now obese.

I call bullshit.

You were 0.4 seconds slower than Shirvington, who held the fastest time over 100m by an Australian until it was beaten by Patrick Johnson in 2003, who became the first Australian to break 10 secs with a time of 9.93 (only half a second faster then you claimed you were)

betcats

I call bullshit.

You were 0.4 seconds slower than Shirvington, who held the fastest time over 100m by an Australian until it was beaten by Patrick Johnson in 2003, who became the first Australian to break 10 secs with a time of 9.93 (only half a second faster then you claimed you were)

Half a second would be like 5 metres which really is not close. Not saying I believe him but its possible.

magpie4ever

I call bullshit.

Johnson time was run in Japan and I'm sure there are a number of doubts over its accuracy.

JJ

It depends dude.
Sometimes people are coached really A bloke I used to go to school with was close to cracking 9 seconds for the 100m but he was a freak who probably should have devoted himself to it and went to the Olympics, he instead played some footy in the Newcastle League and is now obese.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

the comment about your 10.4 seems very unlikely, but what was this down a steep hill with a tail wind? what shite

magpie4ever

Half a second would be like 5 metres which really is not close. Not saying I believe him but its possible.

A time of 10.43 for the 100m would have made many finals at the Aust championships and probably won a few. Especially, if he ran this as a schoolboy and had a slow start - I'm reckon I could have shave a few tenths off and I'm no professional sprint coach.

Somehow, I think Ulysseus is a sprint champion in his own lunchtime.

betcats

The HS record is 10.44 so if he ran 10.43 it would be recorded somewhere, and if his mate got anywhere near 9 seconds there would be an article or record somewhere.

betcats

A time of 10.43 for the 100m would have made many finals at the Aust championships and probably won a few. Especially, if he ran this as a schoolboy and had a slow start - I'm reckon I could have shave a few tenths off and I'm no professional sprint coach.

Somehow, I think Ulysseus is a sprint champion in his own lunchtime.

Mate I agree but there's a chance he was a nationall sprinter, who knows. Theres no way anyway who wasnt dedicated to it was close to a sub 10 second time though.

sensesmaybenumbed

Now that I can't believe, running quicker than Bolte when at school - a monstrous porkie pie.

And if you was running 10.43 off a slow start you was probably the best sprinter in Australian - did you compete?

I think when he said 'cracking 9 seconds' he meant the kid was getting into the 9's, not under them.

Hard to believe he never went on with it if he was that quick.

magpie4ever

I think when he said 'cracking 9 seconds' he meant the kid was getting into the 9's, not under them.

Hard to believe he never went on with it if he was that quick.

But only 1 aussie sprinter has run under 10 secs, see above re: Johnson and that was controversial.

There is no way a schoolkid was going close to running 9.XX seconds or the low 10s (for that matter) unless they are still there in their mid to late 20s.

magpie4ever

I don't think he said he ran 10.43 at school.

Ok, somehow I would like more detail about running 10.43 for the 100 before I would acknowledge its truth. It is bloody quick.

The fastest league player (during season) would be lucky to break 11 seconds.

JJ

Ok, somehow I would like more detail about running 10.43 for the 100 before I would acknowledge its truth. It is bloody quick.

The fastest league player (during season) would be lucky to break 11 seconds.

VERY lucky I reckon...

Tommy Smith

Ulysseus reminds me of those guys that tell me they once reached level 20 in the beep test at high school.

Full of shit, basically.

I can't see anyone being faster than Roberts over any 0-100m distance. The guy is f**king lightning.

I think over 100m Edrick Lee would surprise a few people, huge stride.

betcats

I can't see anyone being faster than Roberts over any 0-100m distance. The guy is f**king lightning.

I think over 100m Edrick Lee would surprise a few people, huge stride.

Yeah he would be quick over a 100 but in footy a lot of players would run him down before he really got moving. Tall people take a while to get upto speed especially from a standing(upright) start.

magpie4ever

Bolt is the exception (and I personally have doubts about how clean he is), most great sprinters from past years were around 5'8'' to 5'10' (172 -178cm), all muscle but not too bulky - probably 12-14 stone (80 - low 90kgs).