Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings and even more Crap XXI

8. Scott (30) Guaranteed if he was signing a new contract for 3 or 4 more years his pay would be downgraded.
9. Smith (32) Has no major injury worries and is a freak.
10. Woods (24) Prime of his career.
11. Bird (31) Same as Scott.
12. Thaiday (30) Same as Scott and Bennett agrees.
13. Parker (33) Same as Scott, but unlike BS and AW has no injury worries.
14. Lewis (32) Already Downgraded and still playing better then AW.
15. Merrin (26) Prime of his career.
16. Myles (30) In the process of being downgraded.
17. Tamou (27) Cowboys want to downgrade him, but Sticky is his retirement fund in the making.

So why don't you just 'guarantee' that Beau Scott's contract has been 'downgraded'? Partic. as there are fringe benefits attaching to signing with us (i.e. access to the hospital).

Obscene Assassin

why would you celebrate that? I'm hoping elgey signs for manly just to make sure they've got no wriggle room left to re-negotiate with foran

Foran (and DCE) have thought about their decisions for a long time. They won't be reneging on their deals. As has been stated by both players many times.

Obscene Assassin

No, not one bit.

What does he do? He tackles well and [allegedly] hits hard - David Gower cost afeaction of what Scott does, and is five times the player.

"But if Gower is so good, why isn't he playing rep footy?"

Seriously? Your basis on how good a player is whether or not they play or have played rep footy? Well, Thomas Leuluai, David Williams, Richard Villasanti, Michael De Vere, Adam Mogg and Brett Finch have all played rep footy, and they blow chunks.

At a time they must have been good enough because they were picked to play. The other players they kept out must have been even worse because they weren't picked. Or the selectors were idiots, which is also a chance. There's plenty of good club players that have never played rep footy but most if not all rep footy players have to have been good at some point in their careers to have been picked to represent a group.

We've scored the most tries in the comp, why would we need to amp up our attack when we already have the best in the business? We have the worst defence in the comp and that's what we need to bolster. Scott is one of the best edge defenders in the comp.

Gower doesn't have the aggression nor the experience that Scott has.

Maybe he's just supporting his mate Riddell. They were at the Chooks together. Not everyone gives a f**k about club politics.

At a time they must have been good enough because they were picked to play. The other players they kept out must have been even worse because they weren't picked. Or the selectors were idiots, which is also a chance. There's plenty of good club players that have never played rep footy but most if not all rep footy players have to have been good at some point in their careers to have been picked to represent a group.

We've scored the most tries in the comp, why would we need to amp up our attack when we already have the best in the business? We have the worst defence in the comp and that's what we need to bolster. Scott is one of the best edge defenders in the comp.

Gower doesn't have the aggression nor the experience that Scott has.

Still - I don't think Scott is any better than anyone we already have.

Rep selections are often a joke, anyway - no way is Josh Reynolds NSW's best 5/8. The guy sucks.

Scott is a much better defender than Gower. He's one of the best defenders in the comp, plus he's tough, aggressive and influential. And has loads more experience than Gower.

Gower has more skill than Scott but our team struggles in defence. Our attack is fine. Anyway why not have both players?

I think his aggression is a huge myth.

I hope you're right, I honestly do - but I've never rated this guy. He's Daniel Wagon sans the versatility.

Hastings prefers the halves and Moylan is one of the best fullbacks in the game. I doubt he'll be moving anywhere.

Just what I've heard, mate.

Obscene Assassin

Still - I don't think Scott is any better than anyone we already have.

Rep selections are often a joke, anyway - no way is Josh Reynolds NSW's best 5/8. The guy sucks.

Well, I'm going to go with the current first grade coach on who he rates.

Who was in front of Reynolds last year? There's a fair few NSW halves that suck.

Well, I'm going to go with the current first grade coach on who he rates.

Who was in front of Reynolds last year? There's a fair few NSW halves that suck.

That's fine. I dusagree with you and him.

Only reason Reynolds was picked was because he partners Hodkinson at club level - Maloney, for starters, is a better half than Reynolds.

Josh Reynolds is garbage - so much so that even Dogs fans find defending him difficult.

I just don't see why we gave a multi-year deal (presumably on moderate coin, given he is a rep player) to a guy who is a solid defender but offers three fifths of f**k all with ball in hand - particularly when, with a bit of work, blokes like Moeroa will do his job cheaper (unless Tepai moves in tighter).

Watmough was a shrewd signing, because he offers a mongrel attitude and all-round game, but Beau Scott...he is average imo. And he's not worth a big, multi-year deal.

Of course, it's just my opinion, and I genuinely hope he proves me wrong - but I'm not a fan of the bald myth.

Josh Reynolds is actually pretty good at creating line breaks. It's his kicking game that sucks. He's like Kieran Foran except with a worse kicking game and he's a f**kwit. He deserved his go in Origin - he's no worse than plenty of other halves vying for a Blues jersey.

He runs the ball well, and he's got that fire in the belly - but he's a dumb player, and I'm not convinced he deserved a go at all. Hes like Kris Keating.

Passion only gets you so far.

Scott> wattmough

I have watched scott this year and he is still playing at top of his game. Hoffman IMO would of been the better buy out of the lot. Defends and attaks well.

He runs the ball well, and he's got that fire in the belly - but he's a dumb player, and I'm not convinced he deserved a go at all. Hes like Kris Keating.

Passion only gets you so far.

Take away the dirty plays and Reynold is average. He is behind a great pack with good backs.
I would rather Blake Austin if I had too chose.

Watmough will move into the front row rotation before too long. So we won't have two ageing backrowers!

Craig Johnston

13 is basically an extra prop

no it's not. ideally, it's someone who can play in the middle third but can play as close to 80 minutes as possible, eg corey parker. third hit up option basically. needs to be ideally also be able to help with defence workrate, decoy running and ballplaying in the middle third. watmough is perfect for this but has been well below his best, maybe carrying an injury which he and arthur don't want to seen complaining about

Eelpout

no it's not. ideally, it's someone who can play in the middle third but can play as close to 80 minutes as possible, eg corey parker. third hit up option basically. needs to be ideally also be able to help with defence workrate, decoy running and ballplaying in the middle third. watmough is perfect for this but has been well below his best, maybe carrying an injury which he and arthur don't want to seen complaining about

Players such as Graham, Bromwich, Woods etc play this role do they not? They don't don the 13.