Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 14 Parra vs Storm 14 June Game Day Thread

Let's see...

Missing
Hop
Champ
Chairman
IDG
Edwards

Busted during the game
Robo
Peats

Busted and played on
Choc
Teps
Take

I know we give him heaps, and rightfully so, and he makes errors - but gee, Choc has the heart of a lion, playing on with a busted arm.

Gazzamatta

WTF with Lussick. Either he is not match fit or his heart is not in it.

I thought he was a big disappointment.
A dead set pillow. Never breaks a tackle or bends the line. Everyone talks about Sandow being a waste of money. Well this bloke is just as bad. Dont let the door hit you in the backside on your way out. Enjoy Manlys reggies Big Tough Darcy.

Kornstar

I was trying to find out what the actual rule was. In between my last post and this one, Baz posted the rule, which confirmed it was a correct ruling.

Then we have been dudded a few tries over the years then. We have had video refs disallow tries when we have kicked through and it has hit an opposition first and we have regathered and scored only for them to say it was offside on the initial kick.

There's that little thing called consistency that the NRL lacks!

Then we have been dudded a few tries over the years then. We have had video refs disallow tries when we have kicked through and it has hit an opposition first and we have regathered and scored only for them to say it was offside on the initial kick.

It's not a little thing. The NRL lack it in a BIG way.

The case is slightly different when you are talking about the positioning of attacking players directly from a kick in general play. If the one of the chasers is in front of the kicker they have the opportunity to make sure that they are not within 10 metres of the defender receiving the ball. If they don't they are intentionally gaining an advantage by being offside...even if one or more defenders touch/drop the ball.

In the case of a series of short-range ricochets, the temporarily offside players cannot just disappear and as long as they don't actively take advantage while temporarily offside there's no problem. I can't remember exactly what sequence of events was last night, but it looked ok to me at the time. Will watch the tape.

The case is slightly different when you are talking about the positioning of attacking players directly from a kick in general play. If the one of the chasers is in front of the kicker they have the opportunity to make sure that they are not within 10 metres of the defender receiving the ball. If they don't they are intentionally gaining an advantage by being offside...even if one or more defenders touch/drop the ball.

In the case of a series of short-range ricochets, the temporarily offside players cannot just disappear and as long as they don't actively take advantage while temporarily offside there's no problem. I can't remember exactly what sequence of events was last night, but it looked ok to me at the time. Will watch the tape.

Melbourne gained an advantage from an off-side player who was within the 10 metres.

CHlx3rSUYAAzmvH.jpg

An emotional and injured Anthony Watmough has praised his Parramatta teammates for getting the team a crucial win in what was his 300th NRL game in the face of a massive injury toll.
The former Manly premiership-winner said it was fantastic to be able to create such a memory in a big milestone game at his new club.
"I don't think it really kicked in until yesterday when we got down here and it was all sort of coming around, the messages and things like that [about the 300th game]," Watmough told NRL.com after the game.
"I said to the boys, to do that here [at Parramatta], after spending so long at Manly and having a great career there, having to leave and come here and do that, build my first real memory here was pretty special."

Watmough is renowned for playing through injury over a long career, but on a night when fullback Reece Robinson (fractured cheek), hooker Nathan Peats (knee) and reserve hooker Kaysa Pritchard (pec) finished the match in the casualty ward, Watmough himself was disappointed to be taken off due to a shoulder injury that left his arm numb and unable to tackle effectively.
"Yeah, durability, the body gave out tonight!" Watmough laughed at his supposed tag as one of the game's iron men.
"It's just the game that we love playing and I've been lucky enough to play as many as I have. As long as the body is holding up and I'm continuing to play good footy then I'll continue to play. It's what we do. We love it. Whether you're playing pain free or playing with pain, you try and do your job properly.
"I'll be sweet [after the bye], my arm just sort of gave out and went limp and I was just a passenger there for a good 15 minutes of that second half and I thought you know what, it's getting a bit too close, I don't want to risk missing a tackle leading to a try so I thought better to get off.
"The doctor said look, we'll get it scanned on Wednesday when we get back and worry about it then. [It's the] shoulder, so I don't know what it is yet, we'll get it scanned on Wednesday and go from there."
Watmough conceded the bye had probably come at a good time for himself and his injury-ravaged team.
"You saw after 10 minutes we were two players down and by the end of the game we had no reserves and to finish the way we did was pretty special," he said.
"It goes to show what we've been building and what we've learned over the close losses we've had over the last few weeks and the boys really dug in and gutsed it out. That's what we're trying to build, it was really strong tonight from the boys."
With both halves Chris Sandow and Corey Norman spending time at fullback, and both hookers suffering injuries at different times and finishing the night off the field, Watmough said it got chaotic with players unsure who was even playing what position at times.
"We didn't know who was playing where or what was going on! But we knew if we ran hard and tackled hard we could get away with a victory and we did," he said.
"It's a credit to the young kids that have learned a tough lesson over the last six weeks of getting close but getting no cigar, and to get away with the two points is massive for them and for the club. For me personally it was massive and I couldn't thank the boys enough at the end of the game to get a good memory to win in my 300th game and to win the way we did was very, very special."
Young back-rower Tepai Moeroa charged over for what proved to be the match-winning try in the 76th minute but the jittery Eels still managed to keep the Storm in it with two late handling errors. Melbourne centre Mahe Fonua was narrowly denied an equalising try in the dying moments when the video ref confirmed he hadn't quite maintained control of the ball when attempting to score from dummy half.
In amongst it, the Eels came up with some cracking try-saving plays on their own line.
"A few weeks ago we would have missed them or we would have made the wrong decision," Watmough said of the last-ditch efforts.
"It's a credit to how hard we work on and off the field and what they do and how we protected one another.
"I was confident the whole time, I had all the faith in the boys. I know we work hard, we train hard, I knew if we could just get some ball we could score again, we hit big Teps short and luckily he went over and mate it was a great try."
With a bye next week the win helps earn the team four competition points in two weeks and Watmough hoped it would be the start of a run of results.
"We wanted to start our run a bit earlier in the year but we're building and it was great to get the victory . We were scrappy but we'll take the two points," he said.
http://www.nrl.com/watmough-praises-teammates-for-win-in-300th/tabid/10874/newsid/87105/default.aspx

Melbourne gained an advantage from an off-side player who was within the 10 metres.

That's not what the rule says. You can't gain an advantage while offside.

14.2 says you cannot encroach on a bloke waiting for the ball, and you must retire 10 metres from the bloke who first secures possession .

"14. 2 An offside player shall not take any part in the game or attempt to influence the course of the game in any way to influence the course of the game. He shall not encroach within ten metres of an opponent who is waiting for the ball and shall Retire ten metres immediately retire ten metres from any opponent who first secures possession of the ball.

Placed onside 3. An offside player is placed onside if:
(a) an opponent moves ten metres or more with the
ball.
(b) an opponent touches the ball without retaining it."

As long as the temporarily offside player did not do anything 'active' to gain an advantage (influence the course of the game) while offside (e.g. push a defender out of the road, try to jump on the ball), he's ok. He's not encroaching on a bloke 'waiting for the ball' in this circumstance, and he doesn't have to retire 10 metres back until a defender secures possession. From my recollection of what happened, looks like the right call to me.

EDIT: just watched it again. Harris does nothing to take an advantage while he's offside....he's just sliding along the ground...and doesn't attempt to interfere with play prior to the ball hitting Folau. Correct call.

IFR33K

Accidental offside Barry. He could of put the eels player in two minds just with his presence. Seen that called offside many times before.

There's no way in hell that Folau had time to be put off by anything. The ball was kicked directly into him. Harris is off to Folau's side sliding along the ground at the time the ball is kicked into Folau. Folau is not looking at him. He does not interfere with play during the split second while he's offside. It's not the same as other cases where people go downtown after a bomb and put pressure on a bloke waiting for a kick even if they don't attempt a tackle or to take the ball.

Joely01

I was trying to find out what the actual rule was. In between my last post and this one, Baz posted the rule, which confirmed it was a correct ruling.

How's it a correct ruling? The guy was inside the 10m when the ball was kicked....

Joely01

Which bit of the rule says that's illegal Joely?

He was part of the play while offside. Even for that split second he was part of the play.

The rules can say whatever technicality it likes, but at the end of the day it was offside and shouldn't have been a try. But hey, it's only parramatta so we won't here anything else about it and let's all praise what a great call it was.

Good to see Bellamy having a sook. How can he complain when Semi was hit high scoring, we had a fair try disallowed (Storm claiming obstruction), they scored off an offside play etc etc.?

bellamy with the cranky face on is always good value :D

i do agree with him on the refs being forced to call try/no try when going to the video if they didn't see it why should they have to guess? especially when the video refs don't have the balls to overrule them 99% of the time

IFR33K

There's no way in hell that Folau had time to be put off by anything. The ball was kicked directly into him. Harris is off to Folau's side sliding along the ground at the time the ball is kicked into Folau. Folau is not looking at him. He does not interfere with play during the split second while he's offside. It's not the same as other cases where people go downtown after a bomb and put pressure on a bloke waiting for a kick even if they don't attempt a tackle or to take the ball.

That's fine. Falau then doesn't play at the ball if it's kicked into him and deflects off a storm player. Still accidental off side