Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bennett to be axed.

ouryears

Bennett said that he doesn't want to go and coach in England. He also said that he does want to continue to coach in the NRL next season and that there are already offers on the table?

Parra need him.
Manly might.
Cowboys need him.
We could use him.
Dogs need him but won't.

Parra challenge would be good for Wayne. Or us.

Parra need him.
Manly might.
Cowboys need him.
We could use him.
Dogs need him but won't.

With the squad we have now, the potential reduction in debt the 50% sale, we would have a good chance of signing Bennett. But these are not the only stumbling blocks. We would have to dismantle our current structure and have Millward report to Bennett and we would probably need to let Bennett pick his coaching staff.

So, if the above could all be arranged, we would be in with a chance to sign Bennett. Given the current NRL squad we currently have and given the young guns coming through, I recon that Bennett and JD would bring us a GF win in 2019 and properly develop our young guns. Who knows maybe we would win both ISP and NRL GF's in 2019.

ouryears

With the squad we have now, the potential reduction in debt the 50% sale, we would have a good chance of signing Bennett. But these are not the only stumbling blocks. We would have to dismantle our current structure and have Millward report to Bennett and we would probably need to let Bennett pick his coaching staff.

So, if the above could all be arranged, we would be in with a chance to sign Bennett. Given the current NRL squad we currently have and given the young guns coming through, I recon that Bennett and JD would bring us a GF win in 2019 and properly develop our young guns. Who knows maybe we would win both ISP and NRL GF's in 2019.
Great post possum.

And yes, Wayne would definitely be choosing his own coaching team.

If that happened, 2019 we would be untouchable.

Please Broncos.....sack Wayne!

PS.
(Broncos must be run by dumb shits)

ouryears

If your chasing a new coach you would be throwing your cheque book at Bellamy. Love him or hate him he has proven year after year that he can keep a team consistently in the top eight or even top four and this is with players coming and going. Maybe leaving in their boats but that’s who I would be chasing.
No.
Bellamy isn't fit to walk on our hallowed turf.

We have a no dick head policy remember!

BennyV

I hardly think he made them into what they became.

Without Smith the grub... Bellyache only wins 33 per cent of games.

I think that says it all.

Before claiming great coaching status, he needs to coach another team to success....I doubt he can.

Didn't work out at SOO level.
Yeah, nah. Bellamy has already proven to be a great coach. There no argument about, despite your strange, bitter ramblings.

I assume that right now our club does not have the reported 1.6m a year to buy Bellyache.

ouryears

You can debate that with your personal based comments towards me .....or you can debate my very unstrange comments which are:

A. Bellamy was part of a planned rort of the salary cap for years, robbing other teams of premierships.

B. Bellamy created the style of play including Sumo wrestling, head locks, twisting legs, 5 in every tackle, chicken wings, Canonball tackles...and slaters kicking his leg out when jumping for the ball.

All condoned by Bellamy.

C. Without Smith, he wins 33 per cent of games.

D. He coached NSW to series losses. Yes, the NSW coach also takes responsibility.

E. In a one team town, with multi millions at his disposal, and rorting the cap by millions for years, he still has not won lots of premierships.....With what he has had at his disposal I would expect at least 3 premierships in a row.

AND YOU WANT THIS SORT OF MAN AT OUR CLUB?
Really?

So the no dickhead policy should be scrapped?

You sound like a person defending hollywoods Larry Weinstein, looking at people's achievements, rather than their behaviour.

Maintaining a good culture and protecting your brand is far more important than recruiting a coach you say is God.

BennyV

You can debate that with your personal based comments towards me .....or you can debate my very unstrange comments which are:
Oh, gladly! I'm very much going to enjoy the squirming, salty attempt at downplaying his achievements in your rambling reply!
A. Bellamy was part of a planned rort of the salary cap for years, robbing other teams of premierships.
True. But that does not have any effect on his ability as a coach. So irrelevant.
B. Bellamy created the style of play including Sumo wrestling, head locks, twisting legs, 5 in every tackle, chicken wings, Canonball tackles...and slaters kicking his leg out when jumping for the ball.

All condoned by Bellamy.
Yep - he found methods to nullify opposition by slowing down the ruck, all within the rules of the game. Dirty and hard to watch? For sure; well, at least for everyone but Storm fans. The guys will do what is necessary to win; I would love for someone within our club to strive for success like that.
C. Without Smith, he wins 33 per cent of games.
Well done, you've noted the impact of short-term loss of the most influential player in the history of the game. You're astute rugby league knowledge shines through again. You simply cannot replace Cameron Smith short term, no coach could do that. He has, however, got obvious plans in place for when Smith hang up the boots.
D. He coached NSW to series losses. Yes, the NSW coach also takes responsibility.
By this logic we should be chasing Mal Meninga. Bellamy had little-to-no input in the squad he had, and coaching teams for 3 games is different to sustaining success for a whole year (or in Bellamy's case, many, many years).
E. In a one team town, with multi millions at his disposal, and rorting the cap by millions for years, he still has not won lots of premierships.....With what he has had at his disposal I would expect at least 3 premierships in a row.
Yeah, by this logic there is no good coaches in the league. Winning premierships in a row simply isnt a thing any more. Since he started coaching, he's appeared in more GFs matches than any other coach and only Hasler and Bennet equals his premierships in that time. He's also missed the finals only once since his debut year (when his team was rightfully stripped of points). No other coach can boast that.
AND YOU WANT THIS SORT OF MAN AT OUR CLUB?
Really?
Yes. Because he's the best and I want to win.
So the no dickhead policy should be scrapped?
Lol what no dickhead policy?! We've employed players who've been sacked by other clubs. We've employed players straight out of prison. Hell, our own coach was recently done for drink driving! Take off the rose-coloured glasses, we dont have a no-dickhead policy.
You sound like a person defending hollywoods Larry Weinstein, looking at people's achievements, rather than their behaviour.
Yeah, imagine judging how good someone is at their job based on their achievements in that job. Such silliness. Much better to judge them on their ability to paint the gym!
Maintaining a good culture and protecting your brand is far more important than recruiting a coach you say is God.
You mean the sort of culture that allows you to make a GF after losing the #1 fullback in the game for a season? The type of culture that takes players like Brian Norrie, Cheyse Blair and Ryan Hinchcliff and turns them into world beaters? The type of culture that is only satisfied with success, not just 'trying hard'? I agree, that is important.

And I didnt call him God, so dont put words on my keyboard. But he is the top coach in the game over the last decade. Trust me, I hate the guy as a person but he is a brilliant coach and it's hilarious that your bitter, salty hate towards Melbourne clouds obvious facts from your vision.

Saint_JimmyG

So when McGregor was preferred over Demetriou "a couple of years ago" how much first grade experience did McGregor have?
Bush coaching and a couple of ordinary years coaching reserve grade?
Demetriou actually has nothing to prove - he has an impressive coaching record and just hasn't been given a chance in FG.
I would have him at St. George based on his back to back ISP premierships - one he won with the Cutters.
The style of entertaining football he played that year which was a joy to watch.
His technical ability as a coach - also on display supporting Bennett.
I mean if you can't see his ability then you are not looking close enough.
Siebold is an examples of a good young coach who was given a chance at Souths and has done very well.
We should have given Demetriou a chance.
"Fawning" + "Hysterical" = over exaggeration my friend.

Why does your post seem redolent of a bloke named Price?

Old Kogarah Boy 1

Parra need him.
Manly might.
Cowboys need him.
We could use him.
Dogs need him but won't.

Agreed OY’s ..... Parra would really tell us whether he can coach an average team or whether his glory is restricted to star teams.

I would like to see him have a crack at them.

Frank Facer

You need to look into the full story mate. This prick not only assaulted a guy but terrorised a young woman and her kid. Not to mention he regularly beat up his girlfriend. Fact, as reported recently. Packer's charges were nothing like this and yet he did his time. Totally disagree with you on this one ouryears. Did no time and paid no compensation to the traumatised family. Yet he gets a second chance in footy. Go figure!
And Packer is a Kiwi. lol

Frank Facer

The difference here is six premierships.
The difference is that Bennett won 5 of those premierships with a squad of over 9 rep players in ever team. Anyone could have coached those Brisbane teams to win 5 premierships.This year Mary now has a team that will possibly have around 6 to 8 rep players and his team is leading the comp.

ouryears

The difference is that Bennett won 5 of those premierships with a squad of over 9 rep players in ever team. Anyone could have coached those Brisbane teams to win 5 premierships.This year Mary now has a team that will possibly have around 6 to 8 rep players and his team is leading the comp.
For now mate.....for the moment.

Praying it continues.

Based on what you say we should win 5 or 6 premierships, I an going out to buy the bubbles right now!

ouryears

Oh, gladly! I'm very much going to enjoy the squirming, salty attempt at downplaying his achievements in your rambling reply!

True. But that does not have any effect on his ability as a coach. So irrelevant.

Yep - he found methods to nullify opposition by slowing down the ruck, all within the rules of the game. Dirty and hard to watch? For sure; well, at least for everyone but Storm fans. The guys will do what is necessary to win; I would love for someone within our club to strive for success like that.

Well done, you've noted the impact of short-term loss of the most influential player in the history of the game. You're astute rugby league knowledge shines through again. You simply cannot replace Cameron Smith short term, no coach could do that. He has, however, got obvious plans in place for when Smith hang up the boots.

By this logic we should be chasing Mal Meninga. Bellamy had little-to-no input in the squad he had, and coaching teams for 3 games is different to sustaining success for a whole year (or in Bellamy's case, many, many years).

Yeah, by this logic there is no good coaches in the league. Winning premierships in a row simply isnt a thing any more. Since he started coaching, he's appeared in more GFs matches than any other coach and only Hasler and Bennet equals his premierships in that time. He's also missed the finals only once since his debut year (when his team was rightfully stripped of points). No other coach can boast that.

Yes. Because he's the best and I want to win.

Lol what no dickhead policy?! We've employed players who've been sacked by other clubs. We've employed players straight out of prison. Hell, our own coach was recently done for drink driving! Take off the rose-coloured glasses, we dont have a no-dickhead policy.

Yeah, imagine judging how good someone is at their job based on their achievements in that job. Such silliness. Much better to judge them on their ability to paint the gym!

You mean the sort of culture that allows you to make a GF after losing the #1 fullback in the game for a season? The type of culture that takes players like Brian Norrie, Cheyse Blair and Ryan Hinchcliff and turns them into world beaters? The type of culture that is only satisfied with success, not just 'trying hard'? I agree, that is important.

And I didnt call him God, so dont put words on my keyboard. But he is the top coach in the game over the last decade. Trust me, I hate the guy as a person but he is a brilliant coach and it's hilarious that your bitter, salty hate towards Melbourne clouds obvious facts from your vision.
My god.
War and Peace.

My passing comment is you obviously love the biggest rorting coach in the history of the game.....then go follow Melbourne like the other 7,000 people in Australia do.

It's your right to love him, but writing pages and pages of crap says you really detest being challenged or questioned.

So it doesn't matter that he cheated, you say.
Shows your character!

You say him cheating does not diminish his coaching success.

Then you are a fool.

If a coach spends one more million dollars every year than his competitors, of course it gives him a massive advantage across many years!

Are you for real saying an extra million to sign Star players does not help?

FFS, back to school!

You say if any team loses Smith, they would also only win 33 per cent of their games.

Well every other team does not have Smith, and they do not only win 33 per cent of their games!

Your argument is childish and desperate.

If Bellamy was a great coach, losing one player would not see him fall to an appalling 67 per cent loss record.

That's worse than STEVE F###ING PRICE!!

You say we do have dickheads.

Well no we do not!

Exactly who?

Yes, We have signed players who were PREVIOUSLY dick heads... but they stopped being dick heads once they were in our team.

Bellamy is a dick head, the difference is he is THE boss, there will be no one to stop him being a dick head, he will screw our culture.

Players we recruit are pulled into line, Bellamy won't be pulled into line.

If you cannot see the difference, I suggest you need to go back to school.

Debating with you is like discussing things with Pauline Hanson or Trump.

So....for a while I will put you on ignore as I feel embarrassed for you. And I don't want to make you answer back and forth as your answers really do suck.

Now, go and get a quote to relocate to Melbourne....or will it be Brisbane next for Belly?

BalmainBoy_1969

Bellyache should never be allowed to wear Red and White (or the famous Black and Gold) even in private!

He is not worthy!

I realise that this is an old fashioned notion, but sometimes, it's not all about whether you win or loose, but how you play the game.

So please, let him go to England next year and ruin their spectacle!