Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd7: Parramatta v Knights LIVE GAME DAY thread 28th April 2019

I disagree, we needed points if he catches it like you said he gets tackled. In hindsight that was the better option but if it goes back off him and we get it and score it’s a 2 point ball game assuming we convert.

Is that a higher percentage play than catching it and looking for an offload, do you reckon?

We are missing the Browns, big time, imo...

Dylan for his playmaking; Nathan for his aggression, and attitude in defense.

Kornstar

Mahoney was gassed. Simple as that. Call it whatever words you like...

We never beat Newcastle. Forget it and move on. Last year or in like 2013 we lose that 54-8 or something

That's cool and all to say we never beat Newcastle and it is true but whether it is Mahoney being gassed or we defended heaps or x player just had an off day or we were still on a high from last week, the fact is that this is what we do year in year out and it is f**king frustrating!

In isolation awesome, we suck against the Knights (or Canberra for that matter too) and we can always chalk it down to a loss but the issue is that these losses are the exact reason we haven't won a grand final in 30+ years.

It was the same reason Souths hadn't won in 30+ years too, until they cleaned out all the absolute deadwood inside and out and built a club that took no prisoners and what was the result?

We have too many losers in and around the club who have been along for the entire ride after the 80's and into the 90's up until now.

Even the boys on the Matty Johns show saying that hopefully for them they signed before this game.

You can point at individual moments all you like but we lost that in the first 30mins. We had no urgency and Fergo was obviously not ready.

Alvaro was a massive out.

Terepo isn't in the same league at all.

We really missed the work Alvaro does to help control the ruck...in hindsight Mannah should have started, but he's been so good off the bench you can understand why he didn't. That probably was the ultimate thing that lost the game in many ways. If we're doing even half that stuff around the ruck and hanging within eight or ten of Newcastle we probably come over the top of them. A 20 point deficit is too tough.

Dibs

Is that a higher percentage play than catching it and looking for an offload, do you reckon?
He would have wrapped up as soon as he caught it and I didn’t think anyone was there to offload it to. I could be wrong about that. I just remember thinking i hope he doesn’t try to catch it because it would just be a change over. Funny that you didn’t mention the chance to offload before and said it would have been a handover. Oh and are you channeling chipmunk now with condescending questions rather than just expressing your opinion?

That's cool and all to say we never beat Newcastle and it is true but whether it is Mahoney being gassed or we defended heaps or x player just had an off day or we were still on a high from last week, the fact is that this is what we do year in year out and it is f**king frustrating!

In isolation awesome, we suck against the Knights (or Canberra for that matter too) and we can always chalk it down to a loss but the issue is that these losses are the exact reason we haven't won a grand final in 30+ years.

It was the same reason Souths hadn't won in 30+ years too, until they cleaned out all the absolute deadwood inside and out and built a club that took no prisoners and what was the result?

We have too many losers in and around the club who have been along for the entire ride after the 80's and into the 90's up until now.

Excellent post

It's the continual acceptance of mediocrity within our club from fans to the top keeping this club from reaching our potential

No one should be making excuses

No one should be saying 'but we always play like this against Newcastle, let's just move on'

That is a pathetic excuse!

IFR33K

Mahoney was gassed. Simple as that. Call it whatever words you like...

We never beat Newcastle. Forget it and move on. Last year or in like 2013 we lose that 54-8 or something

Maybe BA should use that in the presser or better still for the players next year.

Kornstar

I know Brown is injured but what does Salmon offer?

The problem is that he is ok when we aren't getting dominated and the opposition is garbage (like last week) but when we are in any kind of competition all he does is put a ridiculous amount of pressure on Moses who is our only kicking and playmaking option.

So all he really offers if for the fans to turn on Moses because he has to play 2 roles.

Don't get me wrong, i like him as a player but centre of utility are ok for him, starting half, not so much.......

Mate we have won 11 games against Newcastle this millennium. 11 games in 19 years!

Which deadwood do you suppose is even still here that has lead to this?

Sometimes, a hoodoo exists for a reason. I couldn't tell you why this one does, but I think calling out deadwood in the club or whatever is completely off the mark. Some of these players were in nappies and we still couldn't beat Newcastle.

Snoochies

Sorry I saw this coming this week because I know this team is as weak as f**k. Was hoping they’d prove me wrong but all it did was just confirm a few things.

Mentally f**king weak. I’m glad they are holding off the contracts.
You put a bet on?

He would have wrapped up as soon as he caught it and I didn’t think anyone was there to offload it to. I could be wrong about that. I just remember thinking i hope he doesn’t try to catch it because it would just be a change over. Funny that you didn’t mention the chance to offload before and said it would have been a handover. Oh and are you channeling chipmunk now with condescending questions rather than just expressing your opinion?

Lol. Settle, Lou-Anne. I've expressed my opinion, and asked you a question.

I said that even if Tepai died with the ball, it would be a handover on their 35m line or whatever. I could, equally, say that it's funny you originally said fair point and then continued to argue against it.

I can't believe anyone would even argue that he shouldn't have caught it, but hey, Moses is the more convenient target I suppose. You do you, I'm not here to change your mind even if you're wrong.