What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Perth Red

Post Whore
Most of the time that a city declines to bid for hosting rights, particularly of the Women's World Cup, is because of FIFA's minimum standards to be eligible to host matches, and not because they don't want to support the event over all.

FIFA requires host cities to meet minimum standards to be eligible to host matches, and those minimum standards are different depending on what stage of the tournament you want to host.

I'm not an expert on this so I might get some facts wrong on what the minimum standards are, but they don't only pertain to the stadium, that has to have x amount of seats, facilities, etc, but the cities themselves have to meet minimum standards as well.
For example the city has to have x amount of 5 star and/or 4 star hotels with x amount of rooms available, x amount of training facilities that meet certain standards, a minimum standard of public transport, etc, etc.

More often than not what's happened when a city passes on hosting a WC game is that the city, not the stadium, doesn't meet the minimum standards, and they can't or won't make the changes, often very expensive changes mind you, necessary to be eligible.

Can't say I really blame them either, I mean is spending potentially hundreds of millions not only on the stadium, but hundreds of millions on top of that on things like public transport and hotels that you won't need after the event, really worth it to most cities just for a couple pool matches in the Women's World Cup? Probably not right.

On top of that, the bid is a joint bid with NZ, and there're probably requirements on how many games need to be held in each country.