Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Regardless of their position on the ladder, the following teams we've had difficulty in beating on a consistent basis. Often losing to them despite their lowly position:
Cowboys
Titans
Sharks
Knights
Raiders
and Roosters and Storm.

Well considering that we have lost against Manly Roosters, St George and Bunnies this year, I'd say that the hoodoo is dead.

We lead the Roosters this year and gave them a massive scare. Indeed they only got us in the end when Jenkovic was sin-binned (Cordner, Toupo scored) and Flanno kicked 2 penalty goals in a 16 point turn around.

Glenneel

Well considering that we have lost against Manly Roosters, St George and Bunnies this year, I'd say that the hoodoo is dead.

We lead the Roosters this year and gave them a massive scare. Indeed they only got us in the end when Jenkovic was sin-binned (Cordner, Toupo scored) and Flanno kicked 2 penalty goals in a 16 point turn around.
But did we win? Our history with those teams creates a bogey team, not what happens over just one year.

TheRam

I just watched the Matty Johns podcast Show on FOX and wow how good was it? The topic was on player combinations over the years and then they started to break down all the aspects that made them great and so forth.

But it got really good when Matthew started to explain different plays and combinations that they would use. It summed up all the things I have been saying about our team Parra and the lack of purpose or combinations between our Halves and back rowers in particular.

I fear for Dillon Brown's overall education of the game. He has a way to nonchalant and casual approach to the game and would be one of these young kids that once training is done would head off and basically shut the game out and do other things. Obviously every player needs to do this to some extent, but if you listen to Johns speak, he and Joey spent a lifetime living and breathing the game and then when they went to the Knights, they were subjected to constant coaching tuition even when they didn't want it. But years on it finally all made sense and proved invaluable for their development and ability to read and understand the game.

This is why when you watch both Brown and Moses, they both look like they have all the skills in the world, but have no understanding of how and when to use them correctly. Moses to me in particular is almost a lost cause and will unfortunately never truly fulfill his full potential. D. Brown still has a chance if we can get the right person/people around him long enough to constantly hound him and show him the art of truly great play making.

I would love for our club to piss off Joey and hire Matty as one of our assistant coaches. The guy in my opinion is a better annalist and teacher then Joey. But we definitely need someone that really knows his sh*t, old school, to grab these guys and drum into them all the ins and outs and nuances of play making.

A couple of hours here and there a week is not good enough. I am talking about total entrenchment to the point of overload. Our boys are so off the pace as to what they should be doing it is ridiculous. They need to live and breath footy for the next 2-3 years at least so play making becomes a very instinctive and natural thing.

If you guys haven't seen the podcast I strongly recommend you watch it. Joey explains everything that Parra is not and where all our issues stem from. Brilliant episode. A must see.

Incorrect

I just watched the Matty Johns podcast Show on FOX and wow how good was it? The topic was on player combinations over the years and then they started to break down all the aspects that made them great and so forth.

But it got really good when Matthew started to explain different plays and combinations that they would use. It summed up all the things I have been saying about our team Parra and the lack of purpose or combinations between our Halves and back rowers in particular.

I fear for Dillon Brown's overall education of the game. He has a way to nonchalant and casual approach to the game and would be one of these young kids that once training is done would head off and basically shut the game out and do other things. Obviously every player needs to do this to some extent, but if you listen to Johns speak, he and Joey spent a lifetime living and breathing the game and then when they went to the Knights, they were subjected to constant coaching tuition even when they didn't want it. But years on it finally all made sense and proved invaluable for their development and ability to read and understand the game.

This is why when you watch both Brown and Moses, they both look like they have all the skills in the world, but have no understanding of how and when to use them correctly. Moses to me in particular is almost a lost cause and will unfortunately never truly fulfill his full potential. D. Brown still has a chance if we can get the right person/people around him long enough to constantly hound him and show him the art of truly great play making.

I would love for our club to piss off Joey and hire Matty as one of our assistant coaches. The guy in my opinion is a better annalist and teacher then Joey. But we definitely need someone that really knows his sh*t, old school, to grab these guys and drum into them all the ins and outs and nuances of play making.

A couple of hours here and there a week is not good enough. I am talking about total entrenchment to the point of overload. Our boys are so off the pace as to what they should be doing it is ridiculous. They need to live and breath footy for the next 2-3 years at least so play making becomes a very instinctive and natural thing.

If you guys haven't seen the podcast I strongly recommend you watch it. Joey explains everything that Parra is not and where all our issues stem from. Brilliant episode. A must see.

I fear for your spelling!!

But to the subject at hand - did you ever see Brett Kenny play and general demeanour? Any more casual and he would have been in a coma. But always class class class. Horses for courses mate, not everyone needs to necessarily train 4 hours a day to get the best out of themselves...

TheRam

I fear for your spelling!!

But to the subject at hand - did you ever see Brett Kenny play and general demeanour? Any more casual and he would have been in a coma. But always class class class. Horses for courses mate, not everyone needs to necessarily train 4 hours a day to get the best out of themselves...

If he was showing the the same aptitude for the game as Bert I would agree. But he has made to many wrong decisions to be ignored. Bert rarely ever did. I know he is only a babe, but that is why he needs the right mentoring NOW. Bert had great experienced players and coaches around him when he was coming through even in the lower grades. Hell Beetson was playing reserve grade ffs.

Who have we got at the club that you would consider a great teacher?

Don't fear for my spelling mate. I have know problem with it.

parra pete

If he was showing the the same aptitude for the game as Bert I would agree. But he has made to many wrong decisions to be ignored. Bert rarely ever did. I know he is only a babe, but that is why he needs the right mentoring NOW. Bert had great experienced players and coaches around him when he was coming through even in the lower grades. Hell Beetson was playing reserve grade ffs.

My grand daughter (7) is a great speller too!..
I asked her how she would spell WINX when the mare was in work ---and she replied "Put her in a paddock for six weeks"

Does he actually talk abut Parra or does he talk about all this other stuff and your shit analysis is that it relates to Parra?

Joshuatheeel

If we are listening to Matty John podcasts maybe also listen to the one where he talks about a rookie half in his first 50 games is just trying to “survive” and basically expect not much from them.

Drown has had just over 30 games and recently turned 20 and he is already elite level as a defensive half and already runs the ball, willing to take a hit (biggest issue with most halves). He kicks ok and short passing game is decent (Not great but developing).

Drowns doesn’t get to his current level at 20 by not taking a keen interest in his development.

Then listen to Matty Johns talk about a half taking 100 games to actually to feel comfortable playing NRL.

Then listen to him mention it took Thurston 200 or so games to become a really elite half

anyhow gee some expect Drown to perform f**ken miracles at 20!!!!

Joshuatheeel

Bert was a terrible trainer....Drown trains hard and pushes himself to passing out levels (At bloody 18!!!!)......not bad for a kid taking it easy ....

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...season/video/90334c7f1218f7545e5f3605fccec054

Chipmunk

If we are listening to Matty John podcasts maybe also listen to the one where he talks about a rookie half in his first 50 games is just trying to “survive” and basically expect not much from them.

Drown has had just over 30 games and recently turned 20 and he is already elite level as a defensive half and already runs the ball, willing to take a hit (biggest issue with most halves). He kicks ok and short passing game is decent (Not great but developing).

Drowns doesn’t get to his current level at 20 by not taking a keen interest in your development.

Then listen to Matty Johns talk about a half taking 100 games to actually to feel comfortable playing NRL.

Then listen to him mention it took Thurston 200 or so games to become a really elite half

anyhow gee some expect Drown to perform f**ken miracles at 20!!!!

I'd probably agree, doesn't help that Mahoney has played about the same amount of games as well.

Both players are at least 4 years away from where we need them to be.

Joshuatheeel

I'd probably agree, doesn't help that Mahoney has played about the same amount of games as well.

Both players are at least 4 years away from where we need them to be.

ah yes, and that’s the whole point of us needing to consistently make the finals over the next few years......build experience, then with some luck we go all the way....

Chipmunk

ah yes, and that’s the whole point of us needing to consistently make the finals over the next few years......build experience, then with some luck we go all the way....

If we're going to stick with both and build around them, then we need to provide them with some assistance to get to that point. That's going to mean we're going to have take some tough decisions on some others in the squad.

And if that's the plan then the club needs to come out and say that.

In my opinion, I can't fault Dylan Brown's application to the game; they say defence is about technique, and attitude, and I believe he is one of the best (if not the best) defensive halves going around - which shows me that he trains pretty well.

But I've always liked the kid - he always had "star" written all over him.

Joshuatheeel

If we're going to stick with both and build around them, then we need to provide them with some assistance to get to that point. That's going to mean we're going to have take some tough decisions on some others in the squad.

And if that's the plan then the club needs to come out and say that.

Why would our club announcing anything? I reckon signing drown / Mahoney to 3 year deals and getting Johns as a specialist halves coach indicates that is our plans and we are going to put resources into their development....

Joshuatheeel

In my opinion, I can't fault Dylan Brown's application to the game; they say defence is about technique, and attitude, and I believe he is one of the best (if not the best) defensive halves going around - which shows me that he trains pretty well.

But I've always liked the kid - he always had "star" written all over him.

his chase in the storms final and run against Souths (With a stuffed Ankle) shows his determination and attitude ..... it’s as good as it gets