Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The big NRL divide

gerg

Where told we have a fair an equal comp the salary cap has made it so, but we know this is bullshit, can’t we all see what we have here is the haves and have nots

The last rugby league personality that regularly insisted we had a fair and even comp (from what I can remember) was David Gallop and that was a decade ago.

The sides that are at the top of the comp would be at the top regardless of the changes to the rules.

That's not what I'm saying. Just pointing out you can't undermine the salary cap with dispensations for some based on geographic advantage. Also it gets complicated, how young can the chooks buy the kids and then claim 'development'?
they get no dispensation til they make the top 25 , & even then only after they play NRL & maybe even then only on their 2nd contract when part of the top 25

so it doesn't matter how young or who
they're not included until the club has put in the work to turn them into an NRL player

roofromoz

I'm so tired of people blaming the NRL or the rules for the ineptitude of certain teams performances. This takes away the accountability of those clubs who have no real excuse for being so bad. What I am saying is that Brisbane, Canterbury, North Qld and Manly only have themselves to blame for being THIS bad. Their recruitment, retention and coaching etc has all regressed to a level it never should have and that is of their own doing.

Also, it's a bit rich Brisbane, Manly or Canterbury fans seeking sympathy or blaming external factors for poor results. Those three clubs throughout much of their history have been traditional heavy weights, regularly winning comps and making finals series and the Cowboys also had a very strong period in the 2010's when Thurston was running the show. The fact they have declined to the point where they are now is partly just the cyclical nature of sport (finally catching up with the Broncos!) but also their own doing.

My club has a consistent winning footy side now and we are a young squad too (cough*cough Broncos) but we're making good decisions with recruitment and retention and have the right coaching and training systems. It hadn't been like that for most of our history. I'm not going to feel sorry for the poor old Broncos, Dogs and Manly because the NeW RuLeS ArE mAkiNg ThEm WoRsE...

Agreed. With the exception of 2010, there were some lean and bad years for Penrith after 2004 up until 2014. For many of Gus' faults (like the array of ultimately broken 5 year contracts) he did leave some great systems in place and now reaping the rewards, and hopefully the Panthers will be a consistent top 8 team for many years to come.

Yep,the new rules have widened the gap no doubt. RL is an u forgiving game and like at international level a small difference in quality leads to big difference in score lines. The new rules are obviously favouring the better teams, if it’s a good or bad thing for the game time will tell, no one likes to see 5 of the 8 games blow out every week.

they get no dispensation til they make the top 25 , & even then only after they play NRL & maybe even then only on their 2nd contract when part of the top 25

they're not included until the club has put in the work to turn them into an NRL player

youre just creating a new inequity biased towards clubs with lots of pokies and large populations of RL heartland. Wouldn’t be a panthers fan by chance? Lol

franklin2323

Yep,the new rules have widened the gap no doubt. RL is an u forgiving game and like at international level a small difference in quality leads to big difference in score lines. The new rules are obviously favouring the better teams, if it’s a good or bad thing for the game time will tell, no one likes to see 5 of the 8 games blow out every week.

The next couple of weeks not many look like easy to tip

Define turn them in to an NRL player.

We are debuting Sam Walker tonight. Does he count even though objectively the broncos system developed him until June 2019?

On the flip side what about someone like SST who played a single game at the warriors and was unwanted. Would we get no such dispensation for him despite developing him in to a regular first grader and international?

Munky

In commentary they mentioned that TPJ can only carry the ball in one hand and he is considered a dynamic ball runner.

Fifteen years ago I remember Brad Meyers (who became pretty maligned) scoring a try against the roosters by stepping a player, fending another then swapping the ball to the other hand to fend off the full back.

The fact that current star players can't do the same is insane.

Surely this stuff should be coached into every player in a development system.

The_Frog

Agreed. With the exception of 2010, there were some lean and bad years for Penrith after 2004 up until 2014. For many of Gus' faults (like the array of ultimately broken 5 year contracts) he did leave some great systems in place and now reaping the rewards, and hopefully the Panthers will be a consistent top 8 team for many years to come.
The current regime at Penrith have a hard nose that hasn't been there before, even under Gus. And we've got lucky with an exceptional crop of juniors coming through at one time. Pretty much the side that won the under 20s in 2015 is the core of the side with 91% win rate since the start of last season. But you have to put yourself in a position to get lucky like this.To win the lottery you have to buy a ticket.

youre just creating a new inequity biased towards clubs with lots of pokies and large populations of RL heartland. Wouldn’t be a panthers fan by chance? Lol
no I wouldn't be

And how
If a club puts 5 years or more of hard work & $$ into turning a kid into an NRL player , only to have all that work undone by that player being poached by another club, then why would anyone bother developing anyone. Just wait around til youve got some space in the cap & pinch someone elses developed player. That alone is one of the biggest bug bears for fans of modern sport these days
if your investment & hard work is protected then all clubs will go down that path to invest in development. We will see good players staying at one club longer , we won't have fans disillusioned that their rising star is poached away.
Population shouldn't come into it , thered be rules around the size of squads & number of players you can develop. Meaning young players are spread out amongst the clubs as is the case now. Sure some development programs will be better then others , but thats the essence of life .. nothing can ever be completely equal.
Good talent scouts , good development squad coaches , good support networks for young lads uprooted from their homes & moved interstate etc.

anyway
you're wrong, it needs to happen

siv

There are two issues

1 - you have group of very good youngsters in U16s & U18s

You want to keep them together so they evolve into U20 then RG then FG

We need something that highlights their junior club in the district and they have played junior reps U16, U18, U20 and RG through to NRL

The current system addresses the over supply situation

Also happy to include one regional district in the model per NRL club for non merged clubs. But Easts could claim Norths but not the CC

2 - a long serving player being forced out of club due to the limited squad size

typicalfan

Given one the biggest leg ups the amount of money thrown at them to be successfull has wortked...
I'm probably using this example as a double example both about the Storm and the Tigers, sometimes you can't protect clubs from themselves.

Define turn them in to an NRL player.

We are debuting Sam Walker tonight. Does he count even though objectively the broncos system developed him until June 2019?

On the flip side what about someone like SST who played a single game at the warriors and was unwanted. Would we get no such dispensation for him despite developing him in to a regular first grader and international?

I said potentially the players 2nd contract in the top 25 if you care to read my post properly. Walker atm wouldn't be eligible for a discount with the roosters until , he signs a 2nd contract. The Roosters would have put about 4 years into him by then.

typicalfan

I said potentially the players 2nd contract in the top 25 if you care to read my post properly. Walker atm wouldn't be eligible for a discount with the roosters until , he signs a 2nd contract. The Roosters would have put about 4 years into him by then.
Sign a guy to one year then sign a contract extension with all the bells and whistles for 3 more years.

There are two issues

1 - you have grouo of very goid youngsters in U16s & U18s

You want to keep them together so they evolve into U20 then RG then FG

We need something that highlights their junior club in the district and they have played junior reps U16, U18, U20 and RG through to NRL

The current system addresses the over supply situation

Also happy to include one regional district in the model per NRL club for non merged clubs. But Easts could claim Norths but not the CC

2 - a long serving player being forced out of club due to the limited squad size

theres lots of ways it could be done
we don't give enough credit & place enough value on the work put into a player to get him to the top. Only to have him whisked away once he is

typicalfan

Given one of the biggest leg ups the amount of money thrown at them to be successfull has wortked...
Probably but their success is based on mainly being better than the Broncos in their own backyard and buying rejects and turning them into stars.