Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd4: 615pm Eels v Dragons GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 3/4/22

I think this game established Mitchell Moses as an elite halfback. He is definitely now on the podium with Cleary and DCE.

Without doubt he has the best long range kicking game I’ve seen and his defence has improved out of sight. Getting rid of that peanut, Norman was a master stroke and allowed him to flourish.
He’s our most important player, he has really matured the last 18 months. The way he handled his contract negotiations and the way he leads this team. I would of made him captain this is his team.

Are we?? You were the one talking down the squad when we were going like shit last year. Now when it suits your argument the squad CAN win a comp.

You love both sides of that street.
That’s always been the argument. We can, but we need things to go our way in the finals against the better teams. No flipping and flopping, just a lack of understanding on your part.

I’m pretty sure when Manly were putting 50 on us it wasn’t a coaching issue the squad was not good enough. Now we are a chance?? I think we’ve always been a chance, luck and coaching smarts are what have held us back in most. I think the Mary and Ennis signings are a step in the right direction.

I don’t agree with that narrative but I agree with the second half of your post.

TheRam

Do you reckon every club didn’t have a good idea how good Tago was well before you did? Banking on him filling Burton’s spot is a gamble, but they can afford a bit more risk than most (if not all).
Penrith will also be relying heavily on the old “homegrown players stay for less” in the near future. We did same with Mahoney.

Mate your responses and statements on this issue are so dumb. For example, Burton is a half. Penrith have two rep halves already playing for them and one of them is currently the best player in the world that has a brilliant relationship with his 5/8th partner. So Burton played centre, because he is like Fitler used to be or Kenny before him and can play both positions, but half is where his future lies.

Therefore need I spell out the rest dumb, dumb? OK I will. What does Burton have to do to get the opportunity to play in his preferred position, which will also give him double the salary if he proves to be a standout player playing there?

Answer for the dummies = Another club.

The Panthers as Hindy has pointed out have only by enlarge lost the lesser players in their squad with the exception of only a couple that are being replaced by new and virtually equal quality players. The sign of a very, very good development club that keeps its best developed players and brings in new ones when needed. And guess what, they won a premiership and are on their way to a Dynasty by holding on to all the best ones that they can fit in.

Also they seem to be able to offer tpa's and have millions in sponsorships including high profile company's which one would say is a little of a surprise considering how they are such a low profile club and small supporter base. Where as we who are the highest profile club in this State and largest supporter base, who reside smack bang in the middle of the second largest CBD in the City/State and even carries its name, seem to struggle to get either. Yes I know we have filled all our sponsor options, but it has taken us a long time to get here and they are hardly high profile names for such a high profile club and tpa's are still a struggle to say the least. Anyway this is a topic for another day.

TheRam

Tahu was the only star from those three. And of course we can sign anyone we want. What matters is how cheap we can get them. What if it had cost $700k for Mahoney, or it costs $1.2M to keep Dylan Brown? Fans would be happy, especially because they will never know how much we paid, but is there actually any benefit?

Morrison was an exceptional player and we lost so much when he left.

yy_cheng

I also don’t get the Gutherson hate. He is only second to Hayne as the best fullback I’ve seen at our club.
Yeah me too but he has to now let Dyl take more of the plays.

What about Brett Hodgson?

I liked Wade McKinnon too but probably not as good as Guth

He loves it, he revels in it. It’s never the clubs fault no matter what. Because they are the coach they are beyond reproach and we should never question anything they do.

The only view of his that is ever constant is the club is always right and us whinger fans need to STFU and accept our club is just mediocre shit. No one should question a player but as soon as they sign elsewhere he can’t wait to bag the shit out of them. He also hates scapegoats but can’t wait to throw a player under the bus to support the coach or to win some really really important argument on the Internet.
Pointing out a player's flaws isn't making them the scapegoat. Merkins are also generally aware that any given player doesn't have much control over the outcome of a match, but they seem to think the coach does, as though each game is won by the coach doing better 'coaching' that day.

How many businesses that we think can stump up considerable TPAs operate out of Parramatta because they love and associate with the area and hence its local footy team?

i think it is so dellussional to think it makes any difference .... any reasonable TPAs are gonna come from rich merkins/associates who actually have a bond with the team, regardless of where their business is located
Yep. Legit businesses wanting to spend on marketing will buy sponsorships not f**ken TPAs.

Are we?? You were the one talking down the squad when we were going like shit last year. Now when it suits your argument the squad CAN win a comp.

You love both sides of that street.
We could've won the comp last year as well. We lost to the premiers by two points ffs. It was anyone's game.

I said we were about a 10% chance of winning. That means we were a 90% chance of not winning. It's simple maffs ffs. So we shouldn't complain when we don't win the comp. There's fifteen teams not winning every year.

TheRam

Why are merkins still f**ken whinging FFS? Didn’t anyone get excited watching how we played on Sunday? This place is laughable sometimes…

Because we have seen this movie many times before. It's not that we don't enjoy it and it has great scenes throughout at times that we can't help but smile and cheer along with, but the ending is a real downer and hard reliving over and over again when the main hero that we all love so much and want to see get the girl of his dreams, gets speared and brutally dismembered and his arch rivals runs off with his former girlfriend and do unspeakable things to her in private and in public too, none the less.

Very cruel and the images and emotions are very hard to un-see and un-feel. We aren't into cuckolding like you and poo seem to be fine with. Sorry, not sorry.

T.S Quint

Forget the option he exercised for season 2023, we should be locking him up long term right now IMO. There's something about the guy....

As if he would sign with us right now.
If he keeps playing like this some club will offer him a million a year by the end of this year. His manager wouldn’t even want to talk to the Eels yet.

emjaycee

How many businesses that we think can stump up considerable TPAs operate out of Parramatta because they love and associate with the area and hence its local footy team?

i think it is so dellussional to think it makes any difference .... any reasonable TPAs are gonna come from rich merkins/associates who actually have a bond with the team, regardless of where their business is located
Actually, I reckon all decent sized TPA's come from larger, national companies who want brand exposure from the player because of the recognisable profile of the player - Slater had a large TPA with the Australian Banana industry and there were billboards all over Melbourne at the time with just Slater's head and a bunch of bananas. Mennings had a TPA with Nike.

()

You have to remember that the player cannot be associated with their NRL club when promoting the TPA partner, can't wear their footy gear, or anything with a logo, etc. so they have to be recognisable in their own right.

Smaller TPA's come from companies who have an owner or key executives with a passion for the team but these are effectively cash giveaways for the TPA provider.

It costs about $25k to be an official player sponsor which get your company logo on the screen when the team is announced and when a player scores, as well as on social media. https://www.parraeels.com.au/corporate/individual-player-sponsorship/

Because we have seen this movie many times before. It's not that we don't enjoy it and it has great scenes throughout at times that we can't help but smile and cheer along with, but the ending is a real downer and hard reliving over and over again when the main hero that we all love so much and want to see get the girl of his dreams, gets speared and brutally dismembered and his arch rivals runs off with his former girlfriend and do unspeakable things to her in private and in public too, none the less.

Very cruel and the images and emotions are very hard to un-see and un-feel. We aren't into cuckolding like you and poo seem to be fine with. Sorry, not sorry.
Maybe some of us realise it’s just a movie and don’t get so emotionally invested.

TheRam

We all know mate.

No one loves mediocrity like Pou does. It's kind of ironic really, how you win gold medals in it all the time. The true all time undefeated super heavy weight mediocre champion of the sports fan world...Poupou Escobar! All Hail King Pou Pou! May he live a long and mediocre life just the way he likes it forever. A true champion of the empty trophy cabinets brigade for all the ages. So lets all hear it the for the fruitless one...Hip hip hooray, Hip hip hooray, Hip hip hooray!