Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023-2028 next tv deal discussion

Chief_Chujo

Will we? Ten/Paramount might throw money but again this goes down to two things:

1. We don’t have a national presence. Posters on here can tell you different but it is a big thing
2. Nine have undersold us for how long. They talk the game down at every opportunity they get. That has a run on effect. If Nine aren’t willing to throw heaps of money at us than Ten won’t have to. I really think it is time (it could/should have been) to create our own content. If media aren’t willing to value our game properly then you need to create competitive tension in some other way.
I guess it will be entirely dependent on ten/paramount getting involved. Nine will pay up if they have to. Who knows what the market looks like 5yrs time as well. Could be a whole new player/s on the scene. Lets look for silver linings lol

Iamback

It’s called competitive tension. You know what you should do rather than just negotiate with your current partners.

The other thing that makes this so bad is that our next deal won’t be very big now either. You can’t sell it to Channel 7 now because they won’t have the money. Pay would also be cash strapped (not that we seem to extract what we are worth in any case). It will Channel 9/Pay and nothing else. We’ll probably sell it to them for $450million and think deal.

So they can't afford cricket yet can pay way overs for a sport half the country watches, 1 game is now on 2 hour delay. If true I can't imagine shareholders would be happy

Colk

So total media rights of $4.5m over 8 years, including $50 mill a year from Telstra. So 7/Fox at $512.5m pa for 24-31 while 9 bid $500m pa over 5 years. Sounds about right

A 14% increase! For no extra content. We give an extra side and we get pretty much nothing

Colk

So they can't afford cricket yet can pay way overs for a sport half the country watches, 1 game is now on 2 hour delay. If true I can't imagine shareholders would be happy

To be fair that’s Channel 7’s problem. The thing is all three FTA networks bid on this. That’s why this has happened.

Chief_Chujo

No we won't. Why do we always say this after every tv rights deal. We are not valuable. Get used to it.

Upgrade surbuban stadiums (maybe) and continue to flog SOO. There is nothing new that the code is doing, let it remain a Sydney focused code.
As I said before. The ratings are on par year to year so the gap could only be made up by the extra game, advertising revenue and subscriber pull. Do you really think that covers the massive gap between deals? The problem the NRL has, and will seemingly forever have, is shit people in charge.

Chief_Chujo

Clearly says in the article 2024-2031 ....

You really think that with 9 openly bidding $500m a year that the existing 7/fox broadcasters are going to bid ~$593m pa or $512.5m pa?
Its a typo. The official release clearly states its a seven yr deal, 2025-31. Nothing about 8yrs or a renegotiated 2024.

Colk

Also they at least put sides in places like Sydney and Brisbane. Sure you are correct that not many people are watching atm but there is an argument that there is a presence there and something to grow.

We haven’t even attempted to grow our game, except Melbourne and NZ. We might have or potential to grow an audience in say WA or SA if we gave it a shot which would in turn provide us with an argument to get more money on the TV table but we are happy to sell ourselves short in that regard. This should be our lesson (that we should have learnt 20 or 30 years ago) you have to try and expand your game.

Jamberoo

The AFL has had a charmed second half of the season, multiple close games with massive crowds and high ratings. If they did this deal six months ago it would be a lot less, Timing is everything. PVL got his very wrong.

eddiesmith

Clearly says in the article 2024-2031 ....

You really think that with 9 openly bidding $500m a year that the existing 7/fox broadcasters are going to bid ~$593m pa or $512.5m pa?

Paramount/Ten bid 6bn over 10 years so yes they had to match that…

Ch9 was third.

Dragonwest

Its a typo. The official release clearly states its a seven yr deal, 2025-31. Nothing about 8yrs or a renegotiated 2024.

No Chief its called sprinkles/purposely miss leading quotes about a deal for 2025-31 and poor headlines from journo's.....

"Seven will pay a 14% increase on the 2024 rights in 2025; with indexation over the term this represents a 3.6% compound annual growth rate in rights fees across the period"

Where is all this other money coming from then to get 4.5b over 7 years?

Colk

This was over at big footy

Can anyone confirm that was said in the conference?

I don’t know. This is just depressing

The only possible solace I can muster is that it might wake people or the game up. Surely nobody can sit here and argue that we shouldn’t try to be a national game or to expand rapidly

Colk

No Chief its called sprinkles/purposely miss leading quotes about a deal for 2025-31 and poor headlines from journo's.....

"Seven will pay a 14% increase on the 2024 rights in 2025; with indexation over the term this represents a 3.6% compound annual growth rate in rights fees across the period"

Where is all this other money coming from then to get 4.5b over 7 years?

Even if it’s not $640m per year it’s still $562.5m. It’s still way more than what we are getting

It is just degrees of being smashed

7 years its 2025-2031....
it clearly says
2024 -31

8 years .... which makes no sense at all
why would they start this new deal in the middle of the extension on the old deal 2023-24

plus
it said Ch 7 increased its payment by just .... 14%
but on which amount
the average of their last deal 2020-24 which was 146 mill pa
or the amount they're paying in 2023-24 which is 192 mill pa

if its the former the amount in this deal is 166.5 mill pa
if its the latter .. its 219 mill pa

take the telstra amount of 50 mill out of the 643 mill pa
you have 593 mill left for the 2 broadcasters

so we're lead to believe that foxtel are now paying as much as .....................
427 mill pa

ahhhhh.......... yea right hahahaha
& there are leprechauns running up burke street mall too

for not much change to the old format & assurances from Ch 7 & foxtel that they would not pay overs for these rights
Ch 7 have increased their payments by up to 50%
& foxtel have increased theirs by up to 90%

I smell aflol accounting here & hidden information on what the 4.5 billion ... actually covers ( length of deal etc ) in spades here