Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Rd 13 2025 - General Non-Warriors Thread

Blair

The post-'pinnacle' hangover is here. Poor us, we're back to run-of-the-mill club footy!

Friday, Dragons v Knights. Ponga may as well back up for Newcastle, as he didn't do much last night. What's his problem? Is there still noise of him abandoning the Knights? As if they need that.

Saturday, the Gold Coast have some sore players but they can't afford a rest. The Storm are in town and Tino has psycho NAS running at him. A tough ask isn't exclusive to Origin.

Up in Townsville the Cowboys have Wests. Adam Doueihi was in Origin camp, training with the best. What secrets did he learn? Back at Brookie, it's a flat DCE with much to prove, and no room to rest, against a Broncos side who had, what, only one Origin player?

Sunday, Souths v Warriors. I hope Latrell's not angry. He's copped a bit of stick for his Origin performance - the penalties, the 'drifting' out of the game - but he defended well, and won. He might be sweet but - and it's a big but - he might be sour on that Nanai hit. If so, expect him to come out seeing seventeen 'Nanais' in front of him. We could be in deep trouble!

The Panthers - with five Origin stars (but coming last, in case we still can't believe it) are at 'home' to Parra. Don't expect a change of dressing-room to fool the Eels, their fans will be there in numbers. With a rousing home win against a tired Penrith on the cards.

We close late on Sunday with the Roosters and Raiders. Just one Origin player for the latter but the Chooks had plenty. Bloody Origin, messing with the natural order!

Enjoy.

Saw a report about Latrell being treated for some injury picked up on Wed night. We should(?)

Looking forward to Parra v Penrith the most. Keep expecting Penrith to kick into gear at some point but gees they're running out of time... gotta win 9 of their remaining 13 games and there's a few tough ones in there, including us on a 3 day turnaround after Origin 2 in WA. Dunno how anyone can back up after that one so they could be incredibly short.

Blair

Haas is the other Broncos Origin player I missed. You see what threw me is he plays for NSW, back in the day the Broncos were the backbone of the Maroons. It was absolutely imperative that they got the bye.

Not now.

Blair

I wish there was a six pm game. I'm ready to get going for the weekend. I remember bagging the early game on Fridays but I love it now.

It's extra good for NZ too.

Don’t remember the Benji scenario.

Ponga not playing for Newcastle, they probably look better with Sharpe at the back anyway

Not really a game to get fizzed up about to start the weekend, could be as painful a watch as this site is to use at the moment

Blair

Don’t remember the Benji scenario.

Ponga not playing for Newcastle, they probably look better with Sharpe at the back anyway

Not really a game to get fizzed up about to start the weekend, could be as painful a watch as this site is to use at the moment
Benji signed for the Auckland Blues but hadn't officially left Wests (or Dragons) and he was in a Blues jersey or something. He got in trouble but it was nothing really.

Yeah, this site's glitchy at the moment and I'm glad to hear it's not just me.

12-0, Dragons so far. At last, some good news for tippers!

Blair

OT: Beave, my brother reckons it's 'uninspiring' but I think OKC v Pacers is a great NBA Finals. One side is going to break a decades-long drought. In fact, the Thunder were the Supersonics when they last won it in '79.

I remember that result as a kid, only because it sounded so weird that anyone but Boston or LA would win the NBA! Me, I'm going Pacers, cause they've never won it and have Bird as a consultant (an Indiana native).

OT: Beave, my brother reckons it's 'uninspiring' but I think OKC v Pacers is a great NBA Finals. One side is going to break a decades-long drought. In fact, the Thunder were the Supersonics when they last win it in '79.

I remember that result as a kid, only because it sounded so weird that anyone but Boston or LA would win the NBA! Me, I'm going Pacers, cause they've never won it and have Bird as a consultant (an Indiana native).
I heard that chat yesterday on the radio as well, “doesn’t have a superstar big market team or player” etc

Pacers have surprised me, I won’t write off Brunson just yet though but it is a big ask. What I have enjoyed is the NBA moving to well built and put together teams rather than the group together superstars that has dominated the past 15 years

The scary thing for the rest of the league is that the Thunder are the youngest side in the league, they have had a top European rookie out injured all year, and they have a heap of 1st round draft picks over the next half a dozen years that they’ve acquired from trades. The money side of it may be hard to manage, but there may be a true dynasty coming here

NZ NBL, Rams are on absolute fire this season, squad is the deepest I have seen at this level, the 4th man off the bench a few weeks ago was the American import, and he came on and hit 8 3s in a 50 point win over the side who has made the last 3 grand finals. 6 tall blacks in the side as well and nearly all home grown

Blair

20-0, Dragons. It's pretty much over.

Blake Green is Newcastle's attacking coach but blame can't just be dumped on him for their woes. He probably has his ideas but gets overruled. Or, the cattle's just no good.

Just as I said that it's 20-6...nine mins to go...and that was that. A good win for St George over a pretty bad Knights.

Blair

I heard that chat yesterday on the radio as well, “doesn’t have a superstar big market team or player” etc

Pacers have surprised me, I won’t write off Brunson just yet though but it is a big ask. What I have enjoyed is the NBA moving to well built and put together teams rather than the group together superstars that has dominated the past 15 years

The scary thing for the rest of the league is that the Thunder are the youngest side in the league, they have had a top European rookie out injured all year, and they have a heap of 1st round draft picks over the next half a dozen years that they’ve acquired from trades. The money side of it may be hard to manage, but there may be a true dynasty coming here

NZ NBL, Rams are on absolute fire this season, squad is the deepest I have seen at this level, the 4th man off the bench a few weeks ago was the American import, and he came on and hit 8 3s in a 50 point win over the side who has made the last 3 grand finals. 6 tall blacks in the side as well and nearly all home grown
Interesting on all counts.

And how do you reckon the Rams would go against the Breakers? I know they don't play each other, of course, but it sounds like there's not much difference.

Interesting on all counts.

And how do you reckon the Rams would go against the Breakers? I know they don't play each other, of course, but it sounds like there's not much difference.
Breakers is a much higher quality league so would handle them comfortably, are 3 guys in both sides

Not good but didn't Benji do something similar? Or did he just wear his new club's gear or something?
Kikau did this when going to the Dogs, was pictured in a Dogs jumper when still playing for the Panthers...guess who was involved then, too!