Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

85 Baby

It could be made to work.
For example if McLean wants to play origin but play for another country he should essentially plead for eligibility and make a TV program out of it. Make them do an affidavit or state dec.
A panel of NSW origin greats can determine the outcome the main thing being we never want someone playing for NSW who supported Qld as a kid or who didn't give a shit about origin - many of the NZers would have supported Qld.
So make them apply and have a "court" hearing and a right to appeal etc.
If you grew up in NZ and supported Qld in origin and then got recruited from NZ to the Roosters at age 15 you shouldn't be eligible for NSW or Qld.
And yet people say your ideas are stupid

It is ridiculous. You can't represent Australia but you can NSW or QLD?

Just when there is real interest in international matches again, V'Landys and Abdo want to dilute it?
This will help international footy. New Zealand and England are on the verge of being overtaken by the likes of Samoa, all because Samoans can play Origin.

T-Boon

I don't really care about origin unless there are parra players in it. If there's none, it's just another rugby league game
It is the big night that we stick it to AFL because they have no equivalent. That is the main thing. People may forget that TV ratings for origin are phenomenal I think even more so than the numbers suggest because so many people watch at the pub.
You should become an advocate for souping origin up rather than this attitude of carelessness about it.

T-Boon

SOO lost its appeal long ago for me !!!
We stick it to AFL on Origin night because they have no equivalent. People often forget that TV ratings for origin are huge, I think even more so than the numbers suggest because so many people watch at the pub.
I suggest becoming an advocate for souping origin up rather than this attitude of carelessness about it.

We stick it to AFL on Origin night because they have no equivalent. People often forget that TV ratings for origin are huge, I think even more so than the numbers suggest because so many people watch at the pub.
I suggest becoming an advocate for souping origin up rather than this attitude of carelessness about it.

They're likely to reintroduce their own State of Origin, seeing that the 2026 game was a success.

Stevie

I’m heading to the Parra v Chooks game Saturday with my little girl. Daddy daughter date!
Can’t wait!

I haven’t said much about yesterday as I’m so nervous to jinx us lol.

I will say that the defensive patterns looked so calm. Even the kids seemed fluent in it. I’ve never really seen us look so comfortable. We looked fit.

I loved what Tuivati brings. Brown is a keeper too.

Russell may just turn out to be a special centre , he’s still young and really looks in good knick with speed etc. I reckon Mal would be pleased. I know people think I pick on Will Penisini but I wished we kept Russell and lost him. He is just so average I reckon he could maybe be an NRL player in future but a winger, cause he still ain’t an NRL player now as a centre.

But yeah, looking forward to Saturday. Go the mighty Eels!

Eelogical

I was always a NSW supporter when living in Sydney. My hate for QLD was unrivalled. But when I moved to QLD 8 years ago my hate has been mellowed by age as well as seeing SOO becoming more manufactured than a war between two states. These days, SOO interferes in the NRL competition too much, especially with injuries and rep duties to all the clubs involved, more so the clubs that aren't ejaculating rep players.