Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why are League players allowed to drink during the season at all?

Aren't they supposed to be elite athletes? How does getting smashed after every game help their performance. I'm pretty sure other athletes like swimmers don't go out and get drunk while preparing for meets. Why is it so acceptable for league players to do so? They get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to be elite sportsman. The clubs have every right to demand players don't drink during the season if it hampers their performance. They also are paid to be behave well and be good ambassadors for the club. If they are out getting smashed on weekends then rumors start. A lot of stuff players do doesn't end up in the papers but gets spread around anyway. There are some horrible rumours I've heard about NRL players that everyone I know seems to have heard as well. If the players stayed off the drink I'm sure a lot of these rumors would cease. On top of this about 99.9% of all off field incidents that drag the game down would stop.

I agree with most of this. Have a couple of quiet beers with friends at home, but not in silly nightclubs and pubs where you are targeted by useless groupies and jealous losers.

But the best way for clubs to ensure this happens is to recruit players who are not known as party animals or to have alcohol issues.

bazza

The behaviour of some NRL players when they get on the drink is almost as bad as that of News Ltd journalists

jdizzle

I agree with most of this. Have a couple of quiet beers with friends at home, but not in silly nightclubs and pubs where you are targeted by useless groupies and jealous losers.

But the best way for clubs to ensure this happens is to recruit players who are not known as party animals or to have alcohol issues.
Uhh how can clubs know that? Sure they can know some background of players but some players develop that attitude when they "make it!"...

If these players were 'elite' athletes they wouldn't be doing sh*t like getting blind drunk, popping pills or snorting gear. Sure, go out and have a good night but being out to 9:30 in the morning can't be good for the body.

Unfortunately, league fans such as El Diablo et al. think this is everyones fault bar the players and that the media shouldn't be reporting this sh*t.

Even if this Broncos thing isn't true, I gaurantee the league players going out this Wed, Thur, Fri, Sat, Sun (if your a Bulldogs player going to Ravesi's) will not put themselves in a situation to have any sort of allegation like this.

Titanic

When will the majority on this thread get away from defending the indefensible? NRL players are "elitist in Australia at least" sportsmen/entertainers and are not the free spirits of manhood that some would like to protect. The moment they sign a contract to play at that level, to get paid at that level, then they become public property to a certain extent.

If they want to run around like drunken morons then they can go back to the park but not to my club. I want my son to aspire to play NRL but not on the strength of the actions of the foolish.

Finally, I reckon that when someone disrespects his team mates, his club and the fans that pay his way then he deserves what he gets.

DangerMouse_007

When will the majority on this thread get away from defending the indefensible? NRL players are "elitist in Australia at least" sportsmen/entertainers and are not the free spirits of manhood that some would like to protect. The moment they sign a contract to play at that level, to get paid at that level, then they become public property to a certain extent.

If they want to run around like drunken morons then they can go back to the park but not to my club. I want my son to aspire to play NRL but not on the strength of the actions of the foolish.

Finally, I reckon that when someone disrespects his team mates, his club and the fans that pay his way then he deserves what he gets.

Uhh how can clubs know that? Sure they can know some background of players but some players develop that attitude when they "make it!"...

If these players were 'elite' athletes they wouldn't be doing sh*t like getting blind drunk, popping pills or snorting gear. Sure, go out and have a good night but being out to 9:30 in the morning can't be good for the body.

Unfortunately, league fans such as El Diablo et al. think this is everyones fault bar the players and that the media shouldn't be reporting this sh*t.

Even if this Broncos thing isn't true, I gaurantee the league players going out this Wed, Thur, Fri, Sat, Sun (if your a Bulldogs player going to Ravesi's) will not put themselves in a situation to have any sort of allegation like this.

All good points except......

nothing beats beer after a 12 hour shift on a friday afternoon in summer ...

League players should never have to go without beer coz it taste real nice n sh*t. They should be able to get out on the piss but.

PS. El Diablo's approach is very simple to these incidents. Innocent until proven guilty. Unless of course they are league players in which case they are automatically innocent.

Angry_eel

Whats wrong with drinking? Everyone from a homeless mofo to half a million dollar earning Accountants are out in the city drinking on Friday night. Why can't footy players do the same?

byrne_rovelli_fan82

1- they are like every other bloke out there in the world. The main difference is they are getting paid a fair bit to play a great game.

2- The public needs to slacken off and give them the room to be who they are as normal men and not always a role model 24/7.

3- If you want role models, at least let them be normal role models who do, make mistakes and not the 'perfect' example every single time they go out. We can't confine them to their house or tell them they have to be angels when they go out.

I have no problem with drinking. However, I think the fact that these players are ATHLETES with high and very specific nutritional inputs that probably wouldn't include 10 schooners, 4 bourbons and coke, a Long Island Tea and a headjob.

To me, if a player is on the piss big time in a finals campaign, I'd question his dedication to the task and his team.

My elsest is in the navy. They are allowed a ration of 3 cans of beer at days end. Yes, in port they race to the pub. But if they report back for duty over the limit they are on big sh*t.

Three beers per day limit. Can't miss one day and have 6 the next. Three beers. And no alcohol in a countries waters if it has an alcohol ban (eg Iraq)

Alcohol bans are nothing new. I remember Paul Mares attending a mates 21st mid season under the Gibson year at Parra. Never touched a drop of grog. Maresy wouldn't have done that voluntarily. Gibbo ovbiously had a ban on him - maybe them all. Dunno how the Crow got on owning a pub. Still, they had pre season gatherings involving alcohol.

I can't understand how athletes could drink alcohol and be at the peak of their fitness? Maybe one or two, but the effects on the body of binge drinking would certainly negate their health.

thug jimmy

Aren't they supposed to be elite athletes? How does getting smashed after every game help their performance. I'm pretty sure other athletes like swimmers don't go out and get drunk while preparing for meets. Why is it so acceptable for league players to do so? They get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to be elite sportsman. The clubs have every right to demand players don't drink during the season if it hampers their performance. They also are paid to be behave well and be good ambassadors for the club. If they are out getting smashed on weekends then rumors start. A lot of stuff players do doesn't end up in the papers but gets spread around anyway. There are some horrible rumours I've heard about NRL players that everyone I know seems to have heard as well. If the players stayed off the drink I'm sure a lot of these rumors would cease. On top of this about 99.9% of all off field incidents that drag the game down would stop.
why is it a problem if they drink all year?
let them all be responsible for their own actions and stop trying to mother them. they are grown men for f**k sake.
what if your boss said because your a professional fulltime employee of his business that you cant drink?
its a load of sh*t.
the nrl shouldnt care what the players do. do the NBA or NFL? f**k no.
they complain they dont have enough money - well stop trying to be so politically correct and get your heads out of the sand. life is tough. if people want to drink beer - let them!!

DangerMouse_007

I read Lockyer wanted an alochol ban put in place during the finals. It was rejected. I wonder if those "tasty beers" were worth all the sh*t thats gone on since?

Hanscholo

I think the clubs have the right to tell the players not to drink after games. Its really bad for recovery, so I dont believe if they were being fair dinkum about themselves as athletes that they would drink after matches. If they want to have a couple of bears after training during the week, i dont see a problem with that. Getting smashed however at any stage during the season is pretty stupid.