Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why is Robson a halfback??

You will not be disappointed. But I do expect DA to be soild and give the blokes who did take them to the GF to have first crack.

Get down to wenty, and watch him standout.

What has got me is the cowboys prefered Burns. Wrong wrong wrong, Henry will regret that, big time.

I have a keen interest in QLD cup and the previous guys who stood out to me where Greg Inglis and Shannon Walker.

GI was a freak and @ 17 made them look like boys.
He continues to shine.

Shannon Walker has yet to step up, freakish pace, but a turnstyle, and may step up but has not yet.

Humble is in between, what impresses me most is the brain, he has great pace, and can read a game well. The NRL is a step up, but I reckon he will do great. Plays similar to Lockyer, best description I have. Not Lockyer but similar in playing style.

Let me be clear I am not comparing to Locky other than similar pace, hands and brain. Lockyer is the next immortal, not saying Tom is.

we saw some clips of him on youtube and he did things you just can't coach and with 6 months with our coaching staff in the off season, the kid could be a very scary proposition for any defence.

he'll definitely have a run in the trials and if DA needs to make a tough decision early he will..don't worry about that.

lingard

Look Robbo did well, he probably over acheived. But the GF was a great example of why a team needs a decent halfback. We had nothing to offer. We could not get even a repeat set of six on the Melbourne line. We built no pressure. When Hayne was marked out of the game who stepped up? Feleti did but robbo apart from the kick for Reddy was absent.

We need a halfback that can take control and who has a decent attacking game. Otherwise, there will be no competitions for Parra.

The reason we didn't get a repeat set of six is that we kept dropping the ball at crucial times. That kick for Reddy was a gem. Robson's game against Canterbury was a ripper. We don't need an attacking wizard at half when we have Hayne, Mateo, Mortimer in the side. I'd be very happy to have Robson at half for the whole of next year. I reckon we can win a Grand Final with him at half. If he can just improve his kicking game a bit, we are laughing. This whole idea of the half-back having to be an organising genius and a kicking genius is a myth. Players like Ricky Stewart and Andrew Johns and Alan Langer only come along once in a life-time.
There are many different types and styles of half-back, and Robson is doing just fine.

Brenno75

Don't forget with Kingston not playing next year kkeating will most like be the utility interchange he'll definately be able to give some more options in attack.

lil_eel

I love him because he's good enough to do something neither you, me nor anyone else here can do - put on the blue and gold jersey and play First Grade for my beloved Eels.

Well then, u must love finch than. He plays FG as well. Seriously, i dont hate him. i never said i did. im just saying delusional para fans like u, rate robson so highly. no one cares about robson besides delusional fans like urself.

believe me once kk starts next year, u would have forgotten about robson and jump on the kk bandwagon. You guys rate him as the best defensive half-back?? lol What about robbie farah (if ur gona rate robson as a half back, robbie chomps him all over the park), finch (god it hurts me to say that), anasta, thurston, kimmorely. Note 6 and 7 are interchangable in the modern game. If u didnt know that than ....
Also, just coz he wears the blue and gold, doesnt mean i turn a blind eye n say his the best, he did a magnificent job.

Robson is probably a better footballer than he is halfback, he has the ability to cover many positions in a pinch and that's what makes him valuble..

Robo is the modern day Paul Taylor.

fish eel

Robson is probably a better footballer than he is halfback, he has the ability to cover many positions in a pinch and that's what makes him valuble..

Robo is the modern day Paul Taylor.

Mate, I think you're selling Paul Taylor short there who was a quality player and unlucky not to make the 86 Kangaroos.

Robson might have done a job in the back half of the season, and might be a trier, but geeze, he aint no Paul Taylor......

Mate, I think you're selling Paul Taylor short there who was a quality player and unlucky not to make the 86 Kangaroos.

Robson might have done a job in the back half of the season, and might be a trier, but geeze, he aint no Paul Taylor......

no he's definitely no Paul Taylor I agree but he'll play the same role as Taylor played in 81 and when Sterling wasn't available throughout his career.

Well then, u must love finch than. He plays FG as well. Seriously, i dont hate him. i never said i did. im just saying delusional para fans like u, rate robson so highly. no one cares about robson besides delusional fans like urself.

believe me once kk starts next year, u would have forgotten about robson and jump on the kk bandwagon. You guys rate him as the best defensive half-back?? lol What about robbie farah (if ur gona rate robson as a half back, robbie chomps him all over the park), finch (god it hurts me to say that), anasta, thurston, kimmorely. Note 6 and 7 are interchangable in the modern game. If u didnt know that than ....
Also, just coz he wears the blue and gold, doesnt mean i turn a blind eye n say his the best, he did a magnificent job.

I never said I rated him so highly. I just support him, rather than whinge like a little bitch because he gets selected.

Man up, ffs.

lil_eel

I never said I rated him so highly. I just support him, rather than whinge like a little bitch because he gets selected.

Man up, ffs.

Damn we got ourselves a keyboard warrior. :eek: Thank god I'm behind my lappy incase you come ova here n try to "man up" on me :sarcasm::sarcasm:

You make no sense with your reasons. You support robson because he get selected. That means you support finch when he got selected? What kind of reasoning is that? Don't get me wrong, i aint bagging him out or nothing. But if you can have someone better than robson you wouldnt take it? Unlike other supporters on robson, you have the worst reason in to why you want him selected.

Oh and the reason why I whinge he gets selected is (please read this carefully) delusional fans like yourself rate him highly. If he wasn't in the blue and gold jersey you wouldnt even rate him.

Damn we got ourselves a keyboard warrior. :eek: Thank god I'm behind my lappy incase you come ova here n try to "man up" on me :sarcasm::sarcasm:

You make no sense with your reasons. You support robson because he get selected. That means you support finch when he got selected? What kind of reasoning is that? Don't get me wrong, i aint bagging him out or nothing. But if you can have someone better than robson you wouldnt take it? Unlike other supporters on robson, you have the worst reason in to why you want him selected.

Oh and the reason why I whinge he gets selected is (please read this carefully) delusional fans like yourself rate him highly. If he wasn't in the blue and gold jersey you wouldnt even rate him.

We sure do, and its name is lil_eel, apparently. You're the one who started off by labelling me 'delusional' - I'm going to lie down and stay silent in your view of events, yeah?

Yes, I supported Finch when he was selected. It's what supporters do. I can see why it would go way over your head, seeing as you clearly only support the 'cool' players.

Once again (and YOU read THIS carefully): I never said I rate Robson. My ideal halves combination would probably KK and Mortimer (the number is irrelevant). But I can understand why Robson is in the side, I can see the value he adds and I can understand that no amount of whinging about how crap he is compared to other players will change it. So I try to use my time constructively to support the guy who got us to a Grand Final.

And I stand by my "man up" comment, seeing as it is not a threat of violence and yet you so clearly felt insulted by it.

watatank

Here's a question. If Mortimer and Keating were the halves would Parramatta have made the Grand Final?

andrew057

Wow, I dont think Ive seen one person be wrong so many in a single thread as Avenger has here. I need to stay away from the forums during the offseason.

I rate Kris, quite highly in fact.

My only slight concern would be that his style and Mortimer's are very similar.

Angry_eel

I rate Kris, quite highly in fact.

My only slight concern would be that his style and Mortimer's are very similar.

I agree. One will have to change their style. I reckon it will be mortimer. He will become more of an organizer and Kris will be the running man.

Craig Johnston

kris's running game is brilliant, mortimer is more of a natural kicker and organiser.

it's pretty obvious how it will turn out imo

I agree, Craig. I reckon Kris is a really gifted, natural, 'traditional' 5/8. Mortimer will be our long-term halfback imo.