Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why is Robson a halfback??

84 Baby

I agree, Craig. I reckon Kris is a really gifted, natural, 'traditional' 5/8. Mortimer will be our long-term halfback imo.
Honestly I have always seen Morts as a Terry Lamb type 5/8th not an out and out halfback. He may be able to develop into a HB but I'd prefer to give him more time at 6 before he takes the reins

yy_cheng

Honestly I have always seen Morts as a Terry Lamb type 5/8th not an out and out halfback. He may be able to develop into a HB but I'd prefer to give him more time at 6 before he takes the reins

That's what I have been saying all along '84.

However, he also has the toughness of Chris Mortz and a bit of individual brilliance of Steve Mortz.

He could be changed into a organizer but that could take time

84 Baby

That's what I have been saying all along '84.

However, he also has the toughness of Chris Mortz and a bit of individual brilliance of Steve Mortz.

He could be changed into a organizer but that could take time
Or we could change him next season and risk having another half have pressure dumped on him to be the next Sterling. If you think Tim Smith had pressure, imagine what a guy with the surname of Mortimer will have if he put the Parra number 7 on. I believe Morts has that special amount of fortitude to take the pressure but why take the risk when he's playing so well at 5/8th

yy_cheng

Or we could change him next season and risk having another half have pressure dumped on him to be the next Sterling. If you think Tim Smith had pressure, imagine what a guy with the surname of Mortimer will have if he put the Parra number 7 on. I believe Morts has that special amount of fortitude to take the pressure but why take the risk when he's playing so well at 5/8th

one more thing is whether he signs for 2011

lingard

Finally someone with knowledge and he isnt even a parra supporter.. people morts is a 7,there is no doubt about this. kk is an instinctive 6 running off morts intelligence and mateos offloads,its a premiership winning combo..As for robson,well he will make a half decent lock for wenty.

You know what, Raudonikis? So far you have been absolutely spot-on about Mortimer. There's no reason to doubt your judgement now. Over the past season, Robson has become one of my favourite players; and to all those people who say we can't win a grand final with him - we ALMOST did. But..... I can see that Mortimer could be even better at half. I'm not so sure about Keating as a five-eight. Perhaps hooker? And as much as it pains me to say so, I don't think Robson would make a particularly effective interchange player. Why bring on a mostly defensive player? You normally want someone to make an impact. I think Robson is far better playing 80 minutes. You never know, though - if Robson works on his speed and attack, he might be there again next year. Would he be better as a defensive five-eight who just feeds his outside backs? It's a very interesting puzzle we've got for next year.
Raudonikis, what do you think about giving Tahu a run at five-eight outside Mortimer?

yy_cheng

Raudonikis, what do you think about giving Tahu a run at five-eight outside Mortimer?

Hi Lingard, why do you think that Tahu would make a better 5/8th than Hayne would?

He has a running game but he doesn't have a long passing or kicking game.

Our halves aren't the dominant type halves who controls every play.

We are essentially playing with 2 halves each controlling one side of the field.

Robson right, Mortz left.

KK could replace Robson's side if Robson does not hold onto his spot.

I just don't see Tahu as an option at 6. It would put alot of pressure on the halfback whoever it maybe.

lingard

Here's a question. If Mortimer and Keating were the halves would Parramatta have made the Grand Final?

Well, Robson didn't just do a lot of random tackles every game - he made a lot of very well read try-saving tackles. So, no, we wouldn't have made the G.F. - we would have let too many tries in.

Raudonikis

No lingard i wouldnt contemplate that idea (Tahu at 5/8)
I pretty much go along with yy Cheng on this.

Robbo won't be the first choice 7. Keating will be IMO, with Mortimer at 6, Mitchell on the bench and Robbo next cab off the rank for the halves. The grand final showed why Robbo isn't anything more than a back up, really. His options weren't good enough, especially on the last tackle, and even his defence fell apart which is his main attribute. He came of age as a back up 7 this year but we won't win a premiership with him at 7 IMO. You don't pick a halfback for his defence, especially if he's only average in attack.

Not winning a premiership with Robson at halfback does not wash with me. You cannot base it on one game because if we did we could also say that we will not win a Grand Final with Hayne at fullback.

If we dispose of that bomb and not let Inglis score, ironically Hayne's positional mistake (which was the real turning point) and win the GF we do not even have these discussions.

Robson starts at 7 in round 1. It is his spot to lose.

Not winning a premiership with Robson at halfback does not wash with me. You cannot base it on one game because if we did we could also say that we will not win a Grand Final with Hayne at fullback.

If we dispose of that bomb and not let Inglis score, ironically Hayne's positional mistake (which was the real turning point) and win the GF we do not even have these discussions.

Robson starts at 7 in round 1. It is his spot to lose.

Just because we'd be too euphoric to discuss the problems wouldn't suddenly make them not exist. Robbo, as good as he was in the regular season, simply offered us nothing in the grand final. You can say the Inglis try was the turning point, and in the context of the game as it unfolded it probably was. But if we had a decent kicking game and offered something in attack for the first half it probably wouldn't have been. We didn't, and we lost, and Robson was the man taking most of those attacking options. For mine, if Keating gets through the off season, he has to start in Round 1, and Robson is the obvious man to miss out. If anything, it's good for the side, we haven't had decent halfback depth in a while

What did Robson offer in the preliminary final ?

Mate it could well be the case re; Keating, Ando knows best. I think our problem is that potentially our 2 best halves (Keating and Mortimer) are both 5/8ths. We do not have a true top shelf number 7. Even Humble is a fullback or 5/8th.

Bigfella

Robson played 7 and dragged us from nowhere to a GF. He was then re-signed for 2 years on the back of that. He brought improved defence, a calmness and control to the focus of attack, and played a role which allowed Hayne and mortimer in particular to flourish.

Keating played a couple of games at 7 last year and I'm pretty sure we lost them all. My impression was that he lacked composure, his fifth tackle options were poor, and he ran too much across field and pushed our attack laterally. His best moments in those games was his runnng game but the combination with the rest of his backline was very disjointed. He looked like what he was, a rookie unproven no 6 forced into playing 7.

Not sure how any of that would give him first crack at 7 over Robson, even though I have no doubt that he will improve vastly. In fact I was desperate for him to replace Finch at the time.

I agree he has the more natural ability; he is a long term prospect at the role; but his current ability to control an NRL team from 7 is a vastly unproven quantity compared to the bloke who has led us to 13 wins from the last 15 games.

I reckon Robson is one of the first picked for Round 1 of the entire squad behind Hayne and Hindmarsh. I agree he will probably need to show further development to retain the spot long term.

His stability though is what gives me confidence we can show some consistency and stake a claim for a top 4 spot, rather than the mercurial form we have displayed since 2005 where the difference between our best and our worst footy was extreme.

yy_cheng

Robson played 7 and dragged us from nowhere to a GF. He was then re-signed for 2 years on the back of that. He brought improved defence, a calmness and control to the focus of attack, and played a role which allowed Hayne and mortimer in particular to flourish.

Keating played a couple of games at 7 last year and I'm pretty sure we lost them all. My impression was that he lacked composure, his fifth tackle options were poor, and he ran too much across field and pushed our attack laterally. His best moments in those games was his runnng game but the combination with the rest of his backline was very disjointed. He looked like what he was, a rookie unproven no 6 forced into playing 7.

Not sure how any of that would give him first crack at 7 over Robson, even though I have no doubt that he will improve vastly. In fact I was desperate for him to replace Finch at the time.

I agree he has the more natural ability; he is a long term prospect at the role; but his current ability to control an NRL team from 7 is a vastly unproven quantity compared to the bloke who has led us to 13 wins from the last 15 games.

I reckon Robson is one of the first picked for Round 1 of the entire squad behind Hayne and Hindmarsh. I agree he will probably need to show further development to retain the spot long term.

His stability though is what gives me confidence we can show some consistency and stake a claim for a top 4 spot, rather than the mercurial form we have displayed since 2005 where the difference between our best and our worst footy was extreme.

BigFella, and what about Mortz at 7 and KK at 6? Mortz was basically 7 on the left hand side of the field. Whether he could do that all over the park, I don't know.

It will mean he has to concentrate longer and think with less time.

Raudonikis

yes i seriously think you blokes must not have actually taken a real lot of notice of mortimers game this season.He took over the 7 role on numerous occassions and exelled.IMO he will be the organiser and kk the running 5/8.They combined well in the 20s along those lines.What people have to realise is that robson was only signed as a last minute option this week.Which will be for cover.kk has more talent than robson could ever dream of.kk and morts are good enough defensively.They will flourish together.Avenger robson didnt lead us to the GF at all.It was on the back of great defence plus haynes magical run along with mortimers intelligence. Robson is a defender full stop.I also seem to remember DA saying his long term halves are going to be kk and morts.If you want to watch robson do his thing next year head down to ringrose park on a saturday arvo.

btaag

If players were judged on heart, Robson would be a NSW rep. I like him and I wish him all the best - I am glad he has 2 years of financial certainty. However, if we cannot find a better halfback for next season, we will not be as good as we otherwise could be.

Kris Keating is not a defensive genius, and he is young, and can make errors, but his attacking ability is far superior to Robson, even if his kicking game needs development.

As people have said, Robbo is insurance - affordable insurance. Even if he is not the starting 7, he will probably play a few games, and will keep the incumbents honest as they know he can slot in and do the job,

Delboy

Listening to staff within the club, Robson's role was to give the ball to Morts, Hayne and then Mateo and defend the right hand side. This is what he did and did well, occasionally he overcalled, but basically backed up breaks and played like a composite hooker/helf which is really what he is.

KK and Ant Mitchell have a great deal of confidence from the coaching staff, whatever we say, and I think they are right, we will see within the first 6/7 games next year. There is also an opinion that the late season run was on the back of what Kingston did in the second half of games, that is why they are not giving up easily on him, he has not signed anywhere and they are trying to work something out.