Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

BKT

Hi Popeye, see you around old friend...I'm outa here, this thread is the only decent thing in this shithole, I've enjoyed your posting so keep it up.Catch ya.

bellyache

That's why I let you marry my daughter, nothing like having a f**king genius in the family. Wonder if Waterhouse factors in 'desperation in front of a home crowd' when laying the odds . . . course not, he and the rest of the vultures don't have to be that smart. If the Dogs weren't strays and had a real home they may have got up also and still to come we have the Dragons, Warriors and Raiders at home, bellyache won't be crowing if the latter completes a miracle weekend.

If that's not enough, the mob that I have a couple of jerseys representing were beaten by the rabble they're playing Monday night at the same venue last year. Where are you smart arse son-in-law, let me know if I can rest easy.

The Eels should have put a lot more points on considering possession but a lack of brain power in the opposition 20 was an anchor, still ol' mate Bandwagon can change his avatar from 'shit' to 'fart' for the time being. Even my feeble mind realised the Cowboys had made a mistake with their previous #7 and a change to Lui was the catalyst for a resurgence. Of course this means that Penrith will flog the Knights at home next week . . . hang on, that can't be right if the Dragons upset Newcastle today. F**k it, I give up
1 more game to go, only then can you call me names that suggest any brain function.
Donkeys, Eels and Warriors will be rnd 5's only upsets..

POPEYE

The biggest winner by far in NZ today was Matty Elliott, if he can get his mob playing like that on the mainland there will be no-one happier than me. It was a shame they couldn't quite get over the team to beat for '13 who had trouble in the slow going, but players like Godinet will relish the faster tracks over here. Souths bombed a couple by not looking for support players and the Warriors almost won by using theirs. Great game.

bellyache

The referee's new princesses need to learn to defend broken and second phase play, Warriors won the battle and were far more impressive than the Favourites so to Panthers and Dogs. If the princesses don't evolve from playing last years footy they are in trouble...

POPEYE

C'mon mate, no-one's ever more impressive than the winner, you won't give a shit how the Roosters win in a hostile environment of which there are five; NQ, Melbourne, NZ, Brookvale and Canberra. Speaking of which . . .

POPEYE

I watched 10 minutes of the game and couldn't bear to see any more of McCrone so I watched The Voice . . . did I miss anything

POPEYE

Would I know you under another name, perhaps from a recently failed forum . . . just want to know how serious you take me to be

POPEYE

I'm going to give the arsewipes a miss today, can imagine all the pompous prancing and pretentious backslapping that normally follows a weekend of upsets, suffice it to say we should be glad for small mercies. Simple arithmetic and a love for the game is all that is needed for all of us to rejoice in a season threatened by peripheral damage.

Nine, the ARLC and the scourge of the game, the bookies, will have collectively sighed relief and so should we all, even the 3 teams still on 2 points won't be hanging their heads, each with a different reason to expect brighter things ahead. Icing on the cake would be a Tigers victory tonight, highly unlikely until you grasp what's happened this weekend.

When I read Parish's column about teams being made up of 17 not 13 I thought it a bit elementary school, I didn't connect that it was aimed at his players who no doubt received a double dose by his partner Sticky before the Mannah Cup. The Warriors are now apparently believing in Elliott and Furner has seen the last of Dugan, physically and mentally. Price another big winner considering his roster and fingers crossed the cellar dwellers may taste more good wine before the season ends.

Don't forget to watch the press conferences on Fox website, they are much more interesting than the arsewipes, especially if you can read between lines . . . Bennett saying they missed Buderus with Gidley sitting next to him is tense.

POPEYE

The only games I've missed this weekend are Dragons/Knights, Broncos/Titans because I refuse to watch Nine's 2 hour epics and Roosters/Raiders because I turned over after McCrone threw a pass at a possible try scorer's feet. I will catch up with all the usual Monday replays, especially the Raiders second half when McCrone was shifted to hooker . . . I'm told it was a coincidence, let's hope it is permanent.

undertaker

The only games I've missed this weekend are Dragons/Knights, Broncos/Titans because I refuse to watch Nine's 2 hour epics and Roosters/Raiders because I turned over after McCrone threw a pass at a possible try scorer's feet. I will catch up with all the usual Monday replays, especially the Raiders second half when McCrone was shifted to hooker . . . I'm told it was a coincidence, let's hope it is permanent.

Looks like you've got a lot of catching up to do. Good luck Pops

POPEYE

Looks like you've got a lot of catching up to do. Good luck Pops

Well I'm fairly sure the best team won tonight, the Tigers needed the game to last 50 and the Storm needed it to last 100, tries off forward passes evened themselves up, players ruled offside that were on, penalties against infractions that were farcial, but somehow the right result made it through the melee. The Tigers would have beaten most teams tonight that can't play a full 80 and they did it in a place others fear to tread. My missus reckoned Smith looked crook and the Storm played crook for 3/4 of the game.

Lucky Roy

Did Melbourne really get 14 penalties and all the extra possession that came with it it? I can tell you that Souths really did receive one yesterday (down from two the previous week) so it can be assumed they received a net 78 less tackles than Melbourne. Not sure how many WT got but Warriors got four so that 78 would be reduced by 12, maybe 18. Both teams managed four tries.

Does it mean anything? Probably not but I doubt anything similar will happen next week. Just sayin'...

POPEYE

Folly to compare games, there are too many variables. The referees tonight didn't look comfortable and were pedantic. The Tigers obviously knew they had to rattle Melbourne, the only way to beat them, and since I'm not fond of referees who search for penalties instead of merely policing a game I thought the Tigers were a little hard done by. That said, the scale was balanced by a couple of wrong decisions against the Storm that a team with a weaker defence wouldn't have survived.

I'm a firm believer that all games should be refereed as Origin is, a penalty should only be given when a team is directly disadvantaged by wrongful actions, ignore anything petty that disrupts play just for the sake of it.

POPEYE

Roosters were a victim of circumstances on the weekend, as a new combination they were not yet experienced enough to hold steady against a change in the Raiders some of us have been calling for. I've been nauseating in my call to get Josh McCrone away from the last line of decision making and now I hope it has been seen to be justified. One thing is clear, Josh is a good footballer, he delivered the ball to the right bloke from dummy half with all the speed his team needed to roll over the Roosters. He is a natural in that position.

More importantly, Sam Williams was left to control the game, and with any thought of kowtowing to a senior player removed he grew another leg. Robbo's mob will learn from this, when the opposition makes an obviously desperate change be prepared for the consequences. The significance of the change that came over the Raiders could however be undermined with the return of Campese.

If you watch Furner in the press interview he hedges around the shift of McCrone to his rightful position by claiming the players stepped up, how a half time gee up turned things around and Croker's 100th was special . . . all dodging the issue. He is concerned about Milford not being ready and I agree with him, but the lad just played a cameo roll and the new McCrone/Williams combination was all that was needed.

Next week we have the return of Campese which I will be surprised if it lasts more than a few games before he is put to pasture once and for all. Then again I said SBW would struggle with 80 minutes so wtf do I know. My fondness for the Raiders will be tested if Campese is allowed to f**k up what I think was a giant leap forward for them