Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hayne out the rest of the year?

Man, I'd love to be on Hayne's salary and be told I could have the rest of the year off 'cause I had a sore hammy.

Wouldn't we all?

But this sort of thing is not unprecedented:

* I recall Louis Van Gaal benched Patrick Kluivert against someone (Betis, I think) because he was fresh off an injury and we had nothing to gain from it (Barcelona was so far ahead of the competition it wouldn't ha e mattered). Obviously it's different to rest a star player when you're miles ahead than when you're down, but I think the logic is the same.

* Oakland Raiders benched Nnamdi Asomugha, their only quality defensive player, for the season's last three games because they couldn't achieve anything even if they won, and they felt there was no point in having him potentially suffer an injury for no benefit.

We have six games left this season, and the spoon is ours again. Is there more to gain by having Hayne play? I'm not so sure.

Noise

Stuart has a bit more to say re: Hayne in post Match conf

Might be back for 2 or 3 games this season, but all depends on his Sheens wants him for Australia

Why the f**k does Sheens have a say? Parra pay his wages, not Sheens, not the Australian team. The fans and the members pay their money to watch a first grade team play their best players

Is Stuart Sheen's f**ken puppet?

Sparky 74

Ffs parra week in week out play crap but we still spend our hard earned cash to see this. The players & club should give it all back & play for free if they are serious I say free entry to every home game.

no the bigger question is - does anyone in our club have: a heart? pride? desire? leadership? a set of balls? a clue?

When Hayne agreed to re-sign, part of the negotiations could have been an assurance that Sticky help his representative career.

no the bigger question is - does anyone in our club have: a heart? pride? desire? leadership? a set of balls? a clue?

Nope!

But if the need is true, I think your anger should be directed at Stuart - it's his call, after all.

I mean, I, for one, can understand it. But I also understand your frustration.

barney gumble

Wouldn't we all?

But this sort of thing is not unprecedented:

* I recall Louis Van Gaal benched Patrick Kluivert against someone (Betis, I think) because he was fresh off an injury and we had nothing to gain from it (Barcelona was so far ahead of the competition it wouldn't ha e mattered). Obviously it's different to rest a star player when you're miles ahead than when you're down, but I think the logic is the same.

* Oakland Raiders benched Nnamdi Asomugha, their only quality defensive player, for the season's last three games because they couldn't achieve anything even if they won, and they felt there was no point in having him potentially suffer an injury for no benefit.

We have six games left this season, and the spoon is ours again. Is there more to gain by having Hayne play? I'm not so sure.

So, to hell with the fans who pay memberships, buy merchandise, drag entire families to games ect., all to see the superstars play.

They get the big bucks (paid for by the fans) to play and if fit enough they should be bloody well playing. No footy from September to March, that's enough time to rest.

Nope!

But if the need is true, I think your anger should be directed at Stuart - it's his call, after all.

I mean, I, for one, can understand it. But I also understand your frustration.

read my posts - its directed at all the spineless merkins

Noise

When Hayne agreed to re-sign, part of the negotiations could have been an assurance that Sticky help his representative career.

SHit, i hope not. We might only get a few games out of him each year (just before Origin and end of year tours)

read my posts - its directed at all the spineless merkins

I know - that includes Hayne, and I can't see why. If Stuart tells him he's not playing, what can he do?

And what can the board do if Stuart decides to not play Hayne?

So, to hell with the fans who pay memberships, buy merchandise, drag entire families to games ect., all to see the superstars play.

They get the big bucks (paid for by the fans) to play and if fit enough they should be bloody well playing. No footy from September to March, that's enough time to rest.

What's your point? I'm a member. I went to the game. I stayed until the 80th minute. I have bought three new
jerseys this year. I drag my girlfriend to games. And you and I have different opinions.

That post you quoted was highlighting that "resting" a key player is not an uncommon trend in sport.

Sparky 74

Suck it up nancy boy & man up. All this cash for a few games. Mate I think your are the man so be the nan or next year when Norman & hoppa are here u may not be missed. f**k NSW f**k the kangaroos luck the World Cup u need to ficus on bring the best ever eel & lead this team around. U want them the Fabs to speak about how great you were in years to come as we do for the likes of Ella, price, sterling, kenny , guru & the crow , Hindy has been forgotten because he could & should played that 1 more year.

the board dictates who plays - ask pou, he'll fill you in

stuart, hayne, even reni who doesn't know it yet :lol: - they are all leaders at our club - stand up and be counted avery chance you get .... it will rub off on other players ..... f**k for all we know other people might show some pride themselves ..... we bitch about how soft our club is - if you ask me, this type of thing is a clear example that softness is ingrained at all levels

Noise

Suck it up nancy boy & man up. All this cash for a few games. Mate I think your are the man so be the nan or next year when Norman & hoppa are here u may not be missed. f**k NSW f**k the kangaroos luck the World Cup u need to ficus on bring the best ever eel & lead this team around. U want them the Fabs to speak about how great you were in years to come as we do for the likes of Ella, price, sterling, kenny , guru & the crow , Hindy has been forgotten because he could & should played that 1 more year.

Excellent post. I hope you are enjoying your 18th schooner

One think that hasn't been mentioned is that sticky said that the hammy problem is an unusual one In That its in the top of the leg right near the tenden and stickys concern is that there could be a risk that the injury could get worse..

the board dictates who plays - ask pou, he'll fill you in

stuart, hayne, even reni who doesn't know it yet :lol: - they are all leaders at our club - stand up and be counted avery chance you get .... it will rub off on other players ..... f**k for all we know other people might show some pride themselves ..... we bitch about how soft our club is - if you ask me, this type of thing is a clear example that softness is ingrained at all levels

I don't disagree, mate - we are soft. A basket case. Undoubtedly.

But will the board really confront Stuart in matters relating to football? I doubt it - Stuart is not the type of character who will be anybody's puppet.

For the record, I think Hayne should play, but I can see Stuart's reasoning for not playing him.

Parra Pride

One think that hasn't been mentioned is that sticky said that the hammy problem is an unusual one In That its in the top of the leg right near the tenden and stickys concern is that there could be a risk that the injury could get worse..

How dare you not just jump on and bash Hayne without knowing the full story, who the hell do you think you are?

My sister is a massive fan, whenever I chat to her about him, I simply refer him as princess, she hates it...:lol: