Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Signings and General Dribble XIII

I was talking more about Hayne, Sandow, Norman, hoppa etc

I remember Ben smith being a decent threat in the air and he has a good little pass on him.

True - but that was 18 months and two knees ago.

I love the bloke, but I feel he has little to offer above Tanginoa, Terepo, Lussick, Ryan, Ualesi, Harrison or even Edwards.

caylo

I reckon Loko and Williams also lack agility.
You think loko lacks agility but you want to play him on the wing with some of the most agile players in the game?
I agree he could improve his defence by learning the position, but just like Tony Williams he would be better off moving to a position where he is better suited physically and learning that position.

So you agree loko just need time and he could be a good centre. I'm now confused why we disagree?

How many NRL wingers played wing as juniors? f**k all I reckon. Wingers just aren't important enough in lower grade football for coaches to worry about playing their best players (i.e. the ones likely to become first graders) at wing.
Inu, Hayne, David Williams, John Williams, tautai and most outside backs generally start in the wing even in jnr footy. The whole point is loko was always a backrower or centre and he was never considered a winger or fullback because his physic and style does not suit it.

Well he is currently being used as a battering ram at centre, so he may as well move to the wing where the high workload won't impact his defence. Centres make two or three times as many tackles as wingers, so you don't want to wear them out with hit ups.
I disagree again, loko generally got the ball in an attacking situation or at least attacking intent compared to as a winger he would act as another forward. As a centre or backrower you see the ball with space and time and generally one on one giving you a chance to beat your man. Wingers only see the ball as a battering ram or as an end result of the people inside creating chances so why would you puts someone who creates chances like loko there?

But I agree Loko would also have defensive issues (vs kicks) on the wing. He is better off moving infield.
So we are moving loko from the centres to expose bigger weaknesses on the wing? That is probably a wingers most important job and 1 reason I would never play loko there

I
Agreed. He would have to learn the position but at least he is already suited there physically.

His physical attributes means he is suitable to most places on a football field and so I'd say it would be best to stay with his most natural positions being centre and an edge forward rather then making him learn a new trade anywhere else.

Someone

I think we need to remember Ualesi in all this. He's proven he has the work-rate in both attack and defence to be a big part of our pack next year.

True - but that was 18 months and two knees ago.

I love the bloke, but I feel he has little to offer above Tanginoa, Terepo, Lussick, Ryan, Ualesi, Harrison or even Edwards.

these guys will get there chance when injury comes no doubt. im use to the rubbish performances but im keen for next year to see with a slighty improved squad whether we can compete every week.

You think loko lacks agility but you want to play him on the wing with some of the most agile players in the game?

No I want him at second row. But his poor lateral movement would be exposed far less often at wing than at centre. That's why big fast blokes that struggle to move side-side (like Grothe and Vatuvei) play wing but not centre.

So you agree loko just need time and he could be a good centre. I'm now confused why we disagree?

I see your training is in dentistry, not reading comprehension.

Just because Loko can improve as a defensive centre doesn't mean he'll ever be a good one.

Inu, Hayne, David Williams, John Williams, tautai and most outside backs generally start in the wing even in jnr footy.

No they don't. They all play five-eighth or fullback. If those positions are full they play centre.

The whole point is loko was always a backrower or centre and he was never considered a winger or fullback because his physic and style does not suit it.

I'd say he was never a winger in junior footy because (as a huge, fast merkin) he was always one of the best defenders in every team in which he played. And so was wasted on the wing.

I disagree again, loko generally got the ball in an attacking situation or at least attacking intent compared to as a winger he would act as another forward. As a centre or backrower you see the ball with space and time and generally one on one giving you a chance to beat your man. Wingers only see the ball as a battering ram or as an end result of the people inside creating chances so why would you puts someone who creates chances like loko there?

But he doesn't create chances. He makes f**k all line breaks, LBAs or TAs. Ryan Morgan does more to create chances.

Loko breaks heaps of tackles though, and gets plenty of metres. I don't think he's quick enough to make the most of one-on-one situations.

So we are moving loko from the centres to expose bigger weaknesses on the wing? That is probably a wingers most important job and 1 reason I would never play loko there

I agree he would be a liability on the wing, but it would happen far less often than at centre.

His physical attributes means he is suitable to most places on a football field and so I'd say it would be best to stay with his most natural positions being centre and an edge forward rather then making him learn a new trade anywhere else.

The point is, because of his physical strength he never had to actually learn to play centre (or second row) so he didn't. Whichever position he ends up in he'll have to learn how to play there. Obviously he's got over 20 games experience as an NRL centre but his defence has always been very poor.

Joely01

I've actually heard he may be hanging around, but will be at Wenty.... Not sure if anyone can confirm this or not.

Joely01

Because he was off contract though, I think the way it has worked is we have told the players you can stay but you are on a Wenty contract.

Forty20

I've actually heard he may be hanging around, but will be at Wenty.... Not sure if anyone can confirm this or not.

The-Office-gifs-the-office-14948948-240-196.gif

caylo

No they don't. They all play five-eighth or fullback. If those positions are full they play centre.
I mentioned player that I have either played with (D.William) or played against (Hayne, Inu, Tautai) other then J.Williams who went to my school and I watched him regularly.

J.William was almost exclusively played on the wing for our premier league team but his brother D.Williams played lock as a junior footballer for my school but played most of his junior rep footy as a centre or winger.
Hayne on the other hand used to be pretty small as a junior and played a almost excursively as a fullback for cabra but as he came through the rep rakes he regularly played on the wing because he played up a year. After 05 he started putting on a lot more size and started to move infield a little in the backline. In 05 Hayne and Inu played on the wing in the Premier league grandfinal with Reddy at fullback and Graham and Delaney in the centres (http://www.smh.com.au/news/league/p...gue-grand-final/2005/10/02/1128191600684.html)

So you are very wrong these guys did play on the wing and in Haynes case it may surprise you but he played there pretty often.

But he doesn't create chances. He makes f**k all line breaks, LBAs or TAs. Ryan Morgan does more to create chances.
Someone who only looks at stats and not watches matches would say that. Morgan is a hole runner and finisher, he need service. Loko breaks tackles and create space for others around him and would be much better suited to centres compared to Morgan. Showing your ignorance here Poupou

I agree he would be a liability on the wing, but it would happen far less often than at centre.
I would think more often actually but irrespective he is mush more a centre then a winger which all his coaches would agree with considering he has never played on the wing and regularly as a 3/4.

The point is, because of his physical strength he never had to actually learn to play centre (or second row) so he didn't. Whichever position he ends up in he'll have to learn how to play there. Obviously he's got over 20 games experience as an NRL centre but his defence has always been very poor.
This I would agree, his physical dominance has worked against him because he was able to get away with a lot.

1 Eyed TEZZA

Holy crap. There's some actual intellectual football discussion that doesn't involve trolling, agendas, board room bitching, etc etc. It's entertaining and what this site should be for.

If only there were mods around who could ensure the nrl forum was like this. Rather than have another trolling/shit stirring thread by bellyache, Albert Rosenfeild, popeye, or who ever. Ball-less pussys.

Keep going caylo and Pou.

I mentioned player that I have either played with (D.William) or played against (Hayne, Inu, Tautai) other then J.Williams who went to my school and I watched him regularly.

J.William was almost exclusively played on the wing for our premier league team but his brother D.Williams played lock as a junior footballer for my school but played most of his junior rep footy as a centre or winger.
Hayne on the other hand used to be pretty small as a junior and played a almost excursively as a fullback for cabra but as he came through the rep rakes he regularly played on the wing because he played up a year. After 05 he started putting on a lot more size and started to move infield a little in the backline. In 05 Hayne and Inu played on the wing in the Premier league grandfinal with Reddy at fullback and Graham and Delaney in the centres (http://www.smh.com.au/news/league/p...gue-grand-final/2005/10/02/1128191600684.html)

So you are very wrong these guys did play on the wing and in Haynes case it may surprise you but he played there pretty often.

So you're saying these guys only played wing once they were in teams surrounded by better players than themselves? That's what I f**king said the first time. Premier league was reserve grade, not junior footy.

Someone who only looks at stats and not watches matches would say that. Morgan is a hole runner and finisher, he need service.

Being a hole runner is what allows him to create chances. He makes line breaks, which lead to tries. What the f**k does Loko do with all his early ball and broken tackles? He doesn't make breaks, or set up anyone else. His best contribution to creating tries and linebreaks is a quick play-the-ball.

Loko breaks tackles and create space for others around him and would be much better suited to centres compared to Morgan. Showing your ignorance here Poupou

Actually you're showing your ignorance. Morgan is better suited to centre because he's a much better one-on-one defender.

I would think more often actually but irrespective he is mush more a centre then a winger which all his coaches would agree with considering he has never played on the wing and regularly as a 3/4.

All Tony Williams' early coaches let him play in the outside backs too until Des Hasler told him to pull his head in and play where he's f**ken told.

Turned him into a first grader then an Origin player and international.

This I would agree, his physical dominance has worked against him because he was able to get away with a lot.

Just like Manu Vatuvei and a whole bunch of other huge fast blokes.

caylo

For the record, I like loko in the second row, but he needs a mobile, good defensive centre.

Hoppa!!! If I had my way It was be

Sio Kelly Hoppa Loko defending on on the left

Semi Norman Tonga Kelepi defending in the right.

Also a big reason I prefer Kelly over Sandow is because of the improvement in defense and Kelly has a superior short kicking game even though its inconsistent.

Hoppa!!! If I had my way It was be

Sio Kelly Hoppa Loko defending on on the left

Semi Norman Tonga Kelepi defending in the right.

Radradra prefers the left and Sio prefers the right side. Tonga also prefers the left. Hopoate hasn't been playing long enough for his preferred side to matter, but he played Origin on the left, and a grand final on the right wing. Corey Norman is a left footer so he'd be better off playing on the left side.

I'd go:

Left: Radradra, Tonga, Norman, Loko
Right: Sio, Hopoate, Sandow, Tanginoa