Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured and Confirmed Signings and General Drivel XIV

Mate, the top half a dozen players are (unfairly) always going to come from the spine. Very hard for a winger, centre, lock, second rower or front rower to rate with the spline players. They just always seem to recieve all the praise.

SBW and S Burgess would have to be strongly considered in any discussions about 'elite' players.

spiderdan

I'd go so far as to say that Lyon is, overall, a better player than Inglis. I think Hayne is a better player than Inglis, too. Inglis still has a little bit to prove and a few more years before I go calling him great.
as far as being a complete player I think you're right but there's plenty of things inglis does much better than the bulk of the league. When you compare with what each player has brought I don't think it's even a contest. Inglis has brought what he has to the table much more consistently than hayne. Similar to slater, as much as I hate admitting it.

That said though, hayne hasn't had the benefit of playing in a dominant club or origin side like the other two to take pressure off him when he has an off day (that's I guess your train of though, yeah?)

Has Inglis yet done anything near what Hayne did in '09? No. Has Inglis had to carry a team yet, like Hayne has? No. Inglis has had the luxury of playing with elite players at Melbourne and Queensland, and behind arguably the best pack of forwards in the game at Souths. And then you look at Hayne and Parramatta.
And who performed better for Australia in this last world cup? Hayne or Inglis? No contest, in my book. Hayne wins hands down.

You can't blame Inglis for Hayne playing in a shit team for the past 3 years. It's a rather silly argument to say Inglis hasn't had to carry a team, when he's played a lot of finals footy and contributed to a lot of successful sides. The fact that Hayne has 'carried' the Eels yet we've finished with back to back wooden spoons, doesn't say much for him, as much as I think he's a great player. Your logic is like saying "in order to prove yourself as a great player, you need to play in a shit side"... which doesn't make much sense.

In regards to the World Cup, Hayne might have stood out more this particular time, but Inglis certainly didn't play badly and certainly had some highlights of his own.

It's just lingard's opinion - you can agree or choose to disagree.

In my eyes, Jarryd Hayne is the most gifted player I have ever laid eyes on. Sure he has injury concerns and be can be inconsistent (to be expected, trying to carry this team), but in terms purely of the intangible skills (such as vision, kicking, passing, running, defense, etc) he is one of the most complete players I have ever seen. A true freak.

That field goal against Brisbane at Parramatta this year is one of the freakiest plays I have ever seen by anyone - not to mention his several try-saving tackles that same game.

Jarryd Hayne is en elite level talent.

But many will disagree, and that's fine. It's just my opinion.

as far as being a complete player I think you're right but there's plenty of things inglis does much better than the bulk of the league. When you compare with what each player has brought I don't think it's even a contest. Inglis has brought what he has to the table much more consistently than hayne. Similar to slater, as much as I hate admitting it.

That said though, hayne hasn't had the benefit of playing in a dominant club or origin side like the other two to take pressure off him when he has an off day (that's I guess your train of though, yeah?)

To be fair to Hayne, he was easily NSW's best in Game I this year, and has consistently been brilliant for NSW.

Maybe if the selectors chose a stronger team around him, we could be talking about Hayne in the same breath as Inglis...

But the fact Hayne can play anywhere really makes him stand out to me. He tore the World Cup apart - in the centres. He won a Dally Medal - at fullback. And he was best on ground for NSW - as a winger.

yy_cheng

It's just lingard's opinion - you can agree or choose to disagree.

In my eyes, Jarryd Hayne is the most gifted player I have ever laid eyes on. Sure he has injury concerns and be can be inconsistent (to be expected, trying to carry this team), but in terms purely of the intangible skills (such as vision, kicking, passing, running, defense, etc) he is one of the most complete players I have ever seen. A true freak.

That field goal against Brisbane at Parramatta this year is one of the freakiest plays I have ever seen by anyone - not to mention his several try-saving tackles that same game.

Jarryd Hayne is en elite level talent.

But many will disagree, and that's fine. It's just my opinion.

Muggleton kicked a great 40m field goal

In regards to Lyon he is a great player. People talk up Gasnier but that's cause he's flashy with his footwork and hands, so you remember him more. IMO Lyon is a better player than Gasnier as he's just more consistent and has more strings to his bow.

You can't blame Inglis for Hayne playing in a shit team for the past 3 years. It's a rather silly argument to say Inglis hasn't had to carry a team, when he's played a lot of finals footy and contributed to a lot of successful sides. The fact that Hayne has 'carried' the Eels yet we've finished with back to back wooden spoons, doesn't say much for him, as much as I think he's a great player. Your logic is like saying "in order to prove yourself as a great player, you need to play in a shit side"... which doesn't make much sense.

Actually, the wooden spoons were precisely because Hayne only played 27 out of a possible 48 Eels games.

Nope.

However it was with a leather ball which was considerably heavier than current ones.

Fair enough.

A 40 metre field goal is massively impressive - even more so with a leather ball. Muggo did well.

But I've never seen someone so easily kick a field goal from 40m out, 5m in and with 5 seconds left on the clock. It ultimately won us the game.

yy_cheng

Fair enough.

A 40 metre field goal is massively impressive - even more so with a leather ball. Muggo did well.

But I've never seen someone so easily kick a field goal from 40m out, 5m in and with 5 seconds left on the clock. It ultimately won us the game.

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?p=5524454

Tyler Durden

42m field goal after the siren in 1987 to beat the Dragons 21-20.
I think the game was at the SCG - Saints were using it as their home ground while the Kogarah Oval was being fixed up.

Gotta feel sorry for John Harker though -
He's gone from running around with a camera crew and interviewing footy stars to running around with a camera crew invading homes flogging Napisan to unsuspecting housewives

Re: John Muggleton field goal to win on fulltime
I remember it being a wet day also...which made the field goal even more brilliant.

Was at the SCG for the Muggleton field goal. It was impressive but Hayne's was better.

Personally Benji Marshall kicked the best field goal I have ever seen. Under pressure from 51m out off one step. Amazing.

Fair enough.

Ummmm....how many have you seen try? I mean it was a very smart piece of thinking (which is what sets it apart)...but it's hard to judge the drop kicking ability re other strong drop kickers.

Fair enough.

Not sure I have ever seen anyone else kick a field goal in regular play from 40m out and 5 min in. No-one else has been ballsy enough to try it!

I remember John Simon kicking one in the 1997 Origin that was towards the edge of the field but he was less than 30 metres out.

spiderdan

Not sure I have ever seen anyone else kick a field goal in regular play from 40m out and 5 min in. No-one else has been ballsy enough to try it!

I remember John Simon kicking one in the 1997 Origin that was towards the edge of the field but he was less than 30 metres out.
jamie soward has one of the best kicks on him and I am pretty sure can do it off both sides. Pretty sure also he slotted a couple from long range and on angles in a grand final in ressies I think about 10 years ago.

John Simon I think nailed a few in 98 for us like that (but then missed one v dogs on black sunday 1 that I think was his easiest attempt that season).

And I remember andrew walker doing one from a souths drop out on the half time siren for chooks. I was thinking as the ball was going out to him standing about 45 out next to the sideline that surely he wasn't gonna kick it right back. But the dude in almost one motion caught it, lined up the kick and put it over the bar.