Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fifita

Craigshark

A.

I like Graham, but I agree with what others have said. That's not to say he won't come good. However he never seems to know when to pass, and when he should he usually goes himself.

cb4

In short in recent history we haven't had someone smart enough to build the team properly. Injuries haven't helped but the cap hasn't been managed very well has it.

Disagree.

The cap was managed to a tee, with the vision the club had.

Problem is, no one saw Peachey becoming the second coming to jesus and getting 200k plus shoved in his face.

No one saw Fifita becoming the best prop in the game and getting 750k shoved in his face.

No one saw the extend of the bidding war that re-signing Todd would get into. Sure, we knew we would be in with a fight, but we had to go above and beyond to get him over the line.

No one saw an un-capped player make first grade demands or leave for another club.

You may be able to pick 1, maybe 2, but not all of it.

I've heard people say we shouldn't have picked up Luke Lewis. Yes we should. He is 1 of the best 17 for his country.

Beau Ryan and Chris Heighington aren't total freight on our books.

The problem with keeping our players, is we have little to no access to 3rd party deals, so the majority of the freight comes off our cap.

We all want to keep these guys together, and sign 2 world class centres, but something has to give.

I have no doubt that if Fifita stays, he will be back ended after 2015, when Gal either moves on, takes a significant pay cut, or goes to boxing, what ever he does.

Our cap was managed for a plan, but teams come in and change plans. Unfortunately, our lack of resources doesn't allow us to have the best plan B.

Weaponhead

The lack of third party access is what kills us relative to Souths, Easts and Brisbane.

The big clubs have the high profile supporters who can pull strings and get the extras that allows them to keep the players they want and pick up a few top liners.

Souths have Crowe, Easts have Gyngell and Bouris etc and we have Damian Keogh. Not knocking Keogh, he just aint in that league.

What cb4 said.

And our poor ass club is not in the position to cheat and rort like a lot of the other big boy protected clubs.

Everybody knows that .... the poor stay poor, the rich get rich.

It's the captains night on MKR

Watch the old sugar daddy lead his gold digger around the park.

It's scripted isn't? Please tell me it is because if these people are really the flickwits they portray someone needs to storm MKR with an AK47 and shoot some of these turds.

Start with The Captain and Tennille. Then move very quickly onto those 2 WA cows.

Good show though LOL

BWNB

Disagree.

The cap was managed to a tee, with the vision the club had.

Problem is, no one saw Peachey becoming the second coming to jesus and getting 200k plus shoved in his face.

No one saw Fifita becoming the best prop in the game and getting 750k shoved in his face.

No one saw the extend of the bidding war that re-signing Todd would get into. Sure, we knew we would be in with a fight, but we had to go above and beyond to get him over the line.

No one saw an un-capped player make first grade demands or leave for another club.

You may be able to pick 1, maybe 2, but not all of it.

I've heard people say we shouldn't have picked up Luke Lewis. Yes we should. He is 1 of the best 17 for his country.

Beau Ryan and Chris Heighington aren't total freight on our books.

The problem with keeping our players, is we have little to no access to 3rd party deals, so the majority of the freight comes off our cap.

We all want to keep these guys together, and sign 2 world class centres, but something has to give.

I have no doubt that if Fifita stays, he will be back ended after 2015, when Gal either moves on, takes a significant pay cut, or goes to boxing, what ever he does.

Our cap was managed for a plan, but teams come in and change plans. Unfortunately, our lack of resources doesn't allow us to have the best plan B.

Nice post mate, who is the uncapped player? You mentioned Peach earlier, Lichaa?

As for Lewis no one doubts his ability, I think the point is he isn't used to best.effect

cb4

No, your point was, you highlighted a "no one saw" and said I rest my case.

So, looking back into 2012, no one on here had a succession planning topic of discussion.

No one predicted Fifita to play for Australia, no one predicted Peachey to light the NRL up, ect... No one. Not even you. So your case isn't rested there.

As for us not having the man power to do that, I was again pointing out at how wrong you were saying our cap wasn't managed properly. Our cap has been managed within our means. If we go outside that, we will lose players, like a Tyrone Peachey.

cb4

Nice post mate, who is the uncapped player? You mentioned Peach earlier, Lichaa?

As for Lewis no one doubts his ability, I think the point is he isn't used to best.effect

Lichaa.

And agree on Lewis. But it seems that every player we sign is told a role and plays it. No one has the balls to say screw the game plan, and win the game for us.

cb4

Its the same question that was asked just before, was asked last year.

Do we lose Todd Carney or Tyrone Peachey to Penrith. Ask yourself what is the best answer.

This year, do we lose Fifita or Wade.

Or do we back end both players and screw ourselves out of signing backs.

Look beneath the surface, not just say "the whole club is shit."

Card Shark

Or, which player is likely to have us in a position to win a game?

Exactly!

I've watched a lot of premiers come & go during my years watching this great game & the team that wins is invariably the team with the superstar player.

Fifita is a player of that mould.

Ausguy

Alright all the arguments about how good or bad we are at cap management aside... Out of ten what chance are we of keeping him cb? I reckon 3/10.