Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

09 :: PF1 Fri :: Bulldogs 12 Eels 22 @ ANZ

2009 Grand Finalist #1: Bulldogs or Eels?

renouf

dogs won't win it next year either.. not while their playing the same boring ass football. They've hired a coach whos got them playing the same brand of footy that got them kicked out of the finals 2 seasons ago..

amazing game. One of the best i've ever been to.
Atmosphere was fantastic. Dogs losing was fantastic.
Hayne is brilliant.
and the refs were spot on with pretty much everything imo, for once they didn't ruin a bloody good game.

Jason Maher

Good win to Parra. Will be interesting to see if they can back it up next week with Hayne, Grubmarsh and Keating all suspended and no Cayless.

Geez your filled with hate mate. What an earth did Hindmarsh do to wrrant a suspension? I agree Keating might be in trouble, but Hayne has no case to answer. I wonder would your opinion be different if it was Canberra and Dugan, TLL, and whoever the hell your hooker is these days... :lol:

Jason Maher

I thought Fui Fui deserved it, but Parra had a number of good performers, basically all the usual suspects.

Ridders

I was very proud of how our boys held on in the first half, but in the end, Parra's attack was just too good. Once Parra took the lead, we were never getting back in the game unless Parra f**ked up.

Speaking of attack, seems we didn't learn much from our game against the Knights. We didn't get as many sets in their 20, but when we did, we looked terrible. Noddy was VERY disapointing.

I'm going to sound bitter but whichever Parra player comitted that f**king Chicking Wing deserves to miss the GF. Aweful stuff.

Mr. Fahrenheit

The bradbury calls are idiotic, beating 1st, 2nd, 3rd (and maybe 4th), in the four weeks of the finals deserves a premiership, just like the tigpies in 05. Parra are still remembered for the consistence from that season just like the likes of the dogs and dragons will be.

Big Mick

he'll get off aslong as they use this as his defence.
chewbacca.jpg

LOL

"What do you see here?

This...is Chewbacca..." haha

Garts

What a great start to the weekend with the Dogs being knocked out. Just hope Parra can go with it. Have to see if there is a replay on at some point today as I missed the game.

No way we choked, Parra were too good and we couldn't continue with the intensity in the second. Once Parra got a roll-on that was it. If the judiciary are fair dinkum Hayne will miss the GF and one test (2 game suspension). "I withdrew my feet" isn't good enough. He led with the knees and that's far worse than any foot to the face, the blunt impact could've caused plenty of damage. And Keating will probably miss the big one too, that Chicken Wing was disgraceful.

That stuff aside, congratulations Parra... phenomenal turnaround at the back end of the season. Don't know if you'll get past Melbourne but good luck to ya.

Noa

Felt the sameness of the Doggies forward pack really cost them. Greg Eastwood was the only one who offers anything different, the rest are all your straight up and down type players, not much footwork or skill.

Shorty

This was a fantastic game.
I think Patten getting knocked out really rattled the Dogs', they were leading going into halftime but they weren't playing structured football.
It really sucks that Hayne had to do that, it was silly of him and if he gets off from it, it'll be very unfair.

cupid

Hayne has nothing to answer for, no way was that knee to the head intentional , you could tell he was trying to withdrawl but it was too late, footy is footy and stuff like this will happen.

Also pretty sure Billy Slater wasn't suspended for his intentional slide kick to Robertson in the GF last year.

Big Pete

^ That's because there wasn't any rule against it. Wasn't the first time Slater did that either, his boot denied the Broncos a prelim final and everybody had the audacity to applaud him then.

Observations:
It was all the Bulldogs in the early going, even with Patten gone they were well on top. However the loss of Patten eventually played it's role as Gordon's and Idris' inexperience began to show.

Hayne shouldn't be suspended. Penalty sufficient and we all move on. Besides, I thought he hit Goodwin more with his thigh than knee. Speaking of that play, I became a big Bulldogs fan, I've been suggesting kicking behind the line is the way to attack Grothe's wing for awhile.

How awesome was Hayne's 40/20?

Couldn't believe Ennis let Hayne show him up for Galavao's try. Seriously the Jarryd Hayne fake has to be the best in the competition. Sprint, stop, dance, pass. If players just smashed him as he stopped, he wouldn't be so elusive yet they fall for it everytime.

Morris' try showed a flaw in Hayne's game. He can be very lax at times, always worth targetting with kicks IMO.

I hope Matt Keating is suspended for his chicken wing. That was disgraceful. Parra don't lose much either, Kingston is by far a superior player.

The second half:

Parra were just too awesome. Too many offloads and they just played smarter footy.

Bulldogs didn't test the Eels enough, repeat sets and difficult set starts should've been the order of the day. Ennis contributed a lot to their poor 5th tackle options.

Kingston's try should've been awarded. I don't believe Inu knocked on, IMO he kicked it.

The last two Eels tries were awesome.

Robson fair MotM, Hayne would've received 2 points while Moi Moi scraps a point. Those three really stood out and won the match.

:lol: Ben Smith, couldn't believe how fired up he got, I mean the man nearly screwed his side over.

Ridders

I think it really hurt as not scoring at all right before half time. I think going up by more the a converted try would have been massive considering how much we'd had to defend.

Alas Parra were just good in the 2nd half.

ByRd

Ahhhh this loss hurts and hurts badly, well played Parra and you guys deserved the win. After all the set backs we copped in the 1st half and to go in leading was a big result for us but you could just tell that we tired and lost our way a bit in that 2nd half, proud of our efforts but it just wasnt good enough.

imo a huge part of the match was Kimmorley missing the field goal, if he got it in.. 13-6, might've been an entirely different story
FG just missed too, was that close..