Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'10 | SF2 - W3 v L1 | Sat | Roosters 34-12 Panthers | SFS (PEN elim)

Semi Final Result: Roosters v Panthers

abpanther

Can I just ask another question too, why the f**k does the SFS literally reserve all of Category 2 for SCG members and then the seats aren't used? f**ken disgrace, I was trying to get tickets but the only ones left (other than sh*t seats) were Cat 1, not Cat 2 available.

Danish

Woeful crowd.
Further proof the competition would lose nothing if the Roosters were culled

so what to do with the saints who couldnt even fill a 20k suburban ground for their finals game?

must have been 1000 panthers fans at an absolute maximum at the game. their supporters bays (36-39 on the eastern side) were maybe 20% full at best. pathetic.

meanwhile roosters fans filled all supporters bays and the entire western side of the ground.

RugbyHighlights

Its not my main job but I hope it will be. Atleast I'm working towards something. Also the first thing that comes to your mind is pay. How shallow. There's more to life than just how big your salary is. Atleast I think so.

Which is why I run my own non-profit Charity Organisation.

Nice try. But I'm one of the most far-left Socialist types you'll find on this forum.

It's funny though. For someone so clearly institutionalised(attacking people for their language ability) I'd have assumed you fall in line on other issues.

I mean, lets be honest, what sort of picture am I going to draw? Attacking people for their English ability is traditionally an elitist upperclass tactic.

TheFrog

so what to do with the saints who couldnt even fill a 20k suburban ground for their finals game?

must have been 1000 panthers fans at an absolute maximum at the game. their supporters bays (36-39 on the eastern side) were maybe 20% full at best. pathetic.

meanwhile roosters fans filled all supporters bays and the entire western side of the ground.

Woeful crowd.

Pull your f**king head out of your arse there were more Bulldogs fans for the under 20's than there were Penrith fans tonight and that is somehow the Roosters fault? Armchair critic sees 23,000 and suddenly it is the Roosters fault even though we would have provided close to 20,000 of the crowd tonight.

TheFrog

I was there. 36 was pretty much full. The others not really. With the crowd figure given it seems supporters of both sides elected to watch this game on TV. SFS is not really public transport friendly, it might have been better to play this game at ANZ. We made as much noise as we could. The Panthers had their chances in the first half but lost too much ball and were never likely to come from behind with such a disrupted team. The Roosters were patient, took their chances and played competently which was all they really had to do to win this game. They are a good side, but came 6th for a reason. I think they'll have a tough time next week in Brisbane.

pantherz9103

Which is why I run my own non-profit Charity Organisation.

Nice try. But I'm one of the most far-left Socialist types you'll find on this forum.

It's funny though. For someone so clearly institutionalised(attacking people for their language ability) I'd have assumed you fall in line on other issues.

I mean, lets be honest, what sort of picture am I going to draw? Attacking people for their English ability is traditionally an elitist upperclass tactic.

I don't normally attack people for their English ability, it was opportunist of me to try and get the upper hand in our argument. I'm also more of a left wing kind of person.

Don't pretend you weren't also trying to get the upper hand with bashing my liking of 'soccer' and insulting of my NRL team.

I'm going to have end our little back and forth. Sometimes I go on a bit of a rant and react like this when I'm disappointed. I'm also tired and on a sleep defecit from waking up early for my sports show. OK you think I'm a fairy whinger, I think you're being a troll. Glad we understand eachother.

Doomednow

Shame.

Hopefully we go alright next year. Can't believe the rubbish luck we had with injuries but I think we were well past our best form by the finals anyway. Well done to the fans who stayed back after the game to cheer the boys after their defeat. Top effort this season.

Red Bear

Woeful crowd.
There was f**k all Penrith support, and a good 20K of roosters fans. Roosters weren't the issue tonight. Panthers fans dont travel, to either away games or their home games. SHould be Canterbury or Parra like, with the area they have, although I guess their lack of sustained success has hurt them.

Good game of footy, Pearce was excellent tonight, as was Minichello. Wasnt really a bad player for the chooks. Penrith started off pretty well, but then once the Roosters scored that first try they never really looked back. Should've put more points on Penrith in the first half but pretty comfortable win in the end.

Perhaps the Tigers and Roosters both benifitted from playing a finals level intensity match last weekend, whereas the Raiders Penrith game, whilst close, didnt really have that same level of intensity.

TheFrog

Matt Elliott is just not a finals football coach

Hopefully they get rid of him soon. It took the Raiders a long time to recover from his stint in Canberra

Elliott was the Canberra coach in '03? Canberra came 4th and lasted 2 weeks into the finals series.

They have not had a better season since. Seems they still have not recovered.

RugbyHighlights

I don't normally attack people for their English ability, it was opportunist of me to try and get the upper hand in our argument. I'm also more of a left wing kind of person.

Don't pretend you weren't also trying to get the upper hand with bashing my liking of 'soccer' and insulting of my NRL team.

I'm going to have end our little back and forth. Sometimes I go on a bit of a rant and react like this when I'm disappointed. I'm also tired and on a sleep defecit from waking up early for my sports show. OK you think I'm a fairy whinger, I think you're being a troll. Glad we understand eachother.

LOL fairplay mate. Don't have to explain yourself. I argue to argue also.

Think we boh had some direct hits. I'm drunk, your tired.

I still hate the Panthers though :oops:

RugbyHighlights

I don't intend to troll btw. Just got annoyed of the typical Rugby snipes. Wasn't anything personal. I cop Rugby snides every day. Boiled oevr somewhat. You were the easy target with the 'Pool avatar

TheFrog

Mitchell Aubisson might be in a spot of bother for an elbow to the teeth of Wade Graham in the 57th minute. Didn't look all that nice, maybe worth a week.

The Teach

Disappointed at the way our season ended, but still proud of the boy's efforts throughtout the season. As much as I hate to admit it, the better side won on the night, but I would love to see the game had both sides been at full-strength. I have no doubt the we would have given a better account of ourselves.

To those criticising the number of Penrith fans at the game...Yes our numbers were small, but our passion for our team was there right till the end. We never stopped singing all night, and drowned out the Roosters fans, who only seemed to sing when they scored a try.

One last question: Rugbylowlights, what site is it that you'll be running? Keen to check it out so I can have a laugh at it. :D

dice

Mitchell Aubisson might be in a spot of bother for an elbow to the teeth of Wade Graham in the 57th minute. Didn't look all that nice, maybe worth a week.

Nah. It was a head clash that hurt him. Nothing in the elbow which glanced the side of his face.

I wonder if Elliott regrets writing the Roosters off earlier in the year?

TheFrog

Nah. It was a head clash that hurt him. Nothing in the elbow which glanced the side of his face.
I wonder if Elliott regrets writing the Roosters off earlier in the year?

I wonder if you are looking at the same incident? It's not anything like a head clash, its an elbow to the mouth of a player on the ground, and it appears to connect. Jarryd Hayne used to enjoy doing this sort of thing earlier in his career but in latter years he's found more effective ways of hurting the opposition (when he's in the mood). Anyway, even if Aubisson gets away with it, someone should have a quiet word with him. I'm sure he doesn't want to become known as a grub. And one time he might not get away with it.

It is most un-Elliott like to write off oppositions. If he did so, well he was wrong. The Roosters were a rabble at Penrith in Round 5 but you could not write off a team with their personnel and coach even then.

Choppies

Great effort to back up from last week but I don't think we really showed what we can do. Penrith were fizzling out the last few weeks and last night they come to a halt.
I think we did what needed to be done to win. I still think there is alot of improvement in the side. God this has been a great year. No matter what happens next week and the week after what Brian Smith and our management have done to turn us around in 12 months is remarkable.