Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'11 | Origin I | 25 May | QLD 16-12 NSW | Suncorp #origin

SOO1: QLD v NSW

So its basically the same as when you watch the Roosters every week?

funny you should ask...while watching us lose to the Sharks again, I thought to myself

"Hmm, maybe NSW will bring me some joy this year...Roosters clearly won't"

Then i looked at the side :(

In summary, your petty insults are far less painful than actually having to sit through Roosters games :lol:

HowHigh

funny you should ask...while watching us lose to the Sharks again, I thought to myself

"Hmm, maybe NSW will bring me some joy this year...Roosters clearly won't"

Then i looked at the side :(

In summary, your petty insults are far less painful than actually having to sit through Roosters games :lol:
haha fair enough

BM1979

No Luke Lewis and No Aiden Tolman , very surpried , actually im not surprised at all really.

I rate Merrin very highly but it's a massive risk picking him this early in his career and I agree Watmough is an origin player and should be there somewhere.

I really feel sorry for Gordan too, this was his chance too excel at the elite level (I agree 100% with Sterlo).

That backline is very Young and unproven in rep football Gaz is really going to have to stand up and make sure he gets highly involved.

Gordon is injured, although I'm 100% Morris would have been picked over him anyway, despite being about half as talented

I like the side for the most part, will be cheering for them all the way.

That said...

I have problems with the following players:

Michael Jennings
Mitchell Pearce
Jason King
Greg Bird

Australian centre Jamal Idris should be there ahead of Jennings.

Jarrod Mullen outplayed Pearce if Round 10 is anything to go by.

King? Chronic injuries aren't the way we should be selecting our team. Tolman and Weyman both deserve to be FILTHY.

Bird starting ahead of Creagh? Oh dear. Swap 'em. Now.

Hope Sticky knows what he's doing.

Agree 100% on all points.

mxlegend99

No need to feel sorry for Michael Gordon - I don't think he would have been picked. Clearly form played no part in the team selection.

Otherwise we wouldn't have:
Josh Dugan - struggling to stay fit at club level, missed half the season already. Some strong games, but no better then Hayne, or even remotely close to Flash. With no rep experience there's no reason he should be considered without solid, consistent club performances leading into the game.
Michael Jennings - I'm a Panthers supporter, but he has played maybe 2 decent games all year. Granted one was the City vs Country match, but that's not enough for Origin selection. Although he beats using Idris on the wrong side of the field - it should have been Josh Morris simply for the fact he's a left centre and the most experienced with the left winger
Jason King - Worst selection by far. Panthers have 4/5 better front rowers then him, as do several other teams. If he wouldn't crack a few first grades top 17 players, he shouldn't be near the NSW top 17. There are so many front rowers that should have been ahead of him... Tolman, Galloway, Grant, Douglas, TLL etc. off the top of my head.

I also disagree with leaving out:
Jarryd Hayne - I would have had him at left wing until Flash was injured, but the second the form fullback of the competition was injured he should have kept his spot from last year. His form isn't great, but he's in better form then Dugan and he's one of the few NSW players to CONSISTENTLY carve QLD up.
Luke Lewis - Returned for the Panthers against a strong Broncos side and put in an awesome 80 minute performance, carving up a few potential QLD forwards. He's clearly fit enough, and he has proven himself capable of playing great footy at rep level with a MOTM performance for Australia last year.
Anthony Watmough - In one game he has caused more damage to QLD then Beau Scott or Ben Creagh could dream of doing between them in all 3 games. They're good club players, but guys like Lewis and Watmough are just more suited to rep games where things can get tough.

The inclusion of so many Dragons suggests that form and combinations were important to cracking the side, the above proves that it had nothing to do with it.

mozza91

Queensland by plenty other then Gasnier and Uate doing something individually brilliant I can't see NSW scoring points.

bottle

Pearce must have been selected based on the wide selection of meat pies he set up today... Seriously though, who do they pick? Mullen was ordinary today as well.

This is the real issue. It doesn't really matter who we pick in that role, they are all inferior to the guy wearing the 7 jumper on the other side. We have no stand out halfback, arguably the single most pivotal role in the team. Hence we are immediately behind the eight ball. The other selections are tinkering at the edges until we find someone who can stand up and make the 7 his own. They clearly have a love affair with Pearce from selectors through to commentators, despite the fact that he has failed to produce consistently. What is the viable alternative though? It's exasperating to be sure.

Ziggy the God

So what has Ricky Stuart been doing to pick such a crap NSW team?

FFS, we now have to sit through another series loss.

QLD 3-0, easily.

SingleSpeed73

Not a bad team considering the dearth of talent in key positions,

Ben Creagh - should be swapped for Watmough
Jennings and morris are perhaps the other 2 contentious ones
Dont have too much of a problem with King,
i reckon too many people are panicking b4 a games played lets see how it goes then do the Autopsy !

Tolman, Weyman, Douglas anyone but King, Who's wife has Hayne rooted? Yee Yow in the Aussie team over Hayne and now Duggan who's riding on the shirt tails of his successful season last year imo.

Qld 6-0 FMD the next few weeks are going to be painful in my hometown!!

Didgi

Ah, the list of players that should be there ahead of King is miles long. Ashton Sims ffs, and the better brother Tariq. Throw Korbin in there as well.

SingleSpeed73

The craziest thing about all the King critisism is that he wont be one that loses the game its going to come from Creagh, jennings Ennis or pearce
still wait for the ineviatable " we are building towards a team next year "