Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | R1 | Thu | Knights 14-15 Dragons* | Hunter

Round 1 result: Knights v Dragons

woodyk2

Why Uate dosnt see more ball is beyond me,looks dangerous every time he touches it.

hybrid_tiger

Uate doesn't see any ball because the Knights have Gidley at five-eighth.

Do the Knights have any injuries? Surely Cuthbertson will not start at prop every week?

Lightning fast pace for the first game of the season - I'm inclined to think that was an early peak for the Dragons but the signs are certainly promising for them, particularly with better attack compared to what they saw under Bennett.

As for the Knights, I think the decision to hit a penalty goal over in the opening minutes was arguably one of the silliest decisions in footy. All the momentum was with them after those two penalties and Saitns were on the back foot.

Elsewhere on the park, the Knights need to use their wings more - while the ball made it to McManus' wing on occasion, Uate was invisible man by comparison, only getting the ball and making runs when he ventured in field.

I don't think Bennett wanted to push things in the first game anyway but it's no time to start worrying for the Knights - just as it's no time to start getting cocky for the Dragons. A very, very long way to go.

Firey_Dragon

Quite happy with that hitout... Scrappy game in parts, but I think we've recruited quite intelligently over the off-season, our forward pack is certainly alot better. Latimore and Ah Mau will add alot of value, De Belin will develop into a quality player this season too.

It was a pretty frantic pace for first round, hopefully we can keep it up. Knights keep your chin up, the only way is up from here. Cuthbertson isn't a starter though

grandorient

I don't think Bennett wanted to push things in the first game anyway but it's no time to start worrying for the Knights - just as it's no time to start getting cocky for the Dragons. A very, very long way to go.

Completely agree there Timmah, although I was certainly pleased to see the Saints meld quite well under Price. Certainly, it would be completely foolish to get cocky as a Saints supporter; as you say, it's a long way to go, however the signs are quite reasonable.

On the other hand, I believe the Knights are going to be a very real force this season. On paper their team is first rate and under Bennett will meld in to a great team and one that will show up week after week.

I must say however, "I hate Golden Point".

GO

gronkathon

I really expected alot from Snowden last night given the Shark Park like conditions but he seemed nervous all game and his run up was non existen.

Cohesion will come with time though

Hutty1986

Boyd probably didn't get involved enough last night (sounds like most of 2011 tbh) but he looked very dangerous every time he did, I honestly think Uate is going to score 30+ tries this year with that backline play.

It was a boring game up until about the 70th minute TBH. The quality was average but pretty good for a season opener.

Newcastle will obviously see better days but if I was a Knights fan I would be worried about the defence, looked terrible most of the night. The Dragons have to be careful over the next week or 2, in the lead up they said it was an origin type feel, they need to make sure they don’t have a let down from that.

The other thing I got out of the match is that I am completely and utterly sick of the commentators and media being up Bennett’s ass. When Gidley dropped that ball off the scrum they barely even recognised the mistake, instead they congratulated Bennett on a great scrum plan :s

Knights were off the pace, the scoreline flattered them. Some derp errors aside from Cuthbertson and Stanley, the Dragons looked good, Soward had a solid game. Good to see a bit more variety in attack from them too.

Gidley in the halves will end in tears.

Extra time in the season opener! thank god footy's back

goosie

not a bad game by both teams especially as it is only round 1. saints came out firing with lots of intensity and knights were stunned early on.
Imo the knights wanted to slowly ease into the game being rnd 1 and saints had a different idea.

anjado

I thought it was a decent game for the opening round of the season, St George's defence on their line was top quality at times and this is what won them the game. There attacking play though left a bit to be desired and i think this is what will hold them back they should of had a bigger lead by half time.

Newcastle were a bit disjointed in all areas i expect them to improve though and i still think they will finish higher than the Saints. Gidley was a massive disappointment at five eighth never in the history of the game has a player been so overrated. He needs to move to dummy half when Stig gets back.

Slackboy72

For a season opener in the wet I think both teams will be pleased.
The mistakes were low for a wet game until the fatigue kicked in late in the game.
The intensity however was very good.

Joker's Wild

Read the tread, I'm certainly not on my lonesome

Well aside from lockyno1 (not a ringing endorcement) its pretty much you and one other Tigers fan.

Bedsy was good last night, especially in defence, but he was let down badly by his team mates around the ruck in attack. Twice he caught out the markers and absolutely no one was with him. He is not a stand and pass hooker, he is a thinker and they needed to have someone running off his hip.

BranVa3000 said:
Expecting Knights to finish the season in about 10th spot now

No mate, we'll leave 10th to the team who owns that spot. Souffs

Hutty1986

Well aside from lockyno1 (not a ringing endorcement) its pretty much you and one other Tigers fan.

Bedsy was good last night, especially in defence, but he was let down badly by his team mates around the ruck in attack. Twice he caught out the markers and absolutely no one was with him. He is not a stand and pass hooker, he is a thinker and they needed to have someone running off his hip.

No mate, we'll leave 10th to the team who owns that spot. Souffs

I actually thought Bedsy was a step ahead of his team mates a lot of the time last night, I reckon his stint overseas has reinvigorated himself & his footy