Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'13 PREMIERS | Roosters 26-18 Sea Eagles | Grand Final | ANZ

2013 PREMIERS - Your Pick

KeepingTheFaith

In what way? Society's way of telling kids 'everyone's a winner, here's a medal for losing'

Look, dont get me wrong DCE carved this year, he should've won the Dally M imo and was the best player of the finals series by a huge margin.

Tonight though? He tried his guts out but didnt get his team across the line. End of story. There were Roosters players who turned that game, won the game.

Anyway im not here to take away from the two teams performances, great game of footy

I always prefer the best in the winning team to get it, but I really don't think they were going for a message to society when they gave it to DCE or looking for respect.

I feel sorry for DCE more than anything. Must be a hollow feeling accepting it, and looking back, that medal will always come with a sense of sadness because they didn't win.

Love the haters.

Everyone blaming the refs when Manly got the dodgiest call in the game with a penalty try decision that was a disgrace.

As for DCE being CCM winner. are you serious. SBW turned that game on its head when the Chooks were down. DCE was nowhere near best on ground

undertaker

Well done Roosters, enjoy... Got to say without sounding too sour, Refs were pathetic and had a bearing on the game... But it's done, again enjoy Roosters fans, u had a awesome year...

I understand your point. However, refs have been crap not just in this game, but all year.

As someone else said, when Shayne Hayne is one of the best (if not, the best) in your refereeing stocks, you know you're in trouble. Hayne makes Russell Smith look like Greg McCallum. The issue isn't going to be solved next year unless there's a major overhaul of the refereeing system in the off-season. And to think that people thought that all problems were going to be solved when Robert Finch was boned, and then when Harrigan was boned.

It's a disgrace that De La Heras and Pedro Lyons got the arse in the off-season, yet people like Brett "I haven't had a shave for months" Suttor are allowed to hold a whistle.

Dragon

Well, you do realise it's happened twice, in 1991 (Brad Clyde) and 1993 (Brad Mackay)

And they would've traded it for a GF win any day of the week.

I knew the award was a media love fest when Darius f*cking Boyd won it in 2010 over Jason Nightingale.. if you aren't a half or fullback or cant be sold in the newspapers then you dont have a look in.

Watch Maloney miss the WC squad and Cherry make it. The Australian selectors always use it as a way to justify a selection. In 2009 Hayne was in unbelievable form, yet they give the medal to Slater so they have an excuse to leave Hayne out of the Australian side (not that Hayne should have been picked over Slater). Slater had a half decent game, but Blair and Cronk were far superior on the night.

The sooner the award is taken off the Australian Selectors and given to a panel of past players who are not affiliated with media/selection panels, the better.

Hutty1986

Love the haters.

Everyone blaming the refs when Manly got the dodgiest call in the game with a penalty try decision that was a disgrace.

As for DCE being CCM winner. are you serious. SBW turned that game on its head when the Chooks were down. DCE was nowhere near best on ground

Get the f*ck off here and go rip into some turps you fcking softc*ck

undertaker

Just had a look again at that pass by Maloney to Minichello (which led to the Roosters taking the lead) and I have to say it looks like Joe Montana made a special guest appearance for the Roosters for the 2nd week in a row.

t-ba

Just had a look again at that pass by Maloney to Minichello (which led to the Roosters taking the lead) and I have to say it looks like Joe Montana made a special guest appearance for the Roosters for the 2nd week in a row.

It was pretty forward, but basically 50% or so of passes made these days would have been pulled as forward 20 years ago.

We shouldn't have lost that from 18-8 down.

undertaker

true

...and that has been the status quo for a while now.

I seriously laughed my guts off when throughout the Dally M top 10 count, it was pretty much all dominated by the halves (with Cameron Smith being an exception). I laughed even harder when Luke Walsh got as high as 5th or 6th. Seriously, it was like the Dally M judges just had a look at the team rosters to see who the halves are from each side, ignored the rest of the side and heavily weigh their points distribution towards anyone who was a 5/8th or half-back. The days where players like Billy Slater and Danny Buderus won the Dally M award are going to be a thing of the past and will soon be the "best half of the year" award.

undertaker

It was pretty forward, but basically 50% or so of passes made these days would have been pulled as forward 20 years ago.

We shouldn't have lost that from 18-8 down.

So then, if the part in bold is true, why do we have touch-judges, let alone pay them?

That pass by SBW last week which led to the Roosters getting a healthy lead before half-time was a joke. I can't understand how BLATANT forward passes like that and the one tonight weren't picked up.

Danish

Congrats to all the manly fans on here and at he game tonight.

Both supporters had plenty of respect for each other, and none of the manly fans arounde or on here seem to be taking the loss with a bunch of spite. Class team and class fans.

Absolutely hilarious that all the butthurt about reffing decisions and what have you is coming from all the so-called neutrals who spent the whole week talking up how little interest they had in the GF :lol:

t-ba

So then, if the part in bold is true, why do we have touch-judges, let alone pay them?

That pass by SBW last week which led to the Roosters getting a healthy lead before half-time was a joke. I can't understand how that wasn't picked up. We're slowly turning into Union, where a myriad of forward passes are thrown.

I really don't know. This is something that could probably be fixed up by modern tracking technology that would have minimun interference on the game. Sod this 'out of the hands crap just call a ball forward if it travels forward...

But this has been the interpretation since at least the War ended so tough luck changing that...

t-ba

Congrats to all the manly fans on here and at he game tonight.

Both supporters had plenty of respect for each other, and none of the manly fans arounde or on here seem to be taking the loss with a bunch of spite. Class team and class fans.

Absolutely hilarious that all the butthurt about reffing decisions and what have you is coming from all the so-called neutrals who spent the whole week talking up how little interest they had in the GF :lol:

I'm trying to figure out how the mighty Watmong would spell conspiracy but I can't...Once I do there'll be heaps of bitterness...