Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'16 | R7 | Sat | BRI 53-0 NEW | Suncorp

Round 7: Broncos v Knights

Noname36

Right so the knights signed players because they wanted to play with johns.
You do know that it has been possible for the Broncos to do this due to the presence of Langer, Lockyer, Bennett,k and webke the list goes on and on.
Stop contradicting yourself ffs.

Can you not read moron? I was discussing the Cowboys and Knights - not Brisbane. Also your point is based on players that retired years ago. The massive increase in TPAs has been more recent. As for players wanting to play for Bennett - yep sure, but he also re-signed the likes of Tyrone Roberts on 450k at Newcastle and Uate on 500k so with Bennett's generosity (aka being used to having TPA access) I don't think his players ever go without. If he was happy to hand that kind of money out to Roberts and Uate just try and imagine what some of the current Bronco's squad are on :lol::lol::lol:

THE CHAMP

You idiot.
You stated you signed players for nothing because they wanted to play with johns.
Tpas have no effect on this whatsoever.
Your club just needs to develop some top shelf players again.
Its possible you know.
But instead you wanna sook and have the,nrl sort it out for you.
The bitching in here has made that victory so much sweeter.

Noname36

Just becuaee I don't care doesn't mean I don't have awareness.

How much awareness would you say you have of the consequence of addressing the TPA imbalance? Have you thought of the impact that would have on the code itself in regards to its advertising space against other codes?

Ah so it's a good thing that it's imbalanced? Don't want to disrupt the clearly working (LOL :lol:) current apple cart?

Classic.

Also I never said let's get rid of TPAs, if it were up to me we'd might as well just remove the cap because its whole purpose to keep the competition even is redundant now anyway - but you clearly have no idea about the state of the game outside of the Broncos.

Noname36

You idiot.
You stated you signed players for nothing because they wanted to play with johns.
Tpas have no effect on this whatsoever.
Your club just needs to develop some top shelf players again.
Its possible you know.
But instead you wanna sook and have the,nrl sort it out for you.
The bitching in here has made that victory so much sweeter.

Holy shit I hope this is a pathetic attempt at reaching because nobody could possibly be that dense surely?

My entire point was that if you're lucky enough to have a once in a generation player like Newcastle had and NQ do currently it can change the fortunes of a small market club in a number of ways through media, sponsorship, TPAs, more good players, etc. Things they otherwise wouldn't have as much access to in a small market - things your club, alone in a capital city take for granted.

And sure, produce another Johns, right, we'll get right on that. So simple, not sure why we didn't think of it before :lol::lol::lol::lol::lol:

lockyrulz

Ah so it's a good thing that it's imbalanced? Don't want to disrupt the clearly working (LOL :lol:) current apple cart?

Classic.

Also I never said let's get rid of TPAs, if it were up to me we'd might as well just remove the cap because its whole purpose to keep the competition even is redundant now anyway - but you clearly have no idea about the state of the game outside of the Broncos.

I never said it was good thing. I see it as a necessary thing until the right balance is reached. It forces clubs to get their shit together. Otherwise, why would they bother? They can just continue to be inept and the nrl will ensure it wont matter.

If it was up to me, there would have been a rationalisation of NSW clubs long ago, and a requirement for each club to met professional standards to be allowed to play in the NRL. But that thinking doest sit well with the chook raffle brigade.

What you are advocating is that successful clubs spend less so that less successful clubs can keep up. You were so busy trying to flame like a 12 year old you forgot to address the point I am making. Have you bothered to consider the impact gimping the code would have?

THE CHAMP

Yep all the great players the Broncos have developed over the,years landed right on our doorstep.
Here's an idea find a good recruitment officer. That's how we did it.
Ffs suck it up you're sounding like a massive sook.
Your team is shit and got flogged by a better side. A side on the top of,the ladder.
Its happens. The fact that you hate my club isn't having some effect on your judgement?

catweasel

Yep all the great players the Broncos have developed over the,years landed right on our doorstep.
Your team is shit and got flogged by a better side. A side on the top of,the ladder.
Its happens. The fact that you hate my club isn't having some effect on your judgement?

RIP Cyril Connell.

Noname36

I never said it was good thing. I see it as a necessary thing until the right balance is reached. It forces clubs to get their shit together. Otherwise, why would they bother? They can just continue to be inept and the nrl will ensure it wont matter.

If it was up to me, there would have been a rationalisation of NSW clubs long ago, and a requirement for each club to met professional standards to be allowed to play in the NRL. But that thinking doest sit well with the chook raffle brigade.

What you are advocating is that successful clubs spend less so that less successful clubs can keep up. You were so busy trying to flame like a 12 year old you forgot to address the point I am making. Have you bothered to consider the impact gimping the code would have?

Again - this post points to zero awareness if you think all small market teams need to do is "get their shit together". The Raiders for example are one of the wealthiest and best run clubs in the competition but they can't sign anyone of profile or even keep a star they produced because they're not in a market that has access to unlimited money outside of the cap like yours does.

I have also never ever advocated that bigger clubs should be forced to spend less so the smaller ones can keep up - please state where I have. I do however think that the NRL needs to get it's head out of the sand and at least acknowledge there is a problem for the good of the game - they haven't even done that yet.

Noname36

Read the thread again champ, I was the one that said people are overreacting based on this one game which was always going to go the way it did.

Your general "insights" though are absolutely ridiculous - frighteningly so. You should probably put down the Redhill kool-aid.

THE CHAMP

Read the thread again champ, I was the one that said people are overreacting based on this one game which was always going to go the way it did.

Your general "insights" though are absolutely ridiculous - frighteningly so. You should probably put down the Redhill kool-aid.

Go and apply for a job at the knights I reckon you could fix everything.
Either do that or keep crying until the nrl comes and saves your arse.
Don't hold your breath on that one though.
Your club is f**ked but chin up in a few years your lot might get to 12th

blaza88z

I eagerly anticipate the match thread post game when the Knights get toweled up by Manly

what a bunch of sooks

lockyrulz

Again - this post points to zero awareness if you think all small market teams need to do is "get their shit together". The Raiders for example are one of the wealthiest and best run clubs in the competition but they can't sign anyone of profile or even keep a star they produced because they're not in a market that has access to unlimited money outside of the cap like yours does.

I have also never ever advocated that bigger clubs should be forced to spend less so the smaller ones can keep up - please state where I have. I do however think that the NRL needs to get it's head out of the sand and at least acknowledge there is a problem for the good of the game - they haven't even done that yet.

They should acknowledge it... but not do anything about it...

Is that you Malcolm?

Shorty

Canberra is due to location, like Newcastle and NQ.
I dunno how you solve that, Cows did by pretty much having proud NQers (or proud ex Cowboys) in all facets of the club.
It seems like Canberra has a revolving door of up and comers, its surely not just location as some of them are juniors.
Player management maybe?

johnny plath

NQ must have done a lot of work on development as well. They are successful at every level at the moment ....
Cyrill Connel cup champs 2015, Mal Meninga cup champs 2015, and leading the way in these comps again this year. GIO schoolboy champs 2015, QLD Cup grandfinalists 2015, and preilim finalists in u20 Holden cup 2015. I don't think you can just call that luck and a bunch of good juniors coming through. I don't know how long they've had these programs in place, but its not an overnight success story. It will be interesting to see if NQ can continue to dominate all of these development pathways into the future indefinitely, or if other regions find a way to catch up.,

Knightmare

I watched the first half at Jupiters' figuring if it was close enough at halftime I'd stay, but the end of the first half was enough for me and turns out I didn't miss much. All I'll say about it is f**k me, the Knights wouldn't leak half as many points if they weren't so f**king stupid with the football- forcing desperate passes early in the set that don't stick, clumsy ball control leading to coughing up possession, pointless kicks that don't build any momentum- compare it to the Broncos who would've figured out within 10 minutes that all they had to do was play it safe, make high completions and they could grind the Knights into the dirt. I'd hate to see what the scoreline would've been with that performance if they played the Cowboys...I wouldn't have put it past them reaching triple digits!

Regarding the issue of parity: it seems that as long as at least one of the Broncos, Bulldogs, Souths or Roosters are doing well, the NRL is happy. These teams have high membership numbers, rate well on TV and (when they're winning) draw the big crowds. This means a higher value product and more $$$ for the NRL- in return they'll play Colonel Klink with any TPA's to attract or keep the winning squads together. On the other hand while teams like Wests, Canberra, Gold Coast or the Knights MAY have one or two good seasons and possibly win a Premiership out of it, the NRL couldn't care less about their consistent success. Not when there's far more for the NRL to gain from the Big 4's continued success.

If I were a Cowboys fan, I'd be hoping that NQ win as many more Premierships as they can while JT is there. Because once he's gone, I fear they'll go the same way as the Knights post-Joey and (in the eyes of the NRL and Ch9 at least) the Broncos will once again become the only team in Qld they give a shit about. This talk of the Broncos being over the cap is rubbish, too. Players just really, really, really want to play for Uncle Wayne and they will happily forsake 300k from other clubs just for the privilege. The new house, flash new car, speedboat, paid advertising gigs, heavy brown paper bags and guaranteed 7-day game turnarounds they get for the privilege is just a coincidence...

Knightmare

People who follow the game know that Brisbane are able to recruit players to their club at lower salaries than any other team has to pay, due to third party payments. This is because of their one team in a large capital city status and it is why they have fought to protect it as long as they have been in the premiership. What it means is they can have better quality players, and more of them, than other teams, without breaking the salary cap rules. It hasn't translated to all that many premierships, especially since 2001, but they miss the finals only once in 10 years, whereas some clubs only make the finals once or twice in ten years.

This is why some supporters of other less advantaged clubs resent the Broncos and to some degree, the Roosters, although the latter don't have it nearly as good as the Broncos. The Roosters are very creative with back- and front-loaded player contracts, which explains why they have to endure a poor season or two every few years. The Broncos have never had what you'd call a poor season. A poor season is just missing the finals to them, or being eliminated first week.

Broncos supporters, hardly surprisingly, see nothing whatever wrong with such a state of affairs, so you are just going to have to live with the views of other fans of the sport, who don't think it is a good thing that one club should enjoy such advantages.

Apparently the English Premier League (soccer) is much worse, but I don't follow that, I follow the NRL. I'd like to see the playing field really levelled. It would be so easy to do, if the game's keepers had the will.

Oh, and one other thing. A 53 to nil score is not good footy, unless you happen to support the team that won.

Funny you say that during this current season out of them all- billionaire Chelsea are mid-table, Man United are hot and cold and the League will be won either by Tottenham or that mega-rich glamour team....Leicester City!

Mogsheen Jadwat

**I am not a Brisbane fan, disclaimer added**

Except Brisbane were considered trash before the start of last year with huge question marks on them. There's no need for revisionism, just look at how many people rated them before the start of last year, then after they got schooled by Souths in round 1.

They only added Roberts, which was pretty questionable, but on the basis everyone thought they sucked last year, surely they weren't at their cap ceiling? They did release a few players as well...

Newcastle were f**king awful, as you alluded to. That was the reason they lost, nothing other. Newcastle need a cleanout like Penrith and Gold Coast, get rid of all the ol boys on high wages doing nothing, replace them with up and comers on half the wage (from places like the u20's, both state leagues, etc). Whether there's going to be too much resistance from the old boys club is another matter...

Knightmare

"Brisbane being a good football side is bad for Rugby League" - typical NSW fan

It's the story as old as the Broncos themselves, since our first game ever when we smashed Manly and surprised the lot of them.

I used to wonder why people would wear their Maroons jerseys to Broncos games but posts like this go a long way towards explaining it. Gronks like you find it impossible to differentiate Origin from the NRL- or comprehend how anybody could dislike your beloved team without it being entirely to do with them being from interstate.

Funny how Sydney people got behind the Cowboys in the GF last year, huh? Or even back in '04 when they played the Bulldogs and Roosters in the finals in Sydney...

THE CHAMP

I used to wonder why people would wear their Maroons jerseys to Broncos games but posts like this go a long way towards explaining it. Gronks like you find it impossible to differentiate Origin from the NRL- or comprehend how anybody could dislike your beloved team without it being entirely to do with them being from interstate.

Funny how Sydney people got behind the Cowboys in the GF last year, huh? Or even back in '04 when they played the Bulldogs and Roosters in the finals in Sydney...

It's just green saltybutt.
You seem to have a severe case there