Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'16 | R9 | Sat | PEN 19-18 CAN | Bathurst

Round 9: Panthers v Raiders

franklin2323

A few penalties in the ruck weren't awarded to the Panthers.Not to mention a couple were we lost the ball.

But overall,you have to credit both sides for a good,tight contest.

It's part of the game. I think Matagi was stripped and should of been a drop out. Doesn't mean we sook 2 days later about it

Black Magik

Canberra will break the rules plenty. That doesnt mean the rules shouldnt be enforced correctly. If we put up a wall for a field goal (the only place this matters) and get penalised id be annoyed because this was let go but it would be the correct interpretation of the rules
Enforced correctly! When the ref's start making players play the ball where they're tackled, use their feet and don't touch markers then maybe this rule should be enforced correctly! That craps occurs more often than a "wall" and a diving player.

betcats

Tough loss raiders fans. A penalty probably should of been given on that field goal but after what we have seen let go in those situations before you cant count on a penalty there and I don't think the obstructed player would of made a difference on the FG.

franklin2323

Enforced correctly! When the ref's start making players play the ball where they're tackled, use their feet and don't touch markers then maybe this rule should be enforced correctly! That craps occurs more often than a "wall" and a diving player.

forget that. Refs can't even rule when players are infront of the kicker for kickoffs

Walt Flanigan

All those tries went with on field call and were 50/50 at best. Matagi was stripped should of been a drop out. The list goes on. To say it was all one way is just crazy

Keh? I'm not sure what that has to do with my post that you quoted.

I was talking about issues we have in attack that might not be addressed if we had won. Nothing to do with ref calls.

mxlegend99

The best half on the field was Bryce Cartwright... considering the experince of Soward and Wallace and the potential of Austin and Sezer (theyre reasonably experienced also) it's ridiculous that a second rower was looking a better playmaker then those guys.

No Cartwright and Raiders win by heaps. He scored a try. Set one up. Stopped Papalii a number of times. Considering he usually misses a lot of tackles his defence was pretty good against a beast of a human.

franklin2323

2 years ago Penrith were penalised TWICE for that in one game!

Where's that spoiler thread? I need to find it and complain about inconsistent refereeing.

You don't see that penalised now despite every kickoff someone being off side. Like the atleat 1 forward pass from dummy half per set. Yet these nuffies look at the 1 play and scream for it. I could find similar for most sets

franklin2323

Keh? I'm not sure what that has to do with my post that you quoted.

I was talking about issues we have in attack that might not be addressed if we had won. Nothing to do with ref calls.

sorry. I thought you were talking about the referee calls.

Both teams were very ordinary for long patches in that game. There was a 20 min period when a single set wasn't completed

papabear

Geez. I hope I never EVER see Canberra put up a wall (again) when kicking long, bombing or going for the 1 point. That would be against the rules and they never EVER would do that.

well I hope they don't either its against the rules.

That said, I don't think most canberra fans would have cared if it never went up stairs, but how it could have gone up stairs to look at that particular indiscretion and then rule that it never happened is mind blowing and unlike a lot sydney teams we won't even get an explanation.

For instance, penriths second try off the offload back inside, a canberra guy might have been impended in the ptb or near the middle from memory which limited his chance to cover that space, but the ref didnt go upstairs so no one really cares.

But if the bunker has the benefit of looking at the thing over and over again till he gets it right he should get obvious ones right.

papabear

You don't see that penalised now despite every kickoff someone being off side. Like the atleat 1 forward pass from dummy half per set. Yet these nuffies look at the 1 play and scream for it. I could find similar for most sets

there is heaps of crap in the game officiated poorly.

but the field goal play should have seen a different decision, we probably would have been too shit to win anyways, but still a different decision should have been made by the bunker.

TheFrog

but how it could have gone up stairs to look at that particular indiscretion and then rule that it never happened

The audio seems to indicate that they ruled there was enough space between Segeyaro (who was the dummy half) and Merrin for him to fit through. That he contacted them both, as well as the tackled player for that matter, seems to indicate they thought he was playing for a penalty.

franklin2323

there is heaps of crap in the game officiated poorly.

but the field goal play should have seen a different decision, we probably would have been too shit to win anyways, but still a different decision should have been made by the bunker.

He might of gotten through if he didn't play for a penalty. Like the Lee kick they probably didn't see enough to over turn it

Pete Cash

The audio seems to indicate that they ruled there was enough space between Segeyaro (who was the dummy half) and Merrin for him to fit through. That he contacted them both, as well as the tackled player for that matter, seems to indicate they thought he was playing for a penalty.

Mate are you all there because thats not the rule. Vaughan shouldnt have had to run between seg and merrin because that wasnt the most direct route. That route was blocked by the panthers wall.

Its ok to be biased but please live somewhat in the real world

Pete Cash

He might of gotten through if he didn't play for a penalty. Like the Lee kick they probably didn't see enough to over turn it

Again even if merrin didnt touch vaughan its a raiders penalty. Vaughan (or any raiders player) is allowed a direcr run at wallace without panthers players forming a wall at the ptb. Its a black and white call

TheFrog

Mate are you all there because thats not the rule. Vaughan shouldnt have had to run between seg and merrin because that wasnt the most direct route. That route was blocked by the panthers wall.

Its ok to be biased but please live somewhat in the real world

I'm just telling you what the audio indicates. Check it for yourself. I did say earlier we were a bit lucky. You are just going to have to get over this. You won a close one in Round 1 now you've lost a close one. That's the way it goes.

papabear

I hear ya, I know that's why they made the decision they did, but those aren't the rules.

Unfortunately in this particular case, the bunker ref just justified his decision making on what he felt was the vibe of the play as opposed to following the rules.

Pete Cash

I'm just telling you what the audio indicates. Check it for yourself. I did say earlier we were a bit lucky. You are just going to have to get over this. You won a close one in Round 1 now you've lost a close one. That's the way it goes.

So like I've said the video ref forgot the rule. It's pretty odd that we hold the refs to such a low standard they get a pass when they get a rule wrong.

franklin2323

Again even if merrin didnt touch vaughan its a raiders penalty. Vaughan (or any raiders player) is allowed a direcr run at wallace without panthers players forming a wall at the ptb. Its a black and white call

What classes as a wall to you maybe different to someone else. However slight there was a gap though.

I have a novel idea. Refs just enforce rules in black and white terms and not try to "manage" the game. Make the players play within the rules. If it takes a few 50-40 penalty counts before they learn, tough shit!