Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

flippikat

Maybe a super Saturday in Adelade
Whatever it is, it needs to be a reliable way for people there to try attending NRL games - a minimum of 2 "events" per season should be the aim.

Whether each "event" is a single first-grade game, a double-header, or a triple-header/Super Saturday is open for debate.. but getting (say) one event before Origin & one after would mean they get a regular sample of live content.

Then we can guage popularity of the sport there, maybe even add more content in the run-up to a club there (Another regular season game or two, Origin, tests, pre-season trials, a revival of the Nines even..)

Whatever it is, it needs to be a reliable way for people there to try attending NRL games - a minimum of 2 "events" per season should be the aim.

Whether each "event" is a single first-grade game, a double-header, or a triple-header/Super Saturday is open for debate.. but getting (say) one event before Origin & one after would mean they get a regular sample of live content.

Then we can guage popularity of the sport there, maybe even add more content in the run-up to a club there (Another regular season game or two, Origin, tests, pre-season trials, a revival of the Nines even..)
I totally agree, the only problem is it is reliant on the State govt chucking money at the NRL. WA has been happy to in order to get max use out of stadiums and keep pushing for a club. Would there be such enthusiasm from SA govt?

NRL has no strategy around this other than to take the cash when it is offered.

Canard

I am not the one who is selling it to clubs and TV.

I am sure all the CEO's got all the required info when they were briefed at Magic Round.

There is so much self interest in RL that if there is nothing in it for 1 club that we hear about it

Ask yourself this, if the proposal of government(taxypayer) funding wasn't available, would we even be talking about PNG.

Vlandy's is hoping to sway clubs on the basis of them getting more NRL monies, as PNG will be funded by us (the taxpayer)

Quite literally any other 18th team would deliver the same amount of money (by virtue of the extra game), but likely even more as it would be in an environment where advertisers care to be.

"We want to keep growing," NRL CEO Andrew Abdo declared late last year. "By the end of 2024, we will know what it looks like for an 18th franchise and potentially beyond that."

Debate around expansion in the NRL has rumbled on ever since the Dolphins became the first new franchise to enter into the league since the Gold Coast Titans in 2007.

The Dolphins have proved to be a roaring success since their inception with the Redcliffe-based outfit gaining legions of fans under the stewardship of Wayne Bennett .

However, the Dolphins’ inclusion has brought with it some associated headaches when it comes to scheduling, with the NRL having to implement bye rounds due to the uneven numbers in the competition.

Therefore, the 17th franchise was always going to be the initial step towards a greater expansion effort with an extra game to generate increased television revenue now at the forefront of the Commission’s agenda.

The newest NRL franchise has long been rumoured to be connected to Papua New Guinea.

The bid forms part of a soft diplomacy pitch by the Australian federal government in a move which will try to fend off China’s growing interest in the region.

The support of the Australian government is paramount to the expansion goals with ARLC chair Peter V’landys noting the outline for talks during Magic Round.

"It’s not a done deal," V’landys said of the PNG expansion bid.

"We’ve got a few negotiation points that we haven’t quite got over and if we don’t get over them, unfortunately it won’t happen."

Discussions around the club being based in Cairns but travelling to Port Moresby for games has been floated, as has the construction of a state-of-the-art facility and living compound to house the club in PNG.

"What we want to do is be based in PNG, and that’s important," V’landys stressed.

"But you need to have good facilities there, good accommodation and all of those things are on the table at the moment."

Prime minister Anthony Albanese has often been a vocal supporter of the move to expand into the region, although noted how the ultimate decision would rest in the hands of the NRL.

"It’s not a decision for the government," Albanese said.

"But we know we have a bit of competitive tension in the region and engagement, if you like, in soft diplomacy, showing the relationship between Australia and our neighbours, that is so important."

V’landys revealed during Magic Round conversations had been had to determine the exact details of the PNG bid, before it will be taken to all 17 NRL clubs to potentially sign off on.

In the wake of this meeting, it was reported the federal government and the NRL ironed out a 10-year deal which would see $600m spent as rugby league was used as a source of diplomacy in the Pacific.

"If the balls fall into place, it will be two or three weeks (until a final decision on expansion)," V’landys concluded.

The bid stemming from Western Australia poses far less risk than the PNG move but is currently believed to be the second favourite option for expansion.

With the PNG bid given a tentative green light last week, the NRL will reportedly instead seek licences for the 19th and 20th teams in the near future with Perth at the top of this list.

"I’m taking an AVO out on (Western Australia Premier Roger Cook)," V’landys joked.

"He rings me every day asking to put a Perth team in, and their bid is looking very, very good."

Perth’s bid has often been linked to the possible resurrection of the North Sydney Bears as a prominent force once again.

V’landys hinted that the two proponents joining forces would only serve to strengthen their chances of being accepted.

"It would certainly help their bid because the Bears have a strong supporter base," he said.

"They have also got a feeder system and juniors, so it makes sense for Perth to look at that proposal."

Under this guise, the Bears will be granted a handful of matches at North Sydney Oval each season, while the rest of the assigned home games will be played in Perth.

Meanwhile, Bennett has backed the push to return to Western Australia in the near future.

"I believe Perth should be one of the expansion teams," the legendary coach said.

"They are very rugby league-aware now and have had a lot of teams over there and Origin games.

"It’s a huge area of income – they have got some of the biggest companies in Australia in Perth. It all makes sense, and they have got great facilities."

Let’s get one thing clear about the NRL’s fresh bid for expansion — it’s a great plan and it will be a success.

There’s an attitude, and an incorrect perception, that there’s not enough first grade talent to fill the 30 man rosters of the teams slated to join the NRL in the coming years.

A Papua New Guinea outfit and a potential return for the Bears, who could make a move to Perth, can only be a good thing for rugby league.
The people of PNG are rugby league mad, and the Dolphins have been nothing but a hit and are firmly placed inside the top eight in only their second first grade campaign.

However, we could put their success down to master coach Wayne Bennett and recruitment guru Peter O’Sullivan.

I’ve watched rugby league since I was five years old and the games I enjoy watching the most are clashes between teams in the bottom eight.

From an entertainment perspective, I much prefer to watch less clinical, less sanitised and less structured football. We get to see rising stars unearthed and teams play an exciting style.

Watching games from teams floating around the top eight and below also often don’t hinge on a single error. You knock the ball on in your half, the Panthers will make you pay.
They take risks, and that’s the footy I love to watch. At times, watching the top teams can be boring. They dominate and hold their structure at all times, and that’s what makes them elite.

So let’s reframe the question of is there enough talent to sustain a new NRL franchise? It doesn’t matter, there doesn’t need to be.
What needs to happen is an even spread of talented players, and that starts with giving strong development clubs compensation for their juniors leaving.

Clubs like the Panthers, Broncos, Roosters and Cowboys. They lose lots of players to rivals who are happy to poach promising stars from their junior systems.
It could be something along the lines of if a player is at the club for 2-3 years, if they then lose that player they could get an extra roster spot capped at a certain value.

They could get an extra base salary spot to sign another player to their squad. Now there needs to be a limit, so maybe clubs only are allowed two extra spots.

Beyond that, clubs could be given some other form of compensation, which means they’d be more inclined to let go of players coming through the ranks.

As it stands, there’s no external benefit of having a strong junior system, and in turn clubs aren’t inclined to let players leave.

But clubs need to start being compensated, because otherwise we won’t have enough talent in the future should they dampen the emphasis on development.

Iamback

Ask yourself this, if the proposal of government(taxypayer) funding wasn't available, would we even be talking about PNG.

Vlandy's is hoping to sway clubs on the basis of them getting more NRL monies, as PNG will be funded by us (the taxpayer)

Quite literally any other 18th team would deliver the same amount of money (by virtue of the extra game), but likely even more as it would be in an environment where advertisers care to be.

The govt money isn't for life, I'd expect with how money hungry the NRL are that the bid stands on its own.

Again on that. I doubt the actual NRL see much of that, You'd think that would be towards the gate community they speak of

You don't think a club, NSWRL or QRL ( both of whom hate PVL ) wouldn't of asked what happens if the money runs out?

Wb1234

The govt money isn't for life, I'd expect with how money hungry the NRL are that the bid stands on its own.

Again on that. I doubt the actual NRL see much of that, You'd think that would be towards the gate community they speak of

You don't think a club, NSWRL or QRL ( both of whom hate PVL ) wouldn't have asked what happens if the money runs out?
Pvl said he expects the 600 million to have fully developed pathways

Andrew hill was the one who said png would have a strong bid based in png

You don't think a club, NSWRL or QRL ( both of whom hate PVL ) wouldn't of asked what happens if the money runs out?
Pretty sure his answer was. 'dont worry about that, here's $2mill each now run along''.

Canard

You just said that the game won't be the top game in the Pacific.

Yet now that ambition isn't good enough?
I said the game ISN'T the biggest in the Pacific.

But who really cares? I'd would like to think we have far more ambition than that.

Canard

Mate, PNG isn't going to be sustainable without government money.

Pacific matters for player depth, worth nothing commercially. So far we have seen very little investment by the NRL in the Pacific, if its not got a hand out by Govt attached they havent bothered at all with the region.

Mate, PNG isn't going to be sustainable without government money.
what makes you say that?
15k stadium with hardly any corporate facilities,
local fanbase population of 400k, most of whom are below the poverty line
limited interest for sponsors outside a few in PNG

Sounds to me like Andrew Hill knows his stuff and they'll have no problem without our money, maybe we shouldnt be giving them it if it isnt needed? lol

Knows more than the bears ceo about the bears finances

knows more about the secret png bid details than the guy that’s put the bid together
I knew club 18 wasnt coming in before 2027 and that PNG would never be based in Cairns, unlike you lol.