Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Wb1234

I remember Newtown losing the 1981 NSWRL GF to Parramatta, the Eels first ever GF win and Brett Kenny’s first GF hat trick.
I remember Newtown and Steve Bowden beating the crap out of Manly and Mark Broadhurst, I remember Newtown drawing twice with the Bulldogs in 1982 0-0 and 1-1 and I remember Newtowns’ final season being 1983.
Newtowns last gf win was in the 40s

maximis has no idea as ususal

Centy Coast

You must have written that bullshit. Your club is a parasite. You can’t get back in the nrl unless you ride on the back of the efforts of others. Your claims are utter bullshit. You are a feeder club at best. Ffs you haven’t existed as an nrl club for quarter of a century. You haven’t won a bloody premiership in a century. Your junior comp is abysmal. You have 5 under 7s teams. Ffs mate. Deal with reality.
You sound upset, “Phins up”, I’d be upset as well if my team were given a dream draw the last two seasons and can’t take advantage of it.
You are a Sydney club in the NRL yet you can’t afford your own NSW Cup team, please.
How about that crowd last night, impressive.

MugaB

Absolute self serving Sydney centric crap. It’s so patronising and condescending it’s pathetic. You are a sanctimonious wanker mate..
He isn't wrong, you're thinking about the ownership and the branding of this Perth team, not about its best chance to be successful from the get go, I'm all for a Perth team to come in and be its own thing like the Reds were, but they haven't done anything at their lower teir to be able to be competitive, had they had a comp running like the likes of qrl or nswrl then yeah no worries, but when the highest level was spooning forever as an SGball team, having an outfit like the bears port over is a no brainer, if this was easts tigers of Brisbane saying they wanted to be in Perth I'd be right behind it in the same way

RedVee

I remember Newtown losing the 1981 NSWRL GF to Parramatta, the Eels first ever GF win and Brett Kenny’s first GF hat trick.
I remember Newtown and Steve Bowden beating the crap out of Manly and Mark Broadhurst, I remember Newtown drawing twice with the Bulldogs in 1982 0-0 and 1-1 and I remember Newtowns’ final season being 1983.
They beat my Saints 1-0 in a SCG game… sad train ride home for this bloke

MugaB

Yeah over 20 years after the Bears last won anything. That's the point you stupid merkin.
Fk me none of this matters, Perth red's never won anything either, who gives a f**k... expansion isn't about purely winning comps, it's about expanding the game, successfully... best chance for Perth is NS bears or East tigers to port over

Vlad59

He isn't wrong, you're thinking about the ownership and the branding of this Perth team, not about its best chance to be successful from the get go, I'm all for a Perth team to come in and be its own thing like the Reds were, but they haven't done anything at their lower teir to be able to be competitive, had they had a comp running like the likes of qrl or nswrl then yeah no worries, but when the highest level was spooning forever as an SGball team, having an outfit like the bears port over is a no brainer, if this was easts tigers of Brisbane saying they wanted to be in Perth I'd be right behind it in the same way
Just having fun mate and flaming where i can.