Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

RedVee

From the DT article posted earlier today. No details except a promise to keep trying to get the expansion slot.

——
Former New Zealand coach Frank Endacott is involved in another of the south island bids that was rejected late last week.

It is believed he has held furtive talks with Searle, Chalmers and the Orcas about a merger.

“We’ve received an email notifying us the bid had been rejected,” Endacott said.

“We haven’t got further information at this stage, but we’re not giving up this easily. We haven’t given up hope.

“It came as a shock because we felt we had put together a strong bid. But we’re determined to have a second team in New Zealand and there’s three bids from this region.

“Obviously I feel we, the south island bid, have the strongest bid.

“But I just want to see an NRL team in Christchurch and if one of the other bids was to be successful, that would be wonderful for the game in New Zealand.

“There is no doubt in my mind this city can sustain an NRL team. If an NRL team came to Christchurch, it would be the best thing to happen to the city for decades.”…

Endacott insisted a second team in New Zealand would threaten rugby union’s grip on the country.

“Rugby union would be seriously under threat in this country if the NRL had two rugby league teams in New Zealand,” he said.

Gobsmacked

From the DT article posted earlier today. No details except a promise to keep trying to get the expansion slot.

——
Former New Zealand coach Frank Endacott is involved in another of the south island bids that was rejected late last week.

It is believed he has held furtive talks with Searle, Chalmers and the Orcas about a merger.

“We’ve received an email notifying us the bid had been rejected,” Endacott said.

“We haven’t got further information at this stage, but we’re not giving up this easily. We haven’t given up hope.

“It came as a shock because we felt we had put together a strong bid. But we’re determined to have a second team in New Zealand and there’s three bids from this region.

“Obviously I feel we, the south island bid, have the strongest bid.

“But I just want to see an NRL team in Christchurch and if one of the other bids was to be successful, that would be wonderful for the game in New Zealand.

“There is no doubt in my mind this city can sustain an NRL team. If an NRL team came to Christchurch, it would be the best thing to happen to the city for decades.”…

Endacott insisted a second team in New Zealand would threaten rugby union’s grip on the country.

“Rugby union would be seriously under threat in this country if the NRL had two rugby league teams in New Zealand,” he said.
It's fair to say " a second nz team would deal a massive blow to RU in NZ !"

Anyone know who will own the PNG license? will it be NRL controlled, PNGRL, PNG govt or a private new entity?

Canard

Anyone know who will own the PNG license? will it be NRL controlled, PNGRL, PNG govt or a private new entity?
More importantly who will be the decision maker on when and where the Tax dollars are spent?

It's like Gabbo mate, nobody has enough information to know this yet.

Gobsmacked

That thread did my head in. I ended up hitting the “unwatch” button months ago.

I do think NZ2 should be a good thing for slot 20. As long as the business case stacks up. :D
I'm still hoping for team 18. All of the Christchurch bids haven't given up either and are talking with the NRL to find out exactly what they could do better.
South island NZ the easiest choice you can make. The NRL are just trying to get the best out of them and it's working! 2 bids are merging.

Wb1234

I'm still hoping for team 18. All of the Christchurch bids haven't given up either and are talking with the NRL to find out exactly what they could do better.
South island NZ the easiest choice you can make. The NRL are just trying to get the best out of them and it's working! 2 bids are merging.

3 yrs difference between team 18 and 20

The order isn’t that important

MugaB

More dick pulling from the resident forum wanker.

You cant argue on one point of merit or on topic without resorting to yanking it.
A Merit like "Australia first" you lost me when your subtle racism starting creeping into your arguments

Canard

It is a sad indictment for Rugby League, when a guy who is not legally allowed to be a company director because of fraudulent business activities is considered to be a "good get".

MugaB

If everyone who lied or cheated got exposed there would be very few people left to run the game

As I said he was responsible for bringing in the independent commission

He was also appointed to study how the nrl should expand

And before the afl came in and gfc the titans were a massive success

I can guarantee you he wouldn’t put a zero in the box either

Anyway the guy we should really be talking about his Moffatt

His bid looks to be the favourite
The AI branded one, ..please, the South Island bid with Frank Endacott would be the better one, has roots in chch, not shonky moneymen throwing up figures and media propaganda, I said it before they need to come together and invest into the frank one