Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Canard

M8 I’ve known Nicho since he was playing U6’s with Umina, Nicho went the long way around to make NRL, Nicho got sacked from the Central Coast U13’s reps for missing training when he was playing touch footy for NSW, Manly picked him up straight away along with the five other Coast players who were also sacked for missing training for representing in other Sports. Nicho played Matt’s, Ball and Holden Cup now know as Jesery Flegg (Jesse Ramien Sharks was also in these Manly teams as was Tommy Turbo). After not being selected in Manlys losing Holden Cup/Jersey Flegg GF team in 2015 to Penrith (Dylan Edwards, Jerome Luai, Brent Naden, James Fisher-Harris, Moses Leota, Corey Harawira, Tyrone May) Nicho was released by Manly and he then headed to QLD where the Storm signed him up, Jack Cogger played for Toukley in the age group under Nicho.
Jack was a sensation in juniors but had plenty of injuries along the way, Jacks Toukley team played Grand Finals nearly every year against Scotty Drinkwaters Terrigal team, winning more often than not.
Nicho only played in one junior Grand Final in U14’s when he and five Umina team-mates moved to play for Terrigal where he linked up with the Saifiti Brothers Daniel and Jacob, my sons team had won the 13/1’s GF the year before and had gone through the 14/1’s undefeated until the Saifitis’ had a blinder in the GF, my sons team won again in the 15/1’s GF but lost the 16/1’s GF, both times against Wyong who had Jesse Ramien (Sharks) and Jacob Liddle (Dragons) playing for them.
Jack Cogger in junior reps was automatically selected ahead of Nathan Cleary, but injuries curtailed Jacks career and Wayne Bennett didn’t help when he was Coach at Newcastle, Scotty Drinkwater couldn’t get a look in against Jack either as they thought Scottys defence was to weak despite his obvious flair in attack.
Heaps of gun juniors never make it.

PNG isn't going to be the solution to that.

Canard

Didnt he just win a premiership FFS, there are players that go thru their whole career and dont get a sniff of one, basically, latrell mitchell, cody walker and ben hunt haven't achieved shit either
As a bit part player in the most dominant team of the NRL era.

So far in his career, he has been lucky, and isn't some super talent winning games single-handedly.

Yet again, it's nothing to do with PNG.

MugaB

As a bit part player in the most dominant team of the NRL era.

So far in his career, he has been lucky, and isn't some super talent winning games single-handedly.

Yet again, it's nothing to do with PNG.
Who made you 18th team moderator? I was replying to your stab at a premiership winning half, not recalling for a discussion about PNG

Canard

Who made you 18th team moderator? I was replying to your stab at a premiership winning half, not recalling for a discussion about PNG
By any criteria, he isn't a superstar.

A role player at best. That's hardly a controversial take

Centy Coast

Heaps of gun juniors never make it.

PNG isn't going to be the solution to that.
100%, it was like Albert Hopoate, we went down to this knockout down at Leeton, Albert was playing for Sydney North, we were there with Polding, one of the two Catholic school areas in the NSW Championships.
Bradman Best was in our team but he played my sons team on the weekend before and fractured his collarbone so obviously he was out.
Well long story short Sydney North won it, Sydney North is virtually the Northern Eagles a mixture of kids from the public school system from Central Coast, Manly and North Sydney areas.
Albert was player of the series and went on to play for NSW.
The following year the NSW Championships were played up at Kingscliff, Bradman was fit this time, Albert didn’t have to play as he was automically straight in the NSW team, like wtf ?.
Sydney North has Tom Trbojevic and a few new faces but they finished around 8th.
We came 3rd and Bradman made the NSW squad with my youngest son.
Albert from then on automatically made every rep side without trying out in the early stages.
He then emerged again during Manlys S.G.Ball with Josh Schuster etc who lost the GF to Newcastle.
Again he disappeared and then he was playing and still is with the Canberra Raiders.

You should tell that to Wayne because when asked he said he was open to these ideas

he said he wants to coach on when his stint at the dolphins is over and vlanyds has literally said the next expansion side should get bennett as coach
I’d rather have Bellamy

Wb1234

100%, it was like Albert Hopoate, we went down to this knockout down at Leeton, Albert was playing for Sydney North, we were there with Polding, one of the two Catholic school areas in the NSW Championships.
Bradman Best was in our team but he played my sons team on the weekend before and fractured his collarbone so obviously he was out.
Well long story short Sydney North won it, Sydney North is virtually the Northern Eagles a mixture of kids from the public school system from Central Coast, Manly and North Sydney areas.
Albert was player of the series and went on to play for NSW.
The following year the NSW Championships were played up at Kingscliff, Bradman was fit this time, Albert didn’t have to play as he was automically straight in the NSW team, like wtf ?.
Sydney North has Tom Trbojevic and a few new faces but they finished around 8th.
We came 3rd and Bradman made the NSW squad with my youngest son.
Albert from then on automatically made every rep side without trying out in the early stages.
He then emerged again during Manlys S.G.Ball with Josh Schuster etc who lost the GF to Newcastle.
Again he disappeared and then he was playing and still is with the Canberra Raiders.
So talented juniors don’t always become talented first graders

people get lazy or they are at clubs they don’t fit In

cooper cronk wasnt the most talented player but by hard training and determination but became the best player in the game

has Bradman best even realised his potential ? Imagine if he was playing at the panthers

so many factors affect a players development

Pippen94

cooper cronk wasnt the most talented player but by hard training and determination but became the best player in the game

has Bradman best even realised his potential ? Imagine if he was playing at the panthers

I thought u were talking about don Bradman; yes he realized his potential

Centy Coast

That’s why when people say are there enough players out there for expansion I just roll my eyes.
One of Bennetts talent scouts at Newcastle was Troy Pezet, Troys son Jonah is in the Storm system, Jonah is a very talented played.
The players are out there, it’s just if the scouts are up the job and not bias towards their own factions.

Wb1234

That’s why when people say are there enough players out there for expansion I just roll my eyes.
One of Bennetts talent scouts at Newcastle was Troy Pezet, Troys son Jonah is in the Storm system, Jonah is a very talented played.
The players are out there, it’s just if the scouts are up the job and not bias towards their own factions.
Plus players like Jeremy Marshall king who go from average to good under a good coach

no matter how many nrl teams there will always be bad teams because of poor culture of the wrong people running the football department

RedVee_8

Agreed on the unfairness of the split they would make, unless it had half the Sydney teams in one and half the Sydney teams in the other, i mentioned this for years now, create a geographical border thar splits the conferences and then no one can complain, i used Parramatta road in Sydney as an example, as Homebush Stadium (Accor) is basically on it, anything North is in one conference, anything South of it in the other conference, no one can complain, the travel is virtually even, and i groups certain areas together for more neighbouring derbys.
Is Perth N or S of Parramatta Rd?
I’m guessing we’d want both South’s and Chooks in the South section to maximise on their rivalry.
there would still be wheeling and dealing even with that arbitrary divide.

Iamback

Aren't you up to your nuts in the guts of the argument that no- one wants to leave the East Coast to play RL?

Port Moresby is going to be as attractive as unprotected sex with a crack who're.

Lachlan Lam who was mentioned plays for what NRL team?

Others in that same boat won't care where the side is based and will want a game. Because in case you missed it - THE SIDE WILL BE BASED IN AUSTRALIA

Starters already in the NRL? No chance
Elite kids aren't going to pack up in Year 11 or 12 to head to any new market

Which is where I have also said a strong junior development system is needed because a bunch of ESL guys aren't going to do the job long term

Canard

Others in that same boat won't care where the side is based and will want a game. Because in case you missed it - THE SIDE WILL BE BASED IN AUSTRALIA

Which is where I have also said a strong junior development system is needed because a bunch of ESL guys aren't going to do the job long term
So your claim that other geographic locations wouldn't attract talent was bullshit.

Playing in PNG isn't going to be a big attraction for NRL players.

Wb1234

He hasn’t missed its based in cairns

lmao