Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Colk

Wah Wah, I’m a loyal fan, but that loyal that I’ll won’t actually go and watch them play. in 29 years you’ve never been able to take. A couple of days off your commitments? Get fcked. Excuses excuses you plastic fan. You’re as big a fan as the Balinese kid I met in bali market who told me he was man utd fan lol

Stop confusing money and greater opportunity as prerequisites for being a “true” supporter.

The Balinese kid in your example just doesn’t have the means to go to a EPL game (very unlikely to anyway) He might never have the means to travel like you do and go watch a game like you do. That doesn’t mean him and others (and there are probably millions of them with regards to the EPL and soccer) are less of a supporter than some rich guy from London or Manchester etc

Stop being a snob and an obnoxious wanker about it.

Colk

You're not very bright if you think social animals, such as dogs, can be abandoned for a few days without feeling distress. All of my pets were abandoned by their previous owners. I have seen how upset dogs and cats become when their owners left them with me so they could selfishly go on a "holiday". Cats go off their food and don't feel comfortable in a foreign environment. Dogs cry for hours. I could never put an animal through that sort of distress for a football game.

Do you have a habit of abandoning the emotional needs of your pets?

For the record, I've seen numerous games involving the Cowboys at Lang Park and Robina Stadium.

Add this to the list of misinformation spread by Perth Red.

Good job mate.

Yes pets are also way more important than a football game.

Canard

Stop confusing money and greater opportunity as prerequisites for being a “true” supporter.

The Balinese kid in your example just doesn’t have the means to go to a EPL game (very unlikely to anyway) He might never have the means to travel like you do and go watch a game like you do. That doesn’t mean him and others (and there are probably millions of them with regards to the EPL and soccer) are less of a supporter than some rich guy from London or Manchester etc

This is all very true.

But you would be amazed at the snobbery that local English fans have when it comes to this.

For example, if you just rocked up at the Kopp in your 10 year old Liverpool jersey fresh off the boat, after supporting them "all your life" you would not be as welcome as you think.

Colk

This is all very true.

But you would be amazed at the snobbery that local English fans have when it comes to this.

For example, if you just rocked up at the Kopp in your 10 year old Liverpool jersey fresh off the boat, after supporting them "all your life" you would not be as welcome as you think.

That’s their problem and the snobbery which I was pointing to. You get it a little bit here too - i.e. something is a plastic club or somebody is a plastic fan.

People support their club for a variety of different reasons and the whole you are not a true supporter etc comes from such an arrogant perspective.

Iamback

That’s their problem and the snobbery which I was pointing to. You get it a little bit here too - i.e. something is a plastic club or somebody is a plastic fan.

People support their club for a variety of different reasons and the whole you are not a true supporter etc comes from such an arrogant perspective.

I only call a brand new club with no history as plastic, Australian sport expansion has shown these don't work outside of a couple of examples

Canard

True enough, most of this was a reaction (admittedly childish) to a poster that refers to people from NQ as hillbillys, and anyone outside of his suburb bogans and deros.

It would also be hard to believe that a fan of the Cowboys, would actively support another NRL team being placed in the region, and insist the would have no impact on the team.

MugaB

f**kn oath brother

Canard

I only call a brand new club with no history as plastic, Australian sport expansion has shown these don't work outside of a couple of examples
How can you judge this though?

A lot of people were calling for the Warriors to be kicked out in the 2000s, (noticeably disgruntled Souths fans like Andrew Denton for example).

All clubs need time to build tradition and history. I think the problem with a lot of league fans is that we are too impatient. The Dolphins have done OK in there first season, quick lets expand by 4 teams!!!

The Warriors and Storm weren't doing so well in the 2000s, get rid of them!

Iamback

How can you judge this though?

A lot of people were calling for the Warriors to be kicked out in the 2000s, (noticeably disgruntled Souths fans like Andrew Denton for example).

All clubs need time to build tradition and history. I think the problem with a lot of league fans is that we are too impatient. The Dolphins have done OK in there first season, quick lets expand by 4 teams!!!

The Warriors and Storm weren't doing so well in the 2000s, get rid of them!

I asked the question earlier.

How much local press/Goodwill would a Perth or NZ 2 team get if they are running 12th or 13th?

I can't imagine people in NZ staying up late or Perth leaving work early to watch a shit team they have no history with.

Storm and Wanderers are the 2 outliers due to instant success

Canard

I asked the question earlier.

How much local press/Goodwill would a Perth or NZ 2 team get if they are running 12th or 13th?

I can't imagine people in NZ staying up late or Perth leaving work early to watch a shit team they have no history with.

Storm and Wanderers are the 2 outliers due to instant success
That's the case with all sporting teams though, supporters tend to drop off in times of hardship. You need to give it time to build a base of rusted on fans.

I mean we can't exactly say RL fans stick with there teams now, given some of our teams crowds.

Iamback

That's the case with all sporting teams though, supporters tend to drop off in times of hardship. You need to give it time to build a base of rusted on fans.

I mean we can't exactly say RL fans stick with there teams now, given some of our teams crowds.

Yeah but you look at the membership numbers for example. Dogs and Dragons have been horrible for years and have more members then Cowboys.

Cowboys granted are from a smaller market but came off a Prelim Final but don't have the History yet.

That will be heightened in a developing market.

I say this as someone that wants NZ, Perth and PNG as the next 3 sides in.

Wb1234

I've had health issues that have plagued me since I was a teenager. I've got family members who've needed my assistance over the last 20+ years. I've taken in a lot of abandoned animals over this period. It's an expensive and time consuming commitment with no breaks. If you don't understand any of this then that's because you're dumb f**k with a very narrow mind.

Why would a person need to travel?

You sound just like Barbie. A vacuous and insecure wanker who goes on holidays just so you have content to put on your social media profiles. No one cares.

BTW dickhead, I've been a loyal fan for 29 years.
Taking in rescues is doing gods work

people who just abandon their pets are scum of the highest order

Canard

Yeah but you look at the membership numbers for example. Dogs and Dragons have been horrible for years and have more members then Cowboys.

Cowboys granted are from a smaller market but came off a Prelim Final but don't have the History yet.

The Dragons most certianly don't have more members then the Cowboys, not even close (13k total)

And even the Dogs is only a few hundred more then NQ

We all now that member numbers are a bit of a fools gold now anyway.

What really matters is season tickets, and its clear, given the crowd averages that clubs like the Cowboys and even Storm are outdoing most Sydney teams in that regard.

It is not just that people from Adelaide and Perth who are arguing for it though. That is a pretty facetious argument.
I understand wanting the game to grow, but the NRL has to be smart about it. The game needs to close the financial gap between it and AwFuL. Adding teams in Adelaide and Perth could become very expensive if they don't have instant success.

I wouldn't give the Perth bid any consideration unless there was a contract with the WA Gov to upgrade PRS and fund junior RL across the state. We cannot afford another Melbourne Storm scenario that requires an additional $100m over 20 years and feeds off juniors from New Zealand, Queensland and NSW.

Iamback

never mind, I misread what you were saying. You're talking about taking games to towns that can't support teams.

That is it. Say Easts Tigers come in, No reason they can't have a game in Rockhampton and places like that.

That is what RL does well into Regional areas