Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

blue bags

tbh its just an inherent bias against some cities. The same people saying perth wont be successful because its an afl city are championing how successful a Christchurch team will be despite it being a Union stronghold.
The same people that bemoan Storms success because it took extra investment are championing PNG despite the handout existence it will need just to exist.
Then there are those who have no faith in our game and believe unless you have a pokie club and are in NSW or Qlnd you couldn't possibly prosper in the NRL.
Yes agree
Perth Next team
Part of group franchise
Southern orcas

Maximus

Dude I go for the Panthers most of my life they have been shit.

The game is going to where it is a very small fish, the majority of games don't fall in a good timezone

If that is NZ, Rugby is going to get 80% of the press. Perth AFL is going to try and strangle the new team.

So you are opposed to going to Vegas right? You're opposed to any tv push into America right?

Because the NRL is certainly a very small fish, will get less than 1% of the press, and none of the games fall in a good timezone for most of the country.

Canard

So you are opposed to going to Vegas right? You're opposed to any tv push into America right?

Because the NRL is certainly a very small fish, will get less than 1% of the press, and none of the games fall in a good timezone for most of the country.
Small fish is an understatement.

Maybe plankton.

Centy Coast

Dude I go for the Panthers most of my life they have been shit.

The game is going to where it is a very small fish, the majority of games don't fall in a good timezone

If that is NZ, Rugby is going to get 80% of the press. Perth AFL is going to try and strangle the new team.
Perth has great times for their rugby league fans, when we were over there we could watch the Thursday and Friday night games from NSW and QLD and they would be finished by 8pm, then we would get ready and go out.

Yeh I get to watch most games whilst I'm working in my garage on a weekend. Only the fri 6pm game that sucks for us.

As I said there are outliers, Broncos and Newcastle being the two NRL ones. Everyone else sees around a 20-40% decline in crowds when performing poorly. Cowboys went from a high of 21k to 12k a drop of 42%.

Dolphins are riding first year hype. A few years in 13th and what do you think they'd be drawing realistically?

There's many factors in recruiting players. Without knowing what a Perth clubs lead in time, set up, coach, resources, facilities, strategy, partnerships and development plan is it is impossible to say how they will go on the field or in attracting players to play for the club. Im not expecting instant success, but even a mid table team should be able to draw a 14-15k avg imo. A top team would be hitting the sold out signs at HBF park.

The difference between the Dolphins and Perth is the former can afford to spend a few seasons at the bottom of the ladder because they've got an established fanbase, due to their history in the BRL. More importantly, they've got assets outside of football that generate revenueband are based in a genuine rugby league city that craves rugby league. A Dolphins team struggling at the bottom of the ladder will generate more media coverage in Brisbane than a Perth-based team in its home market.

Iamback

And if you had to try and get home in time for a 5.50pm kick off?

That hurts casual fans without buy in

Iamback

Yeh I get to watch most games whilst I'm working in my garage on a weekend. Only the fri 6pm game that sucks for us.

That would be the same for the 5.30 kick off Thursday?

So you would miss the 4pm Friday too?

There is 3 games that a casual potential fan missed, Without even getting to those that clash with juniors playing sport at the same time

This is why none of the potential Team 18 is going to worth a huge bump from TV. It is all for the future

The difference between the Dolphins and Perth is the former can afford to spend a few seasons at the bottom of the ladder because they've got an established fanbase, due to their history in the BRL. More importantly, they've got assets outside of football that generate revenueband are based in a genuine rugby league city that craves rugby league. A Dolphins team struggling at the bottom of the ladder will generate more media coverage in Brisbane than a Perth-based team in its home market.
Whilst it might, probably of the wrong sort (how long before the knives came out for a struggling Dolphins team I wonder?) you seem to be changing the debate.
You started lamenting a possible crowd drop off in perth if doing badly. That would no doubt happen, as it does for 90% of the clubs in the NRL. Now you're worried that said drop off woudl make the club unviable as they dont have pokies?
Thats a fair concern and would be one of the questions around viability Id be asking the bid to show how they would manage that issue if I was the ARLC.

There is 3 games that a casual potential fan missed, Without even getting to those that clash with juniors playing sport at the same time

This is why none of the potential Team 18 is going to worth a huge bump from TV. It is all for the future
Thursdays ok as I watch it on delay when I'm sat having dinner 30mins after KO. Friday I usually dont bother with first game as too early and all over by time I'm in front of telly. I usually watch it on catch up Sat morning if its teams I'm interested in and Im in garage. generally I watch 5 or 6 games a weekend, most on delay or catch up on Kayo.

Going to games its only the Friday 6pm game I'd miss attending due to work but I doubt they would schedule Perth into that slot. I'm really hoping we'd get mostly the Sunday 6pm games, gives Sunday morning free then into city for a feed and drink and onto game for a 4pm KO. Perfect. Doesnt clash with kids sport, isnt a winter night game. Easy and free to park or train in on a Sunday afternoon in Perth. Gives the fans from the SW region easy travel time. If you want to fill HBF that'd be the slot to put us in.

Canard

In 2024, the hardcore fan base of a BRL side would number in the hundreds, maybe even in the 10s.

Centy Coast

Thursdays ok as I watch it on delay when I'm sat having dinner 30mins after KO. Friday I usually dont bother with first game as too early and all over by time I'm in front of telly. I usually watch it on catch up Sat morning if its teams I'm interested in and Im in garage. generally I watch 5 or 6 games a weekend, most on delay or catch up on Kayo.

Going to games its only the Friday 6pm game I'd miss attending due to work but I doubt they would schedule Perth into that slot. I'm really hoping we'd get mostly the Sunday 6pm games, gives Sunday morning free then into city for a feed and drink and onto game for a 4pm KO. Perfect. Doesnt clash with kids sport, isnt a winter night game. Easy and free to park or train in on a Sunday afternoon in Perth. Gives the fans from the SW region easy travel time. If you want to fill HBF that'd be the slot to put us in.
Yeah everything worked out so good when we were over there, go for a surf get home around 2pm with lunch switch the tv on a the Sunday footy was on, it was great.
Then after 4pm you would have the rest of the afternoon to do what you wanted, it was great.

Bukowski

If the NRL and broadcasters were smart they would have a 7pm kick off for the eastern state game then a 7pm kick off in Perth. A lot better for everyone instead of 6pm and 8pm current kick off times.
Leaving only the Thursday night game not ideal for Perth attendance and Thursday night at 8pm on the east coast is just as bad for crowds.
So only 1 slot out of the 9 is not ideal, probably 1 game a year, if at all.

Hardcore rugby league fans will watch games in those time slots. The average Western Australian will be watching the 6pm news. The next most watched program will be the AwFuL game on 7mate. NRL will be trying to win over a very small segment of the population on 9Gem.

Whilst it might, probably of the wrong sort (how long before the knives came out for a struggling Dolphins team I wonder?) you seem to be changing the debate.
You started lamenting a possible crowd drop off in perth if doing badly. That would no doubt happen, as it does for 90% of the clubs in the NRL. Now you're worried that said drop off woudl make the club unviable as they dont have pokies?
Thats a fair concern and would be one of the questions around viability Id be asking the bid to show how they would manage that issue if I was the ARLC.

Without pokies and property developments, a Perth-based club will rely solely on sponsorship, corporate hospitality, merchandise, ticketing and membership to pay its bills.

It won't be in a position to host Thursday and Friday FTA games without taking a significant hit in ticketing revenue because they'll be holding the games at 6pm AWST. That timeslot is a crowd killer. It'll also lower the amount of casual viewers watching on FTA in Perth. This will limit the amount of revenue the club can generate from sponsorship and corporate hospitality. The club's operating budget will be significantly smaller than the Dolphins, Storm, Cowboys and Broncos. There's a strong possibility of a Perth-based club being the poorest in the NRL.