Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

A Perth-based team is likely to be a disaster that the NRL cannot afford.

Its distance from the east coast and inability to produce its own players will make it dependent upon the QRL, NSWRL, NZRL and PNGRFL. The drain it'll place on the other 17 clubs will create a lot of hostility.

The bulk of the team will be made up of players who aren't good enough to get a spot with one of the other 17 clubs. A few has-beens will sign for overs.

Poor on field results will turn casual fans away. The business community will abandon the team when its active fanbase dwindles down to a low number.
It’s highly likely not to be lol

dolphins just raided the other 16 clubs and continue to do so

in your opinion

as it does at any club. Don’t be sht and have a good business plan for the bad times. It’s called business 101

MugaB

It’s highly likely not to be lol

dolphins just raided the other 16 clubs and continue to do so

in your opinion

as it does at any club. Don’t be sht and have a good business plan for the bad times. It’s called business 101
Well i can tell you now, "dont be shit" angle is already where WA is already without a licence, whats suddenly going to change when you do?

mongoose

No not going off my logic, we can expand to NZ or PNG, CQ or Central coast, but they are all risky expansions all for different reasons... main thing is that they would give us enough players to expand further, perth wouldn't do that for another 5 -10 years, yes its a must to do eventually, but making sure there is an overflow of talent to spread around is the goal, then you can enter places like Perth and Adelaide and not worry where you'll get the players from initially..
And no there isn't any reason to add more teams other than grow a 9th game, or 10th game to sell, the product is already good, that poms form perth watch it enough
How would they do this though? The Dolphins just poached existing NRL players and some fringe players from other clubs, not even from the QLD cup either! lol

Pneuma

That's a bit rich coming from the guy who has 3 NRL teams in his region, 'supports' one in another region but is demanding another one.

Why don't you move to a suburb closer to Lang Park, Robina or Redcliffe?
That’s fecking gold!

MugaB

How would they do this though? The Dolphins just poached existing NRL players and some fringe players from other clubs, not even from the QLD cup either! lol
And how many other teams in the NRL are able to get their fringe players??? Thats the trade off right there, it wont be straight away, but its certainly is going to be before 5 years... stop looking at whats happening in the past year and look at a decade ago thoughout the NRL clubs, every club has fingers in each others pies, dolphins can give the other clubs elite juniors

Nutz

A Perth-based team is likely to be a disaster that the NRL cannot afford.
When the Reds played in the 90's I don't believe the game was driven as much by social media and Foxtel as much as it is now...I could be wrong.
I'm feeling that any new venture will succeed if they get off on the right foot with a media build up.
The game moving people into the living rooms where they get more money from commercials and tv rights.
You might prove me wrong with statistics but the footy followers has increased and Foxtel/9 numbers has increased.
It's for these reasons that Fox and 9 have thrown millions into the game and our salary cap and player benefits have continued to sky rocket.
Back in the 60's super clubs like St George and Souths dominated a poor competition but even their players had to put down the tools at smoko so they could get to the game on time..... how things have changed.
I still believe that the nucleus of our code should be east coast but as I said, I don't think Perth would fail now that media is huge and their is more money going around nationally.

MugaB

45k would suggest not that sht eh?
45k of what? Convert that into something one of the other clubs want? If perth got a licence, and regularly got that crowd or any average crowd worth crowing about, what does the other clubs get out of it? f**king nothing.. the money from merch and gates goes to perf, you boast about crowds, you have 2 million people there, of course that stadium will fill for some one off event, off the back of cronulla, souths, knights and the dolphins hard work really, not this bid or the pirates.. and mate you weren't even there, there was plenty of time to get tickets for that double header..

What are you offering the established clubs in return, coz your crowd size doesn't convert into any monetary value or player stock that they want

Are you going to invest in a jumbo jet?
Is there anything other than taking all everyone's juniors and give zero in return

45k of what? Convert that into something one of the other clubs want? If perth got a licence, and regularly got that crowd or any average crowd worth crowing about, what does the other clubs get out of it? f**king nothing.. the money from merch and gates goes to perf, you boast about crowds, you have 2 million people there, of course that stadium will fill for some one off event, off the back of cronulla, souths, knights and the dolphins hard work really, not this bid or the pirates.. and mate you weren't even there, there was plenty of time to get tickets for that double header..

What are you offering the established clubs in return, coz your crowd size doesn't convert into any monetary value or player stock that they want
We shouldnt be admitting clubs just to benefit the incumbents lol. Bringing perth in will ad to the value of the nrl as whole with better tv and sponsorship deals which ultimately benefits the whole comp.
Politis knows this, as does anyone who’s looked at the afl annual report.

time for our great game to bury the last vestibules of Superleague and once again become all that it can be.

pa I was living The good life in Orlando when double headed was on lol mind i would have been at Wembley if I wasnt in Orlando that week anyways.

Correct it seems that way, the entitlement is expecting a licence to be gifted purely on the basis of the size of the population centre he happens to live in, but don't ask about what it offers in return for the clubs who have all scratched and clawed for existing in the comp for the bulk of a century, no just expect nothing in return...
Realistically if the WA bid came thru, it would need a massive injection into thier pathways programs, and a really good coaching staff and club staff to persist with cultivating those pathways, otherwise we are wasting our time talking about them, coz if all they offer is a new timeslot for a broadcaster, and no players to boost the player pool, then its a waste of a licence, we need areas where the juniors will fill our already established clubs when they need to go to market... thats just the reality, im not saying its right, all clubs should be creating enough extra players for the player pool, but they're not, and this is where we need to look at areas that can produce raw talent

Out of all the bids, the one that is shaping up to be the most appealing is PNG. Clubs won't have to worry about a PNG club poaching their juniors. The club will be well supported, regardless of on field results. The benefits it will provide to Test football will provide the largest growth the game has seen in decades.

MugaB

We shouldnt be admitting clubs just to benefit the incumbents lol. Bringing perth in will ad to the value of the nrl as whole with better tv and sponsorship deals which ultimately benefits the whole comp.
Politis knows this, as does anyone who’s looked at the afl annual report.

time for our great game to bury the last vestibules of Superleague and once again become all that it can be.

pa I was living The good life in Orlando when double headed was on lol mind i would have been at Wembley if I wasnt in Orlando that week anyways.
Either way you didn't go, and your crowing about its greatness, there is a reason why they get the clubs to vote on expansion, and its the arlc role to boost that via the tv deals etc..
Perth wont boost the comp, it will drain it, until you become competitive at junior level, you'll just end up another teet feeding off the broadcast handouts, and easy beats of the comp, for what return?
Whoever gets the next licence automatically increases the broadcast deal... thru the addition of the 9th game, we should be looking at unheralded areas that can pump out elite juniors, hence why i mentioned NZ, PNG, CC, CQ, as they aren't all flush with assets, but they can all cultivate what the clubs need, more players, Perth and Adelaide are not a priority when they can't, Politis knows BS about that, all he knows is how to poach, and his aim is to make money and keep roosters strong, he doesnt care how competitive Perth or Adelaide are, which will just ruin not only the competition, but the chance to ever go back properly, (ala afl in nz)

you're an idiot
You get very catty when your poorly constructed arguments are picked apart.

If you believe Wellington is not a viable option for an NRL team due to its size then why aren't you advocating for the Raiders to relocate to Perth?

Wellington metropolitan area has a population of 422k people.

Canberra's metropolitan area has 472k.

MugaB

Out of all the bids, the one that is shaping up to be the most appealing is PNG. Clubs won't have to worry about a PNG club poaching their juniors. The club will be well supported, regardless of on field results. The benefits it will provide to Test football will provide the largest growth the game has seen in decades.
This sudden turnaround in grotd is making me like the new you, hell i might even back the east tigers group if they get close to snatching one if the next 2 licences after no.18... its just a shame they got that panel of arrogant folk on their bid team...

When the Reds played in the 90's I don't believe the game was driven as much by social media and Foxtel as much as it is now...I could be wrong.
I'm feeling that any new venture will succeed if they get off on the right foot with a media build up.
The game moving people into the living rooms where they get more money from commercials and tv rights.
You might prove me wrong with statistics but the footy followers has increased and Foxtel/9 numbers has increased.
It's for these reasons that Fox and 9 have thrown millions into the game and our salary cap and player benefits have continued to sky rocket.
Back in the 60's super clubs like St George and Souths dominated a poor competition but even their players had to put down the tools at smoko so they could get to the game on time..... how things have changed.
I still believe that the nucleus of our code should be east coast but as I said, I don't think Perth would fail now that media is huge and their is more money going around nationally.

Foxtel might be interested in a Perth-based team. It will provide them with content for the Sun 6pm AEST slot.

Ch9 won't benefit from expanding into Perth. Regular season NRL games draw about 6-15k in Perth on 9Gem. The 2 hour time zone difference works against Perth for FTA TV.

Head of Strategy WWOS, Simon Fordham, said the Ch9 network wants another team in Queensland and more content in SEQ. Media analyst Colin Smith is against adding a team in Perth.

My fear with Perth is it will need to be a carbon copy of the Melbourne Storm to develop a sustainable fanbase. Cam Smith said as much when quizzed on the subject. The Storm model was funded by News Ltd and relied on three clubs falling over in 1997. Perth won't have this luxury.

Canard

PNG would have to recruit NRL players for at least the next Decade, and maybe longer. They've only produced 1 mediocre NRL player (Olam) in the last 20 years.

Only a brain dead f**kwit would argue otherwise.

mongoose

You get very catty when your poorly constructed arguments are picked apart.

If you believe Wellington is not a viable option for an NRL team due to its size then why aren't you advocating for the Raiders to relocate to Perth?

Wellington metropolitan area has a population of 422k people.

Canberra's metropolitan area has 472k.

We're not talking about relocating or folding existing clubs though, we're talking about adding new ones. I mean of all the possible things that could happen do you think one of those is for the NRL to kick out the Raiders because the population is not large enough? No, its just not a practical argument to have.

ground zero

You can relocate the Sharks to Perth once they go into receivership from their bungled leagues club redevelopment. Apparently the cost blowout to finish the club is 30 million more dollars