Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

1921-2003 = 83 seasons and 15 premierships

legend said:
I spoke with a die hard Saints fan yesterday and asked him what would of happened if Saints did not merge with Illawarra. His answer was the club would have gone broke if not for the merger.

That was the point I was trying to get across and it was an opinion I also shared and i'm sure many others do. Asking me to prove an opinion is like me asking you to prove Saints were in good financial shape. Unless Robert Stone or Peter Doust open the books how will we ever know?

Well thats just hearsay and words spoken over a friendly beer. Hardly conclusive.

I'm not asking you to prove an opinion. I'm asking you to explain the following statement:
"If Saints tried to push on past 1999 in their own right, it's pretty obvious they would have gone the way of the Gold Coast, "
Thats the 4th time I've aked.
Why and how is it pretty obvious that Saints were going the same way as the Gold Coast?

Now you're suggesting that we will never know because Doust and Stone havent opened the books. LOL

In other words, you dont know....

legend

Ok, IMO it was pretty obvious Saints would have folded if they did not merge with Illawarra and after speaking with several people, including Saints fans, we are all of the same opinion.

Do you have any factual evidence to suggest Saints could have survived past 1998 as a stand alone club? Nobody knows either way so there's not much more to say really. You will always think Saints would have been viable and the majority of rugby league fans thought otherwise, myself included.

legend said:
Ok, IMO it was pretty obvious Saints would have folded if they did not merge with Illawarra and after speaking with several people, including Saints fans, we are all of the same opinion.

I see now that your evidence of 'one diehard Saints fan has suddenly multiplied into 'several people including Saints fans'.... such impressive credentials all round. :lol:

Now, I'm convinced that apart from a bit of pubtalk, you have absolutely no idea what you're talkng about here. I have to hand it to you though... at least you made an effort to entertain us with some sort of answer... even if it was being made-up on the run.

legend said:
Do you have any factual evidence to suggest Saints could have survived past 1998 as a stand alone club? Nobody knows either way so there's not much more to say really. You will always think Saints would have been viable and the majority of rugby league fans thought otherwise, myself included.

LOL.. Oh I see, you now want me to come up with factual evidence but you only need have an opinion to back up your claims. The stand-up routine gets better and better.

And what do you mean that 'nobody knows either way' lol... Nobody at all??? Or nobodies who think they know. :lol: ;-)

In any case mate, its great to hear that you now have the ear of 'majority of rugby league fans...LOL. And btw, there's a lot more to say on this subject... I haven't even warmed up yet. ;-)

OK... I suppose I should give serious answer... I can provide something a little more substantial than opinion.

Since 1998, St George have provided large sums of money to the Illawarra branch of the joint venture. This money has been used to pay creditors, improve junior recruitment, home ground facilities and club facilities etc. No disrespect to the Steelers, but their clubhouse looks like it belongs to a poor club. This 'evidence' has been well documented and is in the order of millions of dollars. These are not the actions of a club that was about to fold in 1999.

Furthermore, when the joint venture took place, founding Illawarra secretary, Bob Millward was quoted in newspapers, magazines, club journals TV and even the JV video release as saying, 'Illawarra would not have survived another season without the JV'. He said this in 1999.

This could have been a takeover, but it wasn't. You'd be surprised to hear that St George and Illawarra have a common history that goes back many decades. I enjoyed reading GreenEye's account of the history of Canberra district RL. Illawarra's southern division also have a long history which goes back to the 1930s and the St George RLFC has never been far away. Mark Coyne once described St George and Illawarra as having a 'kindred spirit'. He said there no other footballing districts that had this connection.

From a pure business point of view, it was in the interest of St George to formalise the agreement of a joint venture. Graeme Langlands has often described the Illawarra as having a 'huge backyard'. In simple terms, it would have been stupid to ignore the junior base and the potential that it presented.

Still from a business point of view, Illawarra saw benefits in the JV because they had deep fincancial difficulties and they were now gaining the support of one of the richest clubs in rugby league.

Without giving it to you in triplicate, I think all of that is pretty much evidence enough that St George were not about to fold as you and 'several' of your friends have claimed. Indeed, I've provided factual accounts of the JV and I think you know that all of it is from well informed sources.

LOL. Whats wrong Legend? I see you've taken the debate into the NRL section. Can't stand the heat? :lol:

Its a poll as well... and with your opinion there to make sure that folk think about which way you want them to vote.
Oh.. and its important enough to be sticky as well. LOL.

Considering that you lost the debate here, I hope it the poll gives you the result that you so eagerly desire. :roll:

Red Bear

Who is the most famous club of all time? Simple. South Sydney. Dont see you with 20 premierships and this team could a have more than one golden era and b were still consistantly sucessful after teams moved in next door. Look what happened to St George wen cronulla moved in. wasnt as easy then was it???
I'll tell you what i'll remember the St George Dragons for? The team which lost 38-0 in a grand final with a player off with the fairies playing in fullback. Geez i enjoyed seeing the video of that.

GoTheBears, That would have to be one of the most ill-informed replies I've ever read in this forum. You make Stacey look like an expert.

I have nothing against the Nth Sydney Bears and their 'glorious history'... so I'll resist the temptation to lower the discussion to your level.

dannyboy

I'm guessing that if Dragons fans insist that StGeorge-Illawarra can retain the past glories of their "un-merged" clubs that they also need to take the not so glorious combined total of 6 wooden spoons too.

Further in a show of a true 50-50 partnership its 3 a piece to StGeorge & Illawarra.

dannyboy said:
I'm guessing that if Dragons fans insist that StGeorge-Illawarra can retain the past glories of their "un-merged" clubs that they also need to take the not so glorious combined total of 6 wooden spoons too.

Further in a show of a true 50-50 partnership its 3 a piece to StGeorge & Illawarra.
You'll find that this question has been asked 100 times as well.
If you knew anything about it, you'd know the combined contunation of history means just that. It is a combination of the two district's achievements, warts and all. The Football clubs 'proud history' release in the 2002 Journal lists team and player's records from 1921-2002 and includes both St George and Illawarra.
The wooden spoon thing isnt something any club is too keen to have on their mantlepiece but by definition, this is included as well.
btw, its a joint venture, not a merger.

Willow said:

What's the difference? Can you please enlighten us.
I find it funny how the Dragons get on the Sharks with the whole 37 years and won f**k all thing. I'm 22 years old. St. George have never won a premiership in my lifetime. Everyone in this thread will be deceased before the Dragons win another one. I just couldn't envision a white jersey with a big red V holding the NRL trophy aloft. I have however seen them choke in 4 grand finals. Not even the great Lozza can bail you out of that big hole. And Browny has NO clue at all. Perennial underachievers. Wouldn't be surprised at all if you don't make the 8 again next year.

Alfie Langer - "St George can't play"...Truer words have never been spoken.

dimitri said:
super league scum

Dimitri I don't have anything against you. I actually admire your passion for International footy a hell of a lot. But when these guys are sitting here taking pot shots at my club, hell yeah I'm gonna speak up. Let it go. Super League is a thing of the past. Much like your club's success. The only reason you won 11 titles in a row is cos you had an open chequebook, and there was no salary cap back then. The Roosters of yesteryear.

Hey Denis - 24 years and won f**k all, 24 years and won f**k all......

How old's your captain? 25. I wonder if he remembers watching the 79 GF in his diapers. :lol:

alive103

24 years and wion f**k all was sung by Saints supporters on August 31 at Kogarah so you are a little late there Daley wannabe.

Canberra haven't won anything for 10 years and in that time Saints have been to 2 Grand Finals.

Choked 4 times. In 1992, we played Brisbane who were easily the best side all year and deserved to be premiers. In 1993... we should have won that game, in 1996, once again we played the best side all year who were deserving of their victory. In 1999, yes well we stuffed that game.

I can't imagine seeing the FOne Zone Raiders winning much in the near future with your boring one dimensional attack and your ex-St George coach.

DaleyIsGod said:
Willow said:

What's the difference? Can you please enlighten us.
A merger is the combining of two or more entities into one. It is the union of two or more commercial interests or corporations.
A joint venture is the joining of forces, a partnership where both sides accept the risks and share their knowledge and expertise - in our case, a JV is a reunification of two proud districts who have always shared a kindred spirit.
Consider yourself enlightened.

DaleyIsGod said:
I find it funny how the Dragons get on the Sharks with the whole 37 years and won f**k all thing. I'm 22 years old. St. George have never won a premiership in my lifetime.
FMD, its not our fault you're just a young'un. :lol:

DaleyIsGod said:
Everyone in this thread will be deceased before the Dragons win another one.
Prove it. :lol:

DaleyIsGod said:
How old's your captain? 25. I wonder if he remembers watching the 79 GF in his diapers. :lol:
FYI kid. Trent Barrett refers to the team as 'St George' and is a supporter of the continuation of the history. He obviously has the ability to look past his own generation when having an appreciation of history... clearly, this is not an asset which is shared by all people.
And he is also an Illawarra junior and is a great example of the joint venture attitude.

alive103 said:
24 years and wion f**k all was sung by Saints supporters on August 31 at Kogarah so you are a little late there Daley wannabe.

Canberra haven't won anything for 10 years and in that time Saints have been to 2 Grand Finals.

Choked 4 times. In 1992, we played Brisbane who were easily the best side all year and deserved to be premiers. In 1993... we should have won that game, in 1996, once again we played the best side all year who were deserving of their victory. In 1999, yes well we stuffed that game.

I can't imagine seeing the FOne Zone Raiders winning much in the near future with your boring one dimensional attack and your ex-St George coach.

LMAO god I love the elitist attitude of you Saints fans. Just cos you won a bunch of premierships back when the Beatles were big, you think you can carry on like you're Rugby League royalty. We may not of won a title in 9 years but hey at least It's on the horizon for us. We even have a great shot at winning it next year, which you do not. You guys haven't won a title in almost a QUARTER OF A CENTURY. Wow that sounds like a long time. probably cos it is. And our boring attack seemed to be working fine when we beat you twice this season, and finished in the top 4. Where did you finish pal? That's right another season of underachieving. All those overrated rep players and no heart or passion for their supposedly great jerseys. No wonder Browny cracked a fit and started spanking the captain Joe Jackson style LMAO. We're a team. you're a bunch of big names that can't coexist and succeed. Maybe it's hard keeping all those big ego's in check? I wonder what Johnny Raper, Norm Provan, Reg Gasnier, Graeme Langlands and the rest think about the current team. They'd be pretty ashamed of them probably. And thanks we'll enjoy our ex St. George coach. Make sure you enjoy our greatest ever player trying his hardest to help you out, but not even all his knowledge and greatness can help that troupe. How long do you reckon Barrett wil last before getting injured? The funny thing is I dont even hate St George. I hate The Roosters, and I used to hate Manly & Brisbane growing up. I actually cheered for the Saints in 3 of those GF's, but they didn't have what it takes to be premeirs, and they're even worse off these days. If you guys played like a team and put the ego's aside you'd go allright. Firman's got skills though, if you have any chance of winning anything in the future you have to tie him up for the next 10 years.