Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

1st Test: Australia v New Zealand at Brisbane on Nov 5-9, 2015

JJ

Williamson has batted 3 his whole life, he is a 3. Unlike Smith, who is a number 4/5 depending on the quality of the team we have. I prefer Smith at 4, he just looks a middle order bat.

Always a laugh... I won't mention Langer, Boon, Hussey, McCullum etc etc :lol::lol:

Good all round performance by Australia - and we clearly weren't up to it - for a range of reasons I reckon

Yep, hiney, you'll be licking your lips in anticipation of the bigger tour - guess as a Parramatta fan anything in which you do ok is a huge excitement for you

Always a laugh... I won't mention Langer, Boon, Hussey, McCullum etc etc :lol::lol:

Good all round performance by Australia - and we clearly weren't up to it - for a range of reasons I reckon

Yep, hiney, you'll be licking your lips in anticipation of the bigger tour - guess as a Parramatta fan anything in which you do ok is a huge excitement for you
:lol: Ouch!! Rough coming from a Warriors fan.

some11

Thank goodness there are only 2 more tests and then the mighty Windies will be here.

Cant believe we're playing the Boxing Day test against them.

Cue Channel 9 good old days WI highlights cause they've only won two series against non-minnow nations in the last ten years.

JJ

Given the goings on in the US, perhaps it would be more entertaining for Clive Lloyd to lead his lot against AB on Boxing Day?

some11

Given how many times they'll say 'master blaster' Viv might as well come out and have a bat.

ek999

I'm a little concerned with how bad gabba crowds are in non ashes years

Absolutely - 55,000 over the course of a match is horrible. If the match in Adelaide is a success, I wouldn't be surprised if the Brisbane test next year is a day-nighter

Well that game was going along nicely and just getting interesting when the ref's f**ked it up and gave Big Mac that howler, Southee seemed a bit stiff too.

NZ would be absolutely rooted without Williamson there!

11-9-08-captain_obvious.jpg

lockyno1 said:
Williamson has batted 3 his whole life, he is a 3. Unlike Smith, who is a number 4/5 depending on the quality of the team we have. I prefer Smith at 4, he just looks a middle order bat.

hook, line and sinker

Australian paceman Mitchell Starc fined after being told to pull his head in by Test captain Steve Smith

Australia go one-up in the three-match series as the Black Caps suffer a convincing 208-run loss in the first

Mitchell Starc has been fined nearly $8000 by the International Cricket Council for his wild throw at a New Zealand tailender after copping a public rebuke from captain Steve Smith.

Starc was cited by ICC match referee Roshan Mahanama and docked half his match fee, or $7725, for throwing a ball at a player in an inappropriate or dangerous manner.

It is the second time this year Starc has fallen foul of match officials, after being reprimanded for his send-off, described as an "exaggerated celebration", to India's Murali Vijay during last summer's Sydney Test.

Almost a year after being labelled "soft" by former great Shane Warne for his meek body language, Starc was told to rein in his aggression by his new captain after Australia's thumping victory in the first Test over New Zealand.

The left-arm speedster fell foul of Smith who moved swiftly and decisively to stamp an immediate imprint on his team, after Starc responded to back-to-back boundaries from Mark Craig with a wild throw which was closer to the batsman than the stumps. Wicketkeeper Peter Nevill could not prevent four overthrows.

The incident drew condemnation from a member of the fast bowling fraternity and also raised the ire of the captain, who issued a public bake before having the chance to address his bowler privately.

Smith, in his first Test in charge since formally taking over from Michael Clarke, had spoken on the eve of the game of the need to respect the opposition. "I thought it was pretty disappointing. He's done it a few times and I'm going to have a word to him when we get back down in the sheds," Smith said of Starc. "So I don't think it was necessary at the time and hopefully he can improve and get better from that."

Smith, however, said Starc did not need to apologise but wants the behaviour to stop. "I just don't think he needs to do it in the future. There wasn't an opportunity for a run out there and I think it was just a bit of frustration," Smith said. "I think he just needs to let it out in other ways."

Former Australian limited-overs paceman Dirk Nannes said Starc's actions were not on. "He had three stumps to aim at and he threw it straight at the batsman," Nannes said on ABC Grandstand. "He's been hit for three fours, he's frustrated, but I'm sorry, that's not right what we've just seen there."

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/sport/cricket...teve-smith-20151109-gkueot.html#ixzz3qyf74kTf
Follow us: @smh on Twitter | sydneymorningherald on Facebook

Ibleedblue

Absolutely - 55,000 over the course of a match is horrible. If the match in Adelaide is a success, I wouldn't be surprised if the Brisbane test next year is a day-nighter

Tbh New Zealand isn't the most appealing opponent for the casual fan and the weather here throughout the duration of this test was very crappy which would've kept some people away.

ek999

Tbh New Zealand isn't the most appealing opponent for the casual fan and the weather here throughout the duration of this test was very crappy which would've kept some people away.

Yeah understand that. But if they can draw 100,000 plus at Adelaide as a day-nighter against the same opposition (and there are no ball issues of course), serious consideration will have to be given to the viability of day matches at Brisbane.

Sydney and Melbourne probably won't have day-nighters any time soon because they are always well attended and neither will Perth because of time zone issues. Brisbane and Hobart I can see having them pretty soon

JJ

Chappell-Hadlee series is not far off mate, hang in there..

the holy grail!

In all seriousness, they can say what they like but our preparation wasn't good - also Boult and Neesham coming back from bad injuries, both obviously well underdone - and an Australian team in a fighting mood - I was in the UK during the Ashes, and told everyone that sort of performance would happen at Nottingham - boy was I let down...

We'll get better, and as long as we have NZ test wickets at home, back us to beat you here (well, there's two tests? so at least be very close)

Beating Australia in Australia is the hardest thing there is - just disappointing we really didn't show how good this team is

Roll out the bullshit.

This was Australia's weakest team in a decade; a team in transition.

The cuddly, lovely Kiwi chaps with all the tricks in the bag and a settled bowling attack and batting order was meant to measure up and show these wee whipper snapper Aussies a thing or two about what real test cricket is about.

As always, Kiwi cricket talks a talk, but wanks a wank. They were thoroughly outplayed, outclassed and I for one would rather watch a 4th XI WI Test side any day of the week...in fact, I already have my tickets to the first 3 days.