Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2005 Arias

IanG

Everybody's thoughts on last night's ARIAs. No surprise that Missy Higgins cleaned up. There always seems to be one artist/group who does.

Also nice to see the heartfelt tribute that Neil Finn did for his mate Hessy. Gone but not forgotten.

IanG said:
Everybody's thoughts on last night's ARIAs. No surprise that Missy Higgins cleaned up. There always seems to be one artist/group who does.

Also nice to see the heartfelt tribute that Neil Finn did for his mate Hessy. Gone but not forgotten.

Good to see Grinspoon take out best Rock album....
even if it wasn't the best they deserve an Aria for perserverance.

Is it just me or does anyone else change the radio station when Ben Lee or Missy Higgins come on?

HevyDevy

The radio isn't on in the first place

The ARIA's are a sham and merely a showcase for the worst music available in Australia. Of course, there are a few exceptions.

I have a lot of time for Thirsty Merc - as far as generic rock goes they do it very well and at least have their own sound which very few bands do these days.

Alex28

Grinspoon was not the best album in that field...and any band that purposely changes their music to make it commercial radio friendly doesn't deserve anything. It sh*ts me that aria reward artists that sell their soul like that.

Thirsty Merc are as generic as they come.

Craigshark

Izzy from Neighbours, far out, so hot...
Catch My Disease is Ben Lee's only good song.
Missy Higgins is the worst, ever..

Panthers_God

Craigshark said:
Izzy from Neighbours, far out, so hot...
Catch My Disease is Ben Lee's only good song.
Missy Higgins is the worst, ever..

Dude have you even listen to Ben Lees music?
Catch My Disease is probably about 6th best song on his album in my opinion.
His music is awsome, its so unique. He is one of the best Aussie singers there is.

Big Pete

Ben Lee IMO has little talent.

Higgins also.

Eskimo Joe winning surprised me, I like their music.

Best thing about the night was that I found the song I've been after for 3 weeks, Split Endz - Message to my girl. :D

Panthers_God

How can you liek Eskimo Joe and not like Ben Lee.

Ben Lee doesnt need talent, he's about making music that has a purpose. There are so many sh*t bands and singers out there winning awards and getting airtime on the radio that its good to see a change. Artists like Ben, the Joe and others make much better music than most of the pop crap on the markets today.

Alex28

Oh Panthers_God...you need to stop listening to music Commercial Radio tells you is cool and find a mind of your own...

blackfriday

ben lee was so rubbish before this album. awake is the new sleep is such an improvement but unfortunately so shite still. missy higgins is perfect for commercial radio and helps the major record labels defend themselves against manufacturing pop stars from tv.

Grinspoon was not the best album in that field...and any band that purposely changes their music to make it commercial radio friendly doesn't deserve anything. It sh*ts me that aria reward artists that sell their soul like that.

Can you blame them for trying to earn some money?

To be fair they havent really changed all that much.

Better off alone and chemical heart are obviously more listener friendly but so what.

They won best Rock album not alternative album.

who were they up against? if it was evermore I'm gonna throw up..they aint rock.

sell their soul??? I doubt that very much.
Those blokes have been flogging themselves for 10 years now right around Australia and never won anything except for that Aria the other night.

Its not as if they travel first class with gudisnki and molly wiping their bums for them.

I was lucky enough to have a beer with the guitarist in the Beach Hotel in Bryon whilst watching the footy on a sunday arvo last year.
Nice down to earth bloke .

HevyDevy

You mean Pat? Yeah I interviewed him over a beer last year. Top bloke, huge Roosters fan.

Anyway, I actually agree with carcharias on this for the most part.

Although I'm not a fan of Grinspoon, Pat brought up a good point re: their last album - it would look pretty stupid to have four 30-year-olds playing the same teenage crap they were playing when they kicked off their careers. Basically they've tried to mature.

That can be a problem if you're Metallica and by 'mature' you mean country rock but for Grinspoon they've just tried to evolve a bit.

Still have no idea how they won but good luck to them.

choc_soldier

Panthers_God said:
How can you liek Eskimo Joe and not like Ben Lee.

Quite easy actually... :lol:

Eskimo Joe actually writes and performs great music ("Girl" is a prime example), which is something that Ben Lee can't even get remotely close to...

Ben Lee is a stain on Australian music. And a pretentious you-know-what to boot...

Panthers_God

Alex28 said:
Oh Panthers_God...you need to stop listening to music Commercial Radio tells you is cool and find a mind of your own...

Commercial radio hardly tells me anything at all. Most of the people who like him probably first heard catch my disease and thought "woo he says hes not on the radio but he is awsome what a great song". IMHO I think Catch my disease is one his his crapper songs. I aint some idiot that just listen to the radio and goes that awsome, or I aint some dero who listens to the J and thinks that makes him cool. I was a huge Ben Lee fan for years, Ive got 4 of his 5 albums and TBH his music has become very pop recently compared to before.

mightybears said:
crap like thirsty merc are what's wrong will music
lee, talented but he talks self indulgent garbage

Thirsty Merc are garbage. As for self indulgent crap, what kind of music do you listen to? What do they sing about? What messages are they trying to convey?

Music is supposed to have a meaning, an album is supposed to evoke emotion when you listen to it and take you on a journey with the performer. I hate crap music that about how the nightclub scene is going or how much a 12y.o. girl wants to lala with people.

ARGH!!!!!!!!

Balmain_Boy

Alex28 said:

Don't be such a snob. Just becase you don't like Ben Lee and he's popular, Panthers God only likes him because he's on commercial radio?

I've got a lot of respect for your music knowlege, but it doesn't mean you should stomp on people's opinions and tastes like that.

Awake is the New Sleep IS a fairly good album, like most of Ben Lee's releases. Missy Higgins on the other hand :doubt: