Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2005 NRL ladder predictions

Kris_man

Iafeta said:
15 Raiders - Ditto the above, lost more than they've gained, badly lack direction at halfback, verrrrrry badly, without a doubt the worst half in the comp.
our halfback of '04 is playing in England now you gimp.
joel caine number 1 fan said:
13.Cronulla (havent bought much at all still dunno if killmorley is the man for the job have a awesome forward pack stevens is ageing though
wtf?! they're pack's shithouse, it's probably the worst in the comp after Souths. apart from Stevens, there really isn't anyone special. a lot of mediocrity.

Kris_man

i reckon we should just write a Top 14, not counting the team we support, because there's quite clearly a whole lot of bias going on in many of the predictions. here's my top 14:

1. Bulldogs
2. Broncos
3. Knights (all depends on Joey's fitness though)
4. Roosters
5. Dragons
6. Cowboys (enthusiasm will wear off a tad, just like it did with the Raiders from 03-04. still, they'll be up there)
7. Storm
8. Panthers (losing more and more key players every year)
9. Eels (recruited brilliantly)
10. Sharks (can't write any team off with B Kimmorley as halfback)
11. Warriors
12. Tigers
13. Manly
14. Souths

i reckon the Top 4 is gonna be heaps more open than it was in '04, with Roosters losing Fittler and Panthers losing a lot of depth. It's pretty hard to overlook Souths, Manly and Wests as the teams most likely to struggle (especially the first two)

wittyfan

1. Bulldogs
2. Roosters
3. Cowboys
4. Panthers
5. Dragons
6. Broncos
7. Storm
8. Sharks
9. Eels
10. Knights
11. Tigers
12. Manly
13. Souths
14. Raiders
15. Warriors

Kris_man

Iafeta said:
The Te Awamutu Pig Hunters 6th XIII could have scored more points than my team this year. This isn't about 2004. This is about 2005. And for the Raiders its all bad news.

You can't say a bunch of nuff nuff juniors are going to be as good as Davico, Wiki etc. It isn't going to happen. Sorry, but you will be getting a bit of wood next year.
We'll see abuot that. and i wouldn't call Matt Adamson a "nuff nuff junior".

thickos said:
Red and Blue Knight said:
Canberra supporters give up, everyone is heading off to the TAB next season to put $50 on the Raiders for the spoon no matter how much u tell us how good ur juniors are, how mclinden, shicfoske, woolford will step up, how you've bought good players etc. ;-)

Can't wait for life without Johns so the Knights sliiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiide down the ladder! :lol:

Goose.

Johns?! is that hack still playing fulltime?!
i thought he just made 3 or 4 Cameos at the start of the season these days... there slide has already began, already no BK, No tahu, no robbie o. lost their best up and commer - Ennis, soon enough no johns, no m.giddley, steve simpson makes J.Smith look indestructable as far as injurys go

shiznit

you heard it here 1st people, The Warriors and the Eels will both finish in the top 4.
I maybe a Eels fan from NZ but that has nothing to do with it. :p :lol:

Seriously though, theres no good reason why the warriors should be out of the top 8. they have more talent than anyone in the comp. im not really a warriors fan but they really underperformed in 04' i really cant see that happening again. both the eels and the warriors have got some quality rucruitments and when you look at them you can see improvement straight away (Eels: Tahu, Morrison, Pig, PJ Warriors: Price, Wiki, Byrne & Fein). the raiders will make the 8. il confess that i mite have a slight tear in my eye if canberra collect the spoon. i used to be a huge Mel Maninga fan and the Raiders still remain a sentimental favourate of mine.

simon says said:
You have to admit with the blokes that Canberra have lost you would expect them to slide this year.Last year if we were playing them without Messrs Wiki,Davico,Monaghan I would be pretty confident.They still have issues in their halves IMHO and without their guns you have to think that this may be a tough year for them.

Cheers.

Monghan is no loss, anyone that saw him play from rd.15 onwards would see he was f**king crap. we are better off without him

Wiki and Davico are fair enough, cant replace Wiki, no human can but thats footy. Davico but Weyman will do a fine job in replaceing Davico. And what he cant do the added help of adamason will get the job done.

Add to that our attacking problem was that mclinden cant organise and Carney hasnt been given enough time. With Smith in the team to organise and no matter how old or slow he is, his footy brain is still in mint condition, that allows McLinden to focus on his own game, and when he does that he will hit some form, and i doubt anyone here will argue that when in form McLinden is a absolute gun!!

You people are saying we have problems in the halves but you arnt see where the problem is exactly. The problem was organisation and 5th tackle options, Smith and more time for Carney well and truely solve this problem, which will give our strengthened backline a decent go at scoreing points on 05

Special K said:
Monghan scored the most tries for the raiders... how isn't that a loss :|

no loss because our depth is good now in the backline now
Schif
Graham
Mogg
Frawley
Chalk

on his current form he isnt anywhere near any of those blokes, he scores lollipop trys, hardly ever creates something himself. Not in season 04 anyways, hopefully for him it was 2nd year syndrome and he will come good for the roosters but as far as canberra are concerned i dont see it as a significant loss, we have more then enough quality personel to replace him and improve in that area

Iafeta

thickos said:
Iafeta said:
Raider_69 said:
Stranger said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: We are being serious here Raider

so am i
ill laugh my ass off when i bring this back rd.26 next year
we may only sneak in but we will be there... if we do just miss it there is no way in the world we will get the spoon

My old man said to bet the mortgage on Mayki BeDiva, I'd rather bet it on the Raiders finishing outside the top 8, and a bit of cash on them finishing 15th. No chance of success.

Please tell us again how the Warriors went in 04????

Don't always base things on media speculation and the opinion of 'the masses.'

Canberra will be there in the 8.

Two different years isn't it? Didn't know we were predicting 2004. Oh, damn, thats right, we're predicting 2005 which means - it doesn't matter squat what who did this year. Times have changed, squads have changed, the Raiders have lost their ounce of class in Wiki and their experienced go to man in Davico and their strike weapon in Monaghan.

I'd almost go as far as going off the 2004 predictions (which you and a number of Canberra fans for some reason are resting your graveplots on that, and say what one said in that I'll almost stick 3 dildos up my rear if the Raiders reach the 8. No chance, in hell. Hell will freeze over before that happens.

Iafeta

Raider_69 said:
Special K said:
Monghan scored the most tries for the raiders... how isn't that a loss :|

no loss because our depth is good now in the backline now
Schif
Graham
Mogg
Frawley
Chalk

on his current form he isnt anywhere near any of those blokes, he scores lollipop trys, hardly ever creates something himself. Not in season 04 anyways, hopefully for him it was 2nd year syndrome and he will come good for the roosters but as far as canberra are concerned i dont see it as a significant loss, we have more then enough quality personel to replace him and improve in that area

Graham has been in and out of your team, Frawley is injury prone, Chalk is a rookie, Mogg is good one day average the next, and Schifcofske had a season to forget ableit for one game against the Warriors.

I wouldn't have too much faith in that backline, especially outside McLinden.

Iafeta

Raider_69 said:
simon says said:
You have to admit with the blokes that Canberra have lost you would expect them to slide this year.Last year if we were playing them without Messrs Wiki,Davico,Monaghan I would be pretty confident.They still have issues in their halves IMHO and without their guns you have to think that this may be a tough year for them.

Cheers.

Monghan is no loss, anyone that saw him play from rd.15 onwards would see he was f***ing crap. we are better off without him

Wiki and Davico are fair enough, cant replace Wiki, no human can but thats footy. Davico but Weyman will do a fine job in replaceing Davico. And what he cant do the added help of adamason will get the job done.

Add to that our attacking problem was that mclinden cant organise and Carney hasnt been given enough time. With Smith in the team to organise and no matter how old or slow he is, his footy brain is still in mint condition, that allows McLinden to focus on his own game, and when he does that he will hit some form, and i doubt anyone here will argue that when in form McLinden is a absolute gun!!

You people are saying we have problems in the halves but you arnt see where the problem is exactly. The problem was organisation and 5th tackle options, Smith and more time for Carney well and truely solve this problem, which will give our strengthened backline a decent go at scoreing points on 05

Weyman's a good prospect, but he isn't a Luke Davico yet. Or, actually, maybe he is because he too is very injury prone.

I like the "You people are saying we have problems in the halves..... The problem was organisation and 5th tackle options", ummm, excuse me, call the doctor, what's the halves key role? If we went off juniors reputations, Leuluai would have been killing it in first grade. Don't pin all your eggs in one juniors basket, they don't all turn out to be Sonny Bills.

I'm certainly not sure how your backline is strengthened by the loss of Monaghan who was selected for Country this year, whereas Frawley was coming through the Broncos ranks but regularly injured. I find that a laughable comment.

Iafeta

fatshark said:
14 Sharks - Hopeless, additions are weak, just straight out hopeless

stfupoint.gif

6 Warriors :lol:

Truth hurts? Honestly, what in 2004, or in that case, 2003, or freakin hell, the last 40 years enthuses you about your chances? There's nothing in 2004 that is for sure. And you've gone out and bought nuff nuffs into the club to help out.

Warriors will improve, they had woeful problems this year, but from what I'm hearing from Campo and Cleary, fitness won't be the same issue as it was this year in 2005.

As for the Sharks though - holy hell, JC, we need a saviour.

Iafeta

Kris_man said:
Iafeta said:
15 Raiders - Ditto the above, lost more than they've gained, badly lack direction at halfback, verrrrrry badly, without a doubt the worst half in the comp.
our halfback of '04 is playing in England now you gimp.
joel caine number 1 fan said:
13.Cronulla (havent bought much at all still dunno if killmorley is the man for the job have a awesome forward pack stevens is ageing though
wtf?! they're pack's shithouse, it's probably the worst in the comp after Souths. apart from Stevens, there really isn't anyone special. a lot of mediocrity.

McLinden's playing in England?

Greenblooded

If you wanna compare, - Stacey Jones very average this year
- Hohaia - nuff said
- Toopi possibly the worst centre of the year
- Tony Martin did nothing
- Vinnie Anderson played well
- Brent Webb average IMO
- Francis Meli
I actually wouldn't be confident of the warriors going all that flash next year, especially with Kemp running the ship

Iafeta

Greenblooded said:
If you wanna compare, - Stacey Jones very average this year
- Hohaia - nuff said
- Toopi possibly the worst centre of the year
- Tony Martin did nothing
- Vinnie Anderson played well
- Brent Webb average IMO
- Francis Meli
I actually wouldn't be confident of the warriors going all that flash next year, especially with Kemp running the ship

Jones-Average, but no Mark McLinden. Has more runs on the board than McLinden.
Hohaia - won't make the team ahead of Ropati
Toopi, you are right. But also has runs on the board to back him up.
Agree on Martin, but he won't make the team anyhow.
Agree on Anderson
Disagree on Webb who had a good year again.
Meli, looked out of shape.

Put us as 14th, I'm not concerned, we won't run 15th, thats signed sealed and delivered. So easy to rile up Canberra fans. :lol: