Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2005 NRL ladder predictions

nqboy

Immortal said:
Just remember, we would have made the 8 hadn't Broncos rested all their players against the Panthers
And if you hadn't been so inconsistent.

CULLUS.ONLINE

simon says said:
I think a lot of Raider fans are in denial.They have lost quality and replaced them with kids who havent had 10 games in first grade.Cant believe they are saying Monaghs isnt a loss,this kid has future reo written all over him,and is a try poacher too boot.

Im sorry Riaders fans,but my form book says Riaders are going to struggle.

Cheers.

Withers at Halfback (which is the reason why he went there) and a severe loss of forwards and backs (they lost their only good ones) will see the Raiders come close to the bottom. Alot of people are writing off the Tigers because they lost senter and sattler, which in itself may see them slip down a few places...

But raiders are just f**ked! They have lost ALL of their good players except of Clinton. At least the Tigers still have the likes of Hodgson (city, nsw), Prince (Qld), Marshall (NZ), Elford, Whatuira (NZ), Harrison (NZ), Halatau (NZ and ANZAC), Skandalis (City and will get NSW), Galea (city and soon NSW), McGann (NSW)..... oh boy the list goes on!

RABK

likes of Hodgson (city, nsw), Prince (Qld), Marshall (NZ), Elford, Whatuira (NZ), Harrison (NZ), Halatau (NZ and ANZAC), Skandalis (City and will get NSW), Galea (city and soon NSW), McGann (NSW)..... oh boy the list goes on!

That list is full BS. Marshall, Harrison and Halatau have not played for NZ. Skandalis and Galea are going to surpass mason, ryles, bailey, o'meley, ryan, fitzgibbon and hindmarsh are they :roll: Who in the blue hell is McGann :?

knightmare2005

1 . Newcastle
2 . Roosters
3 . Bulldogs
4 . Brisbane
5 . Penrith
6 . Cowboys
7 . StGeorge
8 . Parramatta
9 . Melbourne
10. Wests Tigers
11. Auckland
12. Manly
13. Canberra
14. Sharks
15. Souths

RABK

knightmare2005 said:
1 . Newcastle
2 . Roosters
3 . Bulldogs
4 . Brisbane
5 . Penrith
6 . Cowboys
7 . StGeorge
8 . Parramatta
9 . Melbourne
10. Wests Tigers
11. Auckland
12. Manly
13. Canberra
14. Sharks
15. Souths

That looks just about right ;-)

Red Bear

Kris_man said:
Iafeta said:
joel caine number 1 fan said:
13.Cronulla (havent bought much at all still dunno if killmorley is the man for the job have a awesome forward pack stevens is ageing though
wtf?! they're pack's shithouse, it's probably the worst in the comp after Souths. apart from Stevens, there really isn't anyone special. a lot of mediocrity.
Souths don't have that bad a pack. A back row of Harrison, Fletcher n Minichello/stuart? Is pretty bloody good. Their front row definately needs work but Geddes and Cusak go orright.
Sharks pack is shithouse. I reckon they will fall for sure.

thickos

CULLUS.ONLINE said:
simon says said:
I think a lot of Raider fans are in denial.They have lost quality and replaced them with kids who havent had 10 games in first grade.Cant believe they are saying Monaghs isnt a loss,this kid has future reo written all over him,and is a try poacher too boot.

Cheers.

Withers at Halfback (which is the reason why he went there) and a severe loss of forwards and backs (they lost their only good ones) will see the Raiders come close to the bottom. Alot of people are writing off the Tigers because they lost senter and sattler, which in itself may see them slip down a few places...

But raiders are just f***ed! They have lost ALL of their good players except of Clinton. At least the Tigers still have the likes of Hodgson (city, nsw), Prince (Qld), Marshall (NZ), Elford, Whatuira (NZ), Harrison (NZ), Halatau (NZ and ANZAC), Skandalis (City and will get NSW), Galea (city and soon NSW), McGann (NSW)..... oh boy the list goes on!

Most ridiculous post I've ever seen. You'd think the Tigers are choc full of Rep players - you wish!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

thickos

CULLUS.ONLINE said:
But raiders are just f***ed!

How can you say we have no decent players except Schifcofske?

Ryan O'Hara, Simon Woolford, Jason Croker, Phil Graham, Lincoln Withers, Mark McLinden, Ian Hindmarsh, Adam Mogg, Todd Carney... plus experienced heads like Jason Smith and Matt Adamson, exciting young kids like Jermaine Ale, Terry Campese, Josh Miller, Kris Kahler, Marshall Chalk, Nathan Smith.... all the kids from a very talented PL team (2003 premiers, 2004 preliminary finalists) that will finally get a crack at firsts.

We'll show the lot of you how wrong you are - won't win it but we won't run last.

Eddie.

I dont think Canberra will run last, they will get enough wins at home to steer clear of the bottom 2 or 3. i think they will really do it tough on the road.

t-ba

Such faith in ones untested players. Guess what Raiders fans: You may be right, maybe Carney, Weyman (*Hobble...Hobble*), Miller, Ale etc* will all have superb full seasons. but beyond 'he is gunn...yeah!', you have to understand why people would tip you for the spoon.

Azz has the right attitude. Sit back and hope for the best. You aren't convincing anyone!

tiger_nick

CULLUS.ONLINE said:
But raiders are just f***ed! They have lost ALL of their good players except of Clinton. At least the Tigers still have the likes of Hodgson (city, nsw), Prince (Qld), Marshall (NZ), Elford, Whatuira (NZ), Harrison (NZ), Halatau (NZ and ANZAC), Skandalis (City and will get NSW), Galea (city and soon NSW), McGann (NSW)..... oh boy the list goes on!

Kul mate, I usually have a lot of time for your posts but thats pushing it.

Skando will never play for NSW (whether we like it or not) and McGann has never even played a game of league! However if Galea stays injury free he is a great chance at NSW with Ricketson gone and Timmins ageing. NSW don't seem to have a natural lock apart from Menzies and I can't see them going back to him.

And yes Harrison, Halatau and Marshall will probably all play for NZ next year if they stay uninjured.

RABK

NSW don't seem to have a natural lock apart from Menzies and I can't see them going back to him.

Fitzgibbon and ryan are both very capable of playing lock.

Grantwhy

anastabation said:
8 Cowboys - I think they'll struggle to live up to the expectations of being a great side. Home fans won't tollerate anything less then a genuine title contendor - something they cowboys aren't used to. They played wonderful footy during and in the lead up to the finals but can they do that week in, week out for 26 rounds and a maximum of 4 finals matches?

Figures relate to regular season only, not finals games.

The Cowboys started 2004 very badly, winning only 1 of their first 6 games (equal worst with Manly and Warriors).

The last 18 game were an entirely different case. They won 11 and drew 1 (the Broncos did the same).

Doesn't sound so good?

Only the Roosters and Bulldogs had more wins from their last 18 games (14 each).

Also to be pointed out is that for the majority of those last 18 games the Cowboys were without key, experienced players. Their replacements stood up and were counted :).

As a Cowboys fan i feel somewhat uncomfortable when i look at the Bookmakers odds for 2005 (i want higher odds to win more money 8)), but looking past the first 6 games of 2004, the fact that while important players are leaveing the Cowboys do have players that were able to replace them in 2004 and the new players coming to the club for 2005 ..... maybe the Bookies aren't being so stingy with their odds?

maybe :).

Disco

1.Saints (pulling together)
2.Bulldogs (loss of price will hurt but not to bad)
3.Roosters (hmmm will still be thereabout despite losses)
4.Storm (well structered side)
5.Cowboys (building up well)
6.Panthers (depth concerns me)
7.Broncos (you can never write them off, webke and lockyer are key)
8.Manly (great forward pack, good half)
9.Newcastle (lost great players, all depends on Johns)
10.Warriors (not as bad as last year, kemp wont help but)
11.Tigers (not discounting the 8 for them, next year is Harrisons year)
12.Parra (new buys wont help, the culture over there seems all wrong)
13.Sharks (ehh)
14.Souths (improved, but not enough)
15.Raiders (too many hopefully's in there team eg hopefully Mclinden hits form, hopefully smith is injury free)

Raiders Plight

CULLUS.ONLINE said:
simon says said:

Cheers.

LOL sorry but the Tigers are in the same boat as us. You're relying on a bunch of up and comers. The only thing you have better than us is a decent halfback.

Kiwi

Ok Raiders fans, whats with all the whinging about people not rating your team? What you need other peoples approval or something? Is your belief in your own bloody team that low that you need others to praise them to make you feel better?

I mean seriously what does it matter that most don't rate them?

greeneyed

Iafeta said:
Raider_69 said:
Stranger said:
:lol: :lol: :lol: We are being serious here Raider

so am i
ill laugh my ass off when i bring this back rd.26 next year
we may only sneak in but we will be there... if we do just miss it there is no way in the world we will get the spoon

My old man said to bet the mortgage on Mayki BeDiva, I'd rather bet it on the Raiders finishing outside the top 8, and a bit of cash on them finishing 15th. No chance of success.

I don't think the Raiders have retained/recruited well.... but who would have picked your own team to have been in contention for the spoon this season????????? I think that those who are so certain of the outcomes should just go back and look at all the "expert predictions" in the season preview publications at the start of last season. Most were way out. Personally, I think it is far too early to tell what will happen next season.

greeneyed

thickos said:
CULLUS.ONLINE said:
simon says said:

Cheers.

Most ridiculous post I've ever seen. You'd think the Tigers are choc full of Rep players - you wish!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Ha.... that line up of Tigers players terrifies me Thickos.... it must have the Dogs and the Roosters shaking in their boots... :lol: :lol: :lol: