Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2005 NRL ladder predictions

Greenblooded

Mate I never put you at 14th and you haven't riled me up at all, I'm simply voicing an opinion, I don't know whats gone wrong with Toopi but he looks like he isn't even interested anymore. Jones I hope comes good because he's one of my fave players, pointless even comparing Jones to Maca because I think even Elliott has finally figured out he isn't a half backs butthole. Todd Carney will end up in the half role next year.

Tidus_Raider

I dont have a problem with everyone tipping the Raiders for the spoon. It will just be all the more rewarding when our team proves everyone wrong next year. My starting side for the raiders would be:

Backs

1.Schif
2.Chalk
3.Mogg
4.Frawley
5.Graham
6.Mclinden
7.Carney

*In the backs there is a definate improvement. Frawley easily replaces Monaghan. Mclinden moves back to 5/8th where he can do his own thing. Similar to Campbell at the Panthers. Chalk and Graham are both speedsters on the wings. Chalk has started his career on fire scoring something like 4 or 5 tries from 3 games. Graham when fully fit is one of the fastest in the league. Definately more try-scoring ability in the 2005 backline.

As far as depth goes we have Nathan Smith who also started strongly in first grade, Davis Howell and Jermaine Ale the try scoring freak from the Rooosters. We also have Fredericks who is an Australian Shcool boys rep too.

Carney is by far and away the young half back with the most potential in Australia. Big call I know but their is a reason we have signed this guy up to the end of 2008 and he hasnt even reached 20 yet. He has represented NSW and Australia at junior level and it's up to the coach now to give him his chance.

Forwards

8.O'hara
9.Woolford
10.Weyman
11.Hindmarsh
12.Croker
13.J.Smith

*Ok, we lost Davico and Wiki in the forward pack. Both are inspirational players especially Wiki. But what we lost in experience we gained back through the services of Adamson and Asmith. Both are seasoned campaigners and if they remain injury free will help the raiders cause immensley.

Smith SHOULD IMO play lock in a similar role to Scott Hill. Our back-row is mobile, attacking but also very solid in defense.

Weyman is potentially behind only Lazarus the best prop prospect this club has ever seen. As written in Big League magazine:

"Injury may have halted his progress, but it certainly hasnt quelled the excitement in Canberra everytime Michael Weyamn's name is mentioned.

The 106kg giant, one of the Raiders horde of promising youngsters was ultra-impressive in 4 first grade games this season. "I've known Michael since he was 10 and he is the best kid I've seen come through the raiders in the past 10 years", says former CEO Kevin Niel.

Incredibly it took the 16 year old Weyman just 8 months to become Australian Schoolboys captain that year (2001).

This year Weyman returned from a wrist reconstruction with devastating results, his round 20 effort in a 30-29 win over the Warriors earning him man of the match honours despite playing just 26 minutes.

Now you see why all Raiders fans are excited about this kid. O'hara played Origin this year but never regained his form after being dumped from game 1. Hopefully he will lift next year.

14.Withers
15.Hodgson
16.Adamson
17.Miller
18.Cross

(Depending on the team we play Withers plus 3 of the remaining 4)

I think our bench is way stronger next year primarily because of Withers. I hope he is played here and not at half-back. He will do what he did for the Dragons this year, coming on in spurts.

Hodgson has been ravished by injury but when he does play he is continually one of our best. Cross is a sizeable front-rower and if you want to see him at his best watch the 2003 game against the roosters at the SFS. He took Morley and co to the cleaners.

Miller was part of our Premier League triumph last year and from what we saw this year should be cement a bench spot.

Adamson will provide the experience and the toughness.

Depth:

The only problem area I see at the Raiders is prop. But we have recruited some young forwards so I'll give management and the coach benefit of the doubt.

We also have young Terry Campese who is a 5/8th/Lock playing in reggies. Has a great kicking game for someone his age.

I think we are looking solid for next year. We wont be world beaters but we should make the 8. This year we did go backwards but i'm confident that with the recruits we got and the great young talent coming through we will go well next year.

Someone said that on paper Souths have a better side. Spare me. Experience wise we still have Woolford, Croker, Smith, Hindmarsh and Adamson along with O'hara. In the backs Schif and Mclinden have been around for a while.

I think we have covered well for who we lost:

Frawley for Monaghan
Withers for Drew
Adamson/SMith for Wiki
Weyman for Davico

I think if we gel as a team we should be able to beat the teams that finished below us this year and challenge the top team like the Bulldogs and Broncos more consistently.

Iafeta said:
Raider_69 said:
simon says said:
You have to admit with the blokes that Canberra have lost you would expect them to slide this year.Last year if we were playing them without Messrs Wiki,Davico,Monaghan I would be pretty confident.They still have issues in their halves IMHO and without their guns you have to think that this may be a tough year for them.

Cheers.

Monghan is no loss, anyone that saw him play from rd.15 onwards would see he was f***ing crap. we are better off without him

Wiki and Davico are fair enough, cant replace Wiki, no human can but thats footy. Davico but Weyman will do a fine job in replaceing Davico. And what he cant do the added help of adamason will get the job done.

Add to that our attacking problem was that mclinden cant organise and Carney hasnt been given enough time. With Smith in the team to organise and no matter how old or slow he is, his footy brain is still in mint condition, that allows McLinden to focus on his own game, and when he does that he will hit some form, and i doubt anyone here will argue that when in form McLinden is a absolute gun!!

You people are saying we have problems in the halves but you arnt see where the problem is exactly. The problem was organisation and 5th tackle options, Smith and more time for Carney well and truely solve this problem, which will give our strengthened backline a decent go at scoreing points on 05

Weyman's a good prospect, but he isn't a Luke Davico yet. Or, actually, maybe he is because he too is very injury prone.

I like the "You people are saying we have problems in the halves..... The problem was organisation and 5th tackle options", ummm, excuse me, call the doctor, what's the halves key role? If we went off juniors reputations, Leuluai would have been killing it in first grade. Don't pin all your eggs in one juniors basket, they don't all turn out to be Sonny Bills.

I'm certainly not sure how your backline is strengthened by the loss of Monaghan who was selected for Country this year, whereas Frawley was coming through the Broncos ranks but regularly injured. I find that a laughable comment.

give it a year with no injuries and weyman will be every bit as good and even better than davico. And i dont care how old is Smith is, he still has a good kicking game and great organisational skills. so problem solved IF HE CAN STAY ON THE FEILD, and i agree, thats a big IF, if that dosnt happen the beauty thing is its only a year contract so not much to lose.

As for monnas, loads of potential, but you obviously havnt watched many raiders games cause this year Monnas has been just as bad if not worse than mclinden, frawley shits on him on current form... remember Scott Prince is described as injury prone too, look what one un interupted year did for him.

And yes our backline has lost Monnas, but gained Frawley and a host of young blokes like Goodwin, Ale and Howell. They may not be superstars (wouldnt count out ale or goodwin on that) but they are more than capable of filling injured shoes. Mogg is a good player, strong defence and underrated attack, with some quality ball he is a gun. Graham has been in and out die to injury, when 100% fit he is an animal, his scoring record is an impressive one, as is chalks, who besides his debut shocker against the chooks has shown me enough to suggest he has the makings to be a good winger.

As for Carney, i have no doubts that he will be a solid first grader at worst, he has it all, i will gladly place all my eggs in his basket, if given a fair crack he will do a more then fair job. And how about the jump on McLinden back lol, especially from a warriors fan. Jones is in piss poor form, worse than McLinden and Jones is a far better player...

worst half in the comp? 2nd behind jones

melon....

Physique said:
I know its along way off, but someone reopened the 2004 one so i thought what about one for next year.

Anyway Mine is...
1 Bulldogs
2 Knights(if Johns plays all year)
3 Cowboys
4 Broncos
5 Eels
6 Storm
7 Panthers
8 Dragons
9 Wests Tigers
10 Rabbitohs
11 Sharks
12 Raiders
13 Sea Eagles
14 Warriors
15 Roosters*

* Roosters deducted of season points due to a MASSIVE salary cap breech.

The eels will be 15th, but not due to the cap, more to do with being crap.

Iafeta

Greenblooded said:
Mate I never put you at 14th and you haven't riled me up at all, I'm simply voicing an opinion, I don't know whats gone wrong with Toopi but he looks like he isn't even interested anymore. Jones I hope comes good because he's one of my fave players, pointless even comparing Jones to Maca because I think even Elliott has finally figured out he isn't a half backs butthole. Todd Carney will end up in the half role next year.

Champ, Toopi and a lot of players at the Warriors in my opinion were horrendously out of shape. Any pace he did have he seemed to lose this season. At a couple of stages throughout the year he was being interchanged in the second row rotation.

Your kids may come good, but I think if you're looking to introduce a swag of them its going to take a season to get them all up to NRL intensity.

simon says

I think a lot of Raider fans are in denial.They have lost quality and replaced them with kids who havent had 10 games in first grade.Cant believe they are saying Monaghs isnt a loss,this kid has future reo written all over him,and is a try poacher too boot.

Im sorry Riaders fans,but my form book says Riaders are going to struggle.

Cheers.

Tidus_Raider

simon says said:
I think a lot of Raider fans are in denial.They have lost quality and replaced them with kids who havent had 10 games in first grade.Cant believe they are saying Monaghs isnt a loss,this kid has future reo written all over him,and is a try poacher too boot.

Im sorry Riaders fans,but my form book says Riaders are going to struggle.

Cheers.

I'm in alot of things but denial isnt one of them champ

God-King Dean

melon.... said:
Physique said:
I know its along way off, but someone reopened the 2004 one so i thought what about one for next year.

Anyway Mine is...
1 Bulldogs
2 Knights(if Johns plays all year)
3 Cowboys
4 Broncos
5 Eels
6 Storm
7 Panthers
8 Dragons
9 Wests Tigers
10 Rabbitohs
11 Sharks
12 Raiders
13 Sea Eagles
14 Warriors
15 Roosters*

* Roosters deducted of season points due to a MASSIVE salary cap breech.

The eels will be 15th, but not due to the cap, more to do with being crap.

Nice rhyme

Your signature reminds me, I better pay a visit to the Rugby League site

Kris_man

Iafeta said:
McLinden's playing in England?
Brad Drew. the point is that you said we have "the worst half in the comp", even though it's unknown who's gonna be the halfbackk in 2005. it definitely won't be Brad Drew, and it's highly unlikely to be Mark McLinden.

why i think the Raiders will improve in 2005: the Raiders have more than just "promising youngsters", we have guys who are really good, who have proven they can excel in the top grade. you guys may not have heard of Marshall Chalk, Josh Miller and Michael Weyman, but in a small matter of time you will have. they have a lot of wraps on them, but what's more is that they're stats in first grade back up these high hopes. the Raiders in 2005 will have the best team they've had on paper since 2000. i agree that we're far behind the top teams like the Bulldogs, but we're well on par with the teams in the middle, in fact, i think we're quite easily better than them. for all the talk of how crap we were in 2004, we did finish eighth, and i don't think the only player loss who will hurt us is Ruben Wiki. but saying that this alone will cause us to fail is as absurd as suggesting that the Bulldogs will fail because of the loss of Price.

Tommy Smith

1. BULLDOGS - are the clear favourite for next season
2. DRAGONS - will finally reach their potential, atleast during the normal rounds
3. KNIGHTS - with johns back they have enough strike power to win plenty of games
4. COWBOYS - take out the first 7 rounds and they were one of the most consistent and will be stronger next year
5. BRONCOS - as usual, will perform solidly in the rounds and then bomb out...as usual
6. ROOSTERS - will take along time to adjust without the great one and will scrape in and wont last more than 2 weeks in the finals
7. STORM - have enough quality to make the finals. Howeever they are inconsistent and have lost some quality up front
8. WARRIORS - the big improvers. Wiki and Price will provide the leadership this talented team needs

9. Panthers
10. Eels
11. Manly
12. Sharks
13. Raiders
14. Souths
15. Tigers

choc_soldier

Penrith will make the 8 (but you're entitled to your opinion Tommy... ;-) ).

Just could finish anywhere within there, that's all.

If we can stay relatively injury free as a unit, the options are boundless. Another year like this year, especially with the mid-season run, will result us in scraping through...

lolesi

Warriors again will fail, problems everywhere there.
Played with no heart this year, and i honestly do not think Wiki and Price can play for the other 15.

Warriors played with no heart in 04 and i dont think either Price or Wiki will solve that, i honestly think both their hearts are elsewhere

1. BULLDOGS - are the clear favourite for next season
2. DRAGONS - will finally reach their potential, atleast during the normal rounds
3. KNIGHTS - with johns back they have enough strike power to win plenty of games
4. COWBOYS - take out the first 7 rounds and they were one of the most consistent and will be stronger next year
5. BRONCOS - as usual, will perform solidly in the rounds and then bomb out...as usual
6. ROOSTERS - will take along time to adjust without the great one and will scrape in and wont last more than 2 weeks in the finals
7. STORM - have enough quality to make the finals. Howeever they are inconsistent and have lost some quality up front
8. WARRIORS - the big improvers. Wiki and Price will provide the leadership this talented team needs

9. Panthers
10. Eels
11. Manly
12. Sharks
13. Raiders
14. Souths
15. Tigers

if Benji/Prince/skando and Hodgson doesnt get injured no way tigers are finishing last
i got a feeling harrison is gonna have a huge year

Kris_man

i forgot to mention something about Souths: they'll have Shaun McRae coach, and really think that he's gonna do wonders for them. Souths will be pushing for a top 8 spot.

borat

Kris_man said:
Brad Drew. the point is that you said we have "the worst half in the comp", even though it's unknown who's gonna be the halfbackk in 2005. it definitely won't be Brad Drew, and it's highly unlikely to be Mark McLinden.

You have just answered kris man why everyone thinks the Raiders will finish bottom. To have no clearcut halfback or 5/8 going into a season is unbeleivable. How many other teams do not have at least 1 clear cut halfback or 5/8? The raiders will unfortunately be directionless in 05. Seriously, they knew the halves where a major problem so the should have targeted one position in recruitment.

borat

Greenraider said:
How many other teams do not have at least 1 clear cut halfback or 5/8?
parramatta? warriors?

Parramatta I will give you but ever heard of Stacey Jones. The fact that parra have no clear cut halves is the main reason people question their credentials. And further proves my point.

Iafeta

Greenraider said:
How many other teams do not have at least 1 clear cut halfback or 5/8?
parramatta? warriors?

Jones,_Stacy.jpg

30 odd test matches, a golden boot winner, grand finalist, 215 first grade games.

Yep, no clear cut halfback :roll:

I'd still take PJ Marsh ahead of whatever Canberra could throw up also from a Parramatta perspective.

Canberras Half-back:

Todd-Carney-headshot.jpg

19's NSW Halfback
Junior Kangaroo Halfback

He maybe young and he maybe a big risk, but if there is one bloke in the world that i had to take a punt on its this bloke. This bloke is our future, the raiders have openly admitted to recruiting for the future around this bloke. He is the the best answer we have and i wouldnt trade him for any other up and coming half in the comp.

If he is given decent game time, between him, McLinden and Smith we will have more than enough strike power, organisation and kicking options in the halves.

TO most this may seem stupid but i will gladly put my trust into this bloke